A Brief Update About the 2018 Steem Silver Round!! It's Still on!!

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

I have a brief update about the 2018 Steem Silver Round!

After the chat last Friday in the #SteemSilverGold there were some grumblings about what the future held with the community, Stax, and the 2018 Steem Silver Round. If you have not listened to the hour and a half chat from Friday night I highly recommend you do so [here] (https://steemit.com/dsound/@sevinwilson/20180317t154518936z-steemsilvergold-march-16th-stax-town-hall-meeting).
After the chat, there was a huge amount of uncertainty about whether the 2018 Steem Silver Round would still go on. As the creator of the Steem Silver Round I can tell you that the round will most definitely still be happening!!!

After speaking with @phelimint, he decided it would be best for him not to be associated with the 2018 Steem Silver Round any longer. @phelimint handed over all the keys to the @steemsilverround account. New keys have been generated and have been shared with @raybrockman and will be shared with a few other members of the community.

@phelimint also passed along the customer list and is giving over the Reverse side die that will be used for the 2018 Steem Silver Round. @welshstacker's winning design will be used as the obverse side of the 2018 Steem Silver Round!!

Questions & Answers

- Will the coins be available for pre-order? If so, when can a pre-order be placed?

Answer: This is not the easiest question to answer. With @phelimint no longer being involved in this process, it may take longer to get things in place. In order to take payments online, it seems like I am going to have to create an e-commerce website to allow people to place orders. To take crypto as payments, there are some additional steps that are going to have to take place. I believe it was @thedamus that helped with @phelimint get this set up last year. The domain www.steemsilverround.com has been purchased and will be used as the e-commerce site to purchase the rounds when they are available for pre-order. Once the site gets up we will be accepting pre-orders. If there are some e-commerce gurus that are willing to assist with this process please get in contact with me.

- What will the cost be for the rounds?

Answer: The price has not been set yet, but I would guess that the price will be somewhere around the same as last year. Last year the rounds were around $24/each. This all-in price will depend on whether we do a 3D design for the obverse (@welshstacker's design), the price of silver when the order is placed, and the total amount that we order.

- I have round #XXXX and want to get the same round as I have in the 2017 Steem Silver Round. Can I do so? If so, what do I need to do?

Answer: I have the current client list as well as the serial numbers that everyone had when the rounds were initially ordered. @phelimint and I agreed to give everyone who ordered a round with a serial number up 94 or 95 to be able to receive that specific round again if they would like it at no extra cost. As you know, many of these rounds have changed hands multiple times so the original list is not going to be very accurate. In order to combat that, we will need to create a way to verify who is the current holder of the round. My initial thought was having a proof of ownership where there is a standard way to prove you are currently the holder of the round. Due to the extra worked involved there may be an extra fee for every round that is requested. This can be discussed further in the comments.

- What mint will be used this year?

Answer: We will still use the same mint (North American Mint) to produce the rounds as we used for the 2017 Steem Silver Round. @Phelimint uses this mint to get most, if not all of their rounds produced. You can visit their website at http://www.northamericanmint.com/.

- What happened to the donations getting refunded from @steemsilverround?

Answer: My initial thought for crowdfunding as much of the Steem Silver Round was a idealistically a good idea, but in reality caused some problems. @phelimint refunded any donations to the owner from the @steemsilverround account. The rounds will be more expensive than if the crowdfund continued, but @phelimint felt it was best to refund every.

Decisions to be Made

There are a few things we need to decide on as a community before moving forward:

- How many rounds do we want to produce?
- Do we want to put a cap to the number of rounds that can be placed by anyone individual? If so, what is that limit going to be? Of course, if a cap is put in place and we don't sell all of the rounds, those individuals can certainly buy more.
- Do we want to do a 3D design for the obverse side (@welshstacker's) or the standard 2D design? The 3D adds a nice touch and I think will really make the design pop! If I recall, the 3D design was an extra $1500 - $2000 total for the die, which should be less than $1 per coin.

I hope this clears up some confusion! I know we are all starting to get antsy for the 2018 Steem Silver Round, but it will be here before we know it. The faster we can get the website up and start accepting payments, the quicker we can get the silver ordered, and the rounds in your hands!


from welshstacker's page

Sort:  

Go with 3d. Make it as good as possible — if it’s only $1 per round wtf?

...this is our product.

Yessir!! That is exactly what I am thinking!! Make it pop baby!

I second this motion. 3D for sure. Have you given any thought to my edit suggestion for putting the Steem logo directly on the tree trunk as if it was carved on the tree instead of a disk hovering over the tree? My suggestion seemed to be supported heavily by the community. My comment is on this post: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/we-have-a-winner-first-reveal-of-the-official-2018-steem-silver-round

Aye - I'm also in support of DDD and also agree with the slight design change elamental suggested

oh really

If you need any help with the e-commerce just let me know my man.

Absolutely! Thank you! I haven’t decided what platform yet. I’ve done some stuff with Wordpress mostly, but I feel like Shopify would be easier. Your thoughts?

Excited to see the new round is happening! I’d be willing to pay a bit extra for 3D design. Just my two cents.

Thanks @sevinwilson for picking up the pieces and helping to move this project along. I agree with the majority here about yes to the 3D and plan on buying 5-10 of them.

Regarding the cap, I think 2500 is a good number and it may be a good idea to limit the number per buyer...I don't know what that number should be--maybe 50 or 100? That way everyone who wants in can get their rounds and then if there are leftovers after x amount of time passes open up the sale of the rest of them to people who wanted more than the initial cap.

I definitely think 3D is the way to go!! The support for that has been overwhelming!

I am going to have an updated post here soon with more details. The community will need to decide on some of these things!

Time to start saving up steem, hopefully by the time it goes up it will be preorder time. Cant wait to hold a lil piece of @welshstacker 's mind in my hand 😉 This will be a great piece of silver for the stack, steem/stack on everyone!

You're a sick individual... Leave my mind in my head, there's not much there!

I think the 3D obverse side would look cool, and the cost dosent really seem to be an issue if it only raises the coin's price by like a dollar...

Well done...I'm glad to see this moving forward in a community driven fashion. Its been a bit stressful, but this too shall pass

Since its my design, I would want the best possible result/outcome so 3D for me please.

I would like to see 2500 rounds. I think this keeps it "exclusive" and will retain its premium.

I don't think there should be a cap on the numbers that 1 individual can purchase. Maybe fullfil the smaller orders and then the larger ones.

Aaahhh yea I hope you abit excited buddy, can’t waite till it gets issued out

3D it is!!

With the round last year there were a few guys that ordered the Marjority of the rounds. There were 7 people who ordered a total of 660 rounds I think. i think 2500 might be a good solid number for the total production.

Now that’s good news. Not sure I can help with anything though but go with the 3D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82