Quick discussion about the COA numbers on the STEEM Rounds and potentially making them "claimable"

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

We are so excited that everyone is starting to get there Steem rounds and happy with the COA numbers being issued the way they are. We are huge collectors and stackers and really have a passion for this and we approach every project with that in mind and make sure it's what we would have wanted.

That's why we ended up ensuring that everyone's order included 1 low COA numbers. We had 91 unique orders including the international group buys who will also be receiving a low COA number for each buying represented by those groups.

I just want to explain a bit how we ended up assigning numbers for full transparency.

We assigned the first 91 numbers based on the order that your order was received and size of your order. So many of the guys who were first to commit to the project on @Sevinwilsons's first post received their numbers's first. When they looked at how many coins where ordered and people that placed larger orders were bumped up the list as well. We had debated about breaking it up between the first batch of 1000 and second batch of 500, but in the end, decided to give every order a sub 100 number. There were a few people that placed multiple orders during the sale period and I do think that 2-3 members will have received 2 coins sub 100. This wasn't really our intention but when we exported the data that's how it was sorted, once the numbers were assigned it became far too difficult to reassign numbers and that is why you may see a couple people with 2 numbers. The only person that got a special request for there COA # was @bearone and I'm sure we can all agree that her amazing design deserves it.


@raybrockman's coin (ps for sale if you got deep pockets)

The possible option now that everyone has a sub 92# is we could potentially hold those numbers for subsequent years so people could have a set with matching COA numbers. This is something we would be willing to do for the sub 92 numbers but not something we would be able to commit to for all the numbers. This would also add significant value to those sub 92 coins.

We are have also kept track of the COA numbers issued from our end when we fulfilled the orders, this resulted in a bit of extra work but during the preorder process @mattclarke presented this exciting idea HERE about potentially making the coins "claimable" using some sort of block chain technology. A lot of the discussion still eludes my meager understanding of blockchain technology, but he caught my interest when he told this analogy here about building a title office.

It's the Wild West, you're sitting at a table in the saloon, and someone walks up and offers you a key.

This is for that homestead up the next bend in the river. I need money, how much will you give me for it?

You offer him a dollar, just in case, but you're not confident he actually owns the place.
He pulls out a deed and points to the name - Jeffrey Example.

It comes with a deed in my name, I'll sign it over to you and it's all yours. What will you give me for the key and the deed?

You offer him $10. It's a big property, and you're a bit more confident that it may be legitimately for sale, although you're still not sure. He may not even be Jeffrey Example.

Come over to the registry office with me. They'll identify me, and change the registered owner of the property from me to you, and I'll throw in the key and the deed. How much will you give me for all that?

You offer him $100, because the Titles office will only record one owner at a time, and you know this.
He may have an accurate key, and an official looking document, but there could be dozens of identical keys and documents claiming to bestow ownership over that homestead, while each property only has one owner recorded in the Titles office, and you know that's going to give you the best claim to exclusive use of the homestead.

If there wasn't a Titles office, just the deed and the key, the property would only be worth $10.
It's only worth what people will pay for it, and they'll discount their estimate substantially in the face of uncertainty.
(Even attending the homestead in person wouldn't offer definitive proof. The real owner might be away.)
Building a Titles office would therefore add a massive amount of wealth to the community, driving up the price of registered land, and even increasing the value of the remaining unregistered land.
Maybe the homesteader who lives on the unregistered land doesn't want his name in the office; but he'd be glad, when the time comes, to sell to somebody who does.
The buyer, knowing he can establish himself definitively as the first, registered owner of the land will happily pay more, knowing he'll have the option to sell for more.

We don't actually know how much the uncertainty around counterfeiting (both of coins and certificates) has depressed the value of silver coins, because there's never been a Titles office.

Although I still don't really understand this it really excites me and wanted to reopen the discussion, if others are interested

If this isn't something people are interested in then next year we will likely not track the over 100 COA numbers. If we do continue to track the greater than 100 numbers we will likely end up looking at something slightly different when it comes to assigning them.

I see so much opportunity for the stacking community and the crypto community to be working together and join forces and I feel so many of our ideas and ideals are the same

Anyways keep all the great posts coming and it's exciting to see so many happy stackers! Our #steemsilvergold tag is certainly busy today (and it's only monday)

Sort:  

First off, I want to thank you for the thoughtfulness of including a sub-100 COA with every order. That was a real nice touch and it displayed a level of care and commitment that went above and beyond just fulfilling an order. THANK YOU!!!

As for each individual "claiming" their own COA, I really can go either way.

If the group wants to go that way, I'm fine with it.

If you don't, that might serve as a powerful inducement next year for people to get their orders in early (e.g. orders of 10 or more will be guaranteed at least one sub-100 COA)

Bottom line, I'm fine with the group's decision. I'm just extremely happy that this first year was such a success!

Yeah, we are happy it was a great success. Will will have to determine the system for next year for sure. I would really love to be able to offer matching numbers.

If anyone has the #6 I would be interested in buying. It is my favourite number and also a low COA. Thank you for your hard work on the #steemsilvergold project @phelimint

I know some guys are looking for offers, not sure what someone will want for there sub 100 round though.

@neoxian has number 6, according to his recent post. No indication he wants to sell it though.

I am interested in retaining my sub-100 number(s) for future mintages, and i haven't even seen one live yet!

There's great man, Sorry about lame-o Canada post. Should be soon I'm sure!

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Dude. I was literally just thinking this.
It's not too late to do. I was contemplating doing it myself (hiring someone like @biophil to code, then assigning the digital versions based on voluntary user verification photos, like Ray's above.)
Even if only half the holders opted to claim on chain, the value of those coins would, I believe jump for everyone.
Please share your thoughts, everyone.

I’m definitely in for this! This would make these incredible coins even more incredible!😁

@mattclarke I don't understand it but I know genius when i see it! Make it so!

It's been on my mind the whole time. Like I said I still don't understand it, but it sounds cutting edge and I loved you analogy, now we just need to spread the word!

Let's do this thing.

I'm composing a post to find a coder willing to build a sidechain like @biophil's pockets (5K SP delegation for a month as payment).
We'll forget the different states from my original concept (claimed, unclaimed, stolen), and just have each coin owned by the steemian to whom it's currently assigned.
The coder will assign all 1500 coins to one of us, who will then assign them on to their owners by following his instructions.

  • If he assigns them to you, you can contact each of your 92 customers via email and ask them if they'd like to have their coins assigned to their name in the steem blockchain.
    Those of your customers who don't understand the concept may find this unnerving, and feel that even if they decline, that it somehow reduces their anonymity.
    It also means a few hours of emails and data entry at your end.

  • If he assigns them to me, I'll post in the steemsilvergold tag, letting steemians know that they have an opportunity to claim the digital versions of their coins, but necessarily requiring that they demonstrate ownership by posting photos or video showing certificates and edges. This would be inconvenient for those who want to do so, but would remove you from the process entirely.

I'd prefer to have them all start with you, but I don't mind taking it on myself if you'd rather not.
Give it some thought and let me know, and I'll compose my post (looking for a coder) accordingly.
Exciting times :)

Give everyone the chance to hold their number for next issue. Some will, most won't. But the idea of extending the option to the group gives it that extra spark and connection of being in the first coin group. I would buy the next issue regardless, but the idea of having a numbered set through the years is superb! And likely by the 3rd year there will only be a few remaining to keep track of. I'd even use some steem to reserve my number.
The idea of giving them a blockchain title is great but that is added service I'm not sure everyone is ready for yet. There will many ways to do it soon enough, lots of decisions there.
I like both ideas, very cutting edge, could add plenty of extra value.

Yeah, i think tracking them on the blockchain would be pretty cool as well. Hopefully that idea goes somewhere. I bet a lot of people would end up keeping the set going, but I guess we'll find out next year.

This post has received a 6.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @phelimint.

This post has received a 10.99 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @phelimint. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PheliMint from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you for all your diligence and hard work on this project. They are really nice rounds. I was not expecting a low COA number, that was a very pleasant surprise! Considering this is the FIRST batch, limited edition, having a low COA number is pretty special. Thank you for considering this when you sent them out. It's greatly appreciated! @ironshield

Yeah, I think it really adds a nice touch for everyone and it's we would have wanted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13