An Update On My Secret Birthday Surprise Plan For My Wife: We Are Back On Track Thanks To The Awesome @meesterboom

in #family7 years ago (edited)


Shhhh.... can you keep a secret?

Hey Steemit!

So I'm doing this cool thing for my wife's upcoming birthday. It's been a tale of highs and lows, of triumphs and failures. Like a video game or a video series. The unfolding story has it all. The background can be read here and here but for those new, here's a recap.

Background

So my better half is a big fan of Hercule Poirot, the Agatha Christie character played best by English actor David Suchet. Now my wife had this idea of hosting a murder mystery evening on our acreage here. What a cool idea right? There are companies that provide this service. They can provide actors, they provide a plot, they come to your house and set everything up for you and your friends to participate in a murder mystery. Problem is, you need a minimum number of participants and, as my regular readers will be aware, we're particular with our friends - preferring quality over quantity. Our true friends are few and geographically dispersed so this was not a practical undertaking.


... disappointing ...




thedwsblog.com

The idea

Then an idea popped into my mind. As my wife was accepting that she couldn't have her Poirot themed murder mystery, I thought about how cool it would be to write to David and ask him to author a little letter for her birthday, sign it and send it to her. It would be a pretty neat consolation to receive birthday wishes from the actual actor that we wanted to mimic at our mystery event.

The problem

It turned out that I couldn't purchase Royal Mail stamps online due to a fault in the Royal Main website. That meant that I was unable to provide a stamped self-addressed envelope to send to David to implement my plan.

@meesterboom to the rescue!

@meesterboom read about my frustrations and very kindly offered to post me some stamps directly. Well, yesterday they arrived!


boom.jpg
A personalised package from "the boom". I'm a lucky man!

Today I was down at the post office armed with my stamp payload and sent of the request to David's agents!


stamps.jpg
I stamped the smeg out of that envelope. I don't think my plan will fail for want of appropriate postage!

You wouldn't believe that it costs now about $30 to send a letter to the UK from Australia; that's the cheapest airmail option. Only cheaper alternative is by sea but that takes months. Anyway, cost hurdles are only a small part of what makes this saga interesting.

So now we play the waiting game. Any reply will arrive long past the targeted birthday but I'll print out these Steemit posts to reveal my grand plan and that will be an exciting gift in itself.

So come on David Suchet, I'm relying on you to complete my mission!

Sort:  

Top notch dude!! I hope it all goes to plan!! :0)

Hey me too! Keep an eye out for updates 😉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nolnocluap from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Oh, my God. I am a huge fan of Poirot and David Suchet, this is so smooth, she will be happy, hope you succeed in your plan. :)

Me too! I'm not sure if he still does fan mail replies of this nature but we shall see.

That was so good of him and hoping the agenda comes through for you, with all the effort you have put in I feel that he should

Fingers crossed!

This is very cool. Let's hope the letter arrives in time for the birthday! And very sweet of Mr.Boom to help out.

Yeah, I wont hold my breath, but it would be neat to finally hear back from him. @meeterboom and I have already discussed how much easier it would be if @davidsuchet was actually on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45