Stack Update: Some Different Gold & Silver Acquisitions Yesterday In Pictures & Why I Chose Them

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Some things just bring back the excitement of childhood. As an adult, these events are rare and should be cherished. For me, the acquisition of pieces that are not only valuable (and will remain so long after I'm done with this crazy world) but are also pretty and as diverse as your imagination is one of those things.

Yesterday was one of those times. As many of you know, I dollar-cost-average into metal acquisitions; something that I find alleviates the need to chase price points in a busy world. I'm a value buyer as I've written about before for #steemsilvergold and so I'm only interested in acquiring, not trading in this case. As @silvergoldbotty was kind enough to remind me that I've let slip with my contributions to #steemsilvergold recently due to various obligations, I'm well overdue to write on topic again. With that in mind, on to the pictures!

1.jpg

Today's haul is a combination of items. At the moment, I like the price of silver but it's bulky. Because it's so cheap, it's an inefficient way to store larger amounts of wealth; a great problem to have however. My objective here was to branch out a little and purchase a combination of trusty pieces that I stack continuously and some new pieces (some at a higher premium) just out of interest. I'm glad I did.

2.jpg

Here you can see the 10Oz NTR Metals bar which comes sealed in plastic. You don't notice it in pictures, it looks like a pouch. Actually however it is sealed which is nice. Also visible are the two 1Oz gold coins. Many of you will know that I like legal tender coins not just rounds. I feel they are multi purpose and provide me with extra value and purpose over simple rounds. These two are examples of pieces I don't yet own; The Philharmonic and the Buffalo. I'll borrow from Ainslie Bullion's page here to provide a description.

The Austrian Mint’s Gold Philharmonic 1oz gold coin is the globally recognised official gold bullion coin of Austria, and indeed synonymous with Europe as a whole. As legal tender, their weight and purity are guaranteed by the Austrian Government. The one-troy ounce size has a nominal face value of EUR100 and is guaranteed to contain one troy ounce of 99.99% pure gold (= 24 carat).

The gold coin depicts a harmonious assortment of musical instruments, including a string bass, cellos, violins, a bassoon, a harp and a Viennese horn, on its reverse. The obverse of the coin shows the great organ of the Musikverein concert hall in Vienna, the orchestra’s home.

... and the buffalo ...

The American Buffalo is an official gold bullion coin of the United States. As legal tender, their weight and purity are guaranteed by the United States Government. It was first released by the United States Mint on December 22, 2005. It is struck only in the one-troy ounce size, which has a nominal face value of $50 and is guaranteed to contain one troy ounce of 99.99% pure gold (= 24 carat).

The American Buffalo Gold Coin's obverse and reverse designs feature images by noted American sculptor James Earle Fraser for America's five-cent coin. That popular coin, known as the "Indian Head," or "Buffalo Nickel," was introduced in 1913 and showcases the native beauty of the American West.

... and here's an example of what I mean when I talk about targeting something a little different for some interest. I showed just the buffalo to my wife last night as she loves everything native American and she adored the American Indian on the coin, holding it and admiring it for some minutes while talking about the detail and features. Has anyone done that with a fiat currency note before?
Probably not so much! Here are both sides of these coins on the nice velvet display bag I received from the dealer.

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Now let's move on to something different and another example of why you'd want to buy gold and silver... gifts! It's my wife's birthday coming up as I've written about here. It turns out that my wife's birth year is the Chinese lunar year of the dragon and so I sought out a silver coin from the Perth Mint lunar series that celebrated that year. They're popular so there was an expected premium involved but it was worth it. The coin is very pretty and physically larger that the ones I've photographed above of course! Enjoy...

7.jpg

9.jpg

8.jpg

Now we move on to some of the more routine acquisitions... a roll of Wedge-Tailed Eagles and a part roll of Koalas. Back to Ainslie Bullion for the detailed blurb...

Australia’s largest bird of prey, the impressive Wedge-Tailed Eagle, is captured majestically perched onto these stunning 99.9% pure silver 1oz coins minted by Perth Mint. Commissioned by American sculptor and engraver, John M Mercanti, the twelfth Chief Engraver of the United States Mint, each coin’s reverse depicts an impressive Wedge-Tailed Eagle perched on a tree branch together with the year-date, weight, purity and The Perth Mint’s ‘P’ mintmark. Issued as Australian legal tender, the coin’s obverse depicts the Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the monetary denomination.

These Perth Mint coins come encased in a hard clear plastic case to help keep coins in pristine condition. Ainslie Bullion recommends leaving these cases un-tampered for the best preservation of value.

... and for the Koalas ...

Issued as Australian legal tender, the coin’s obverse depicts the Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the year-date and the monetary denomination. The coin's reverse depicts the iconic Australian Koala or Kookaburra. The design also includes the inscription AUSTRALIAN KOALA, The Perth Mint’s ‘P’ mintmark, weight, purity and the year-date.

10.jpg

11.jpg

So to conclude, another little stack addition and some different reasons for the pickup - including a gift! What have you stacked recently?

Sort:  

that is cool I got that american buffalo also but mine is silver not gold :(

Great @kanedizzle08 keep stackin'!

yea I just bought one of them steemit silver rounds from someone.! I can't wait till I have so much gold and silver, I want to leave it all to my kids.

A serious haul @nolnocluap!

And your right about the gold being a very concentrated and portable way to hold greater values easily. I really like both the 1 oz gold pieces.
But i especially like the dragon! Excellent choice, and a highly sought after coin. I posted recently that this coin face, Freedom Girl and the Canadian Voyageur are, perhaps, my top three fav coin faces around.

Gorgeous!

Hey @thedamus, thanks! 1oz is a great size for gold. Somewhat of goldilocks size; not too big to make it hard to liquidate but not so small as to attract big premiums or make it impractical to hold and store without losing it. I certainly got an idea of how in demand these dragons are when I got qouted the price. That's the fun of such offerings over cast bars.

At a certain level it's pure genius to homd gold -- well done! And yeah, that dragon is THE dragon: one of the best coins out there hands down!

P.S. The premiums will only go up on this one 😍

I should try to pick up more then! Another one I like is the PM horse coin. Quite pretty.

Never saw that 10 oz NTR before, very cool. Nice post !

those NTR bars are some of my favorite bars out there! I love the design!

Yeah they're really attractive!

Thanks @clumsysilverdad! Yeah I'd seen them around but never bought one. I like the OPM bars too but my regular dealer doesn't stock them. I do like trying new acquisitions!

Well done friend! I like your style - bravo!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nolnocluap from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Someone showed the silver version of the Philharmonic last night if I remember correctly.

I love that buffalo nickle gold coin. I think that will be the first piece of gold I buy unless I see something better come along.

That sounds like a great start @gniksivart 👍 They always look better in the hand than in pictures so you won't be disappointed

Hell of a haul right here! That gold phil is a thing of beauty! I need to pick me up on them!

Yes you should @sevinwilson. Much more spectacular in the flesh. You know I wasn't expecting it to be so thin and the pattern around the edge is pretty too. Quite dissimilar to the bulk of especially sovereign coins.

Man you got some nice pieces. I just got a 5oz the other day as well as some rounds. I love silver need to get into gold though.

Thanks @armshippie and well done on your pickups. Silver looks great when stacked. Interesting that you don't seem to be alone as a silver only investor. Give some gold a try when you can!

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed :]

Really appreciated @imbritish thank you!

Nice stuff - I'm sick of the generic silver buffalo rounds but love the 1 oz gold. I don't know why and laughed at myself yesterday when I thought about it.

Do you mind sharing about how much you paid for each piece and where you got them (i.e. a shop, coin show, craigslist ad, etc)?

Thank you!

Hey @mprgrmmr. Yeah stacker fatigue is a thing. That's why I like to vary my acquisitions now and then. I'd be happy to share pricing but don't have the invoices on me at the moment. The purchases were made from ainsliebullion.com.au

Hope that helps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50