Pocket Silver Challenge JB's Seated Liberty 1 ounce EDC

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Hi all! In response to the Pocket Silver Challenge post by @welshstacker, I wanted to show my "every day carry" silver round.

It's an older Seated Liberty round, made to look like the early U.S. Seated Dollar.

20171216_225026.jpg

I have carried this old silver round for a number of years now, and it is beginning to show it. It is getting some wear on Lady Liberty's high points and the usual nicks and bumps here and there.

20171216_225058.jpg

I've always liked the high relief design on the obverse and the way it feels in my pocket.

It makes a nice "ring" against my keys or other pocket change, when I walk through my office at work. Breaks the silence a little lol.

Yep, they call me "jbcoin" at work too. I am the "local dealer" that delivers the silver to my fellow work stackers, as well as the occasional "eBay consignment seller", and the always popular "appraiser of things found or inherited".

20171216_225149.jpg

This silver round, she has been lost 3 times....found with my metal detector once....and washed in the laundry I am guessing about 4 times!!

20171216_225247.jpg

It has been the "silver conversation starter" for hundreds of conversations about sound money.

Most of these discussions ended in an offer to buy the coin, as it went back into my pocket, and a counteroffer to "bring you an even nicer one tomorrow." Sorry, this one's mine. 😉

20171216_225113.jpg

This silver round has been my partner in crime, scratching quite a few lottery tickets over the years too. I feel that it's lucky when I'm winning. I don't blame it when we lose.

I know, I know...this is just a generic round. But I like it alot and we have this every morning ritual of going into my pocket.
I'm guessing it's the same reason that my keychain has never changed?

Thanks for reading! Please upvote, Resteem, and follow.

Do you have an EDC silver piece? Make a post and show it off!

jb

See my recent post of a beautiful gold coin that I purchased from @em3 (and purchased with Steem!) by clicking here:
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@jbcoin/nice-gold-and-silver-coin-purchases-through-steemit-using-steem-as-payment

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

very nice piece i like the flowers

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks Stax!

I don't carry silver, although I am fond of my 1884 Morgan.

Morgan's are great!

I have that exact same round! I love the classic design!

I like the Seated Liberty style and also the early Bust Half dollars too. Thanks for reading!

Hard to beat a well loved and well carried pocket piece! Looks good man!

Thanks @stnwllstrtgc!

Wow that's actually a really smart idea, carrying a silver coin around as a conversation starter about sound money :) Maybe I should to that too.

You would be surprised how quickly people ask about it, when they see it in your pocket change!

Hey JB I understand you have some interest in the #thealliance. Here is the link to the gamma chat server https://discord.gg/jNQhNW we have a few members from #steemsilvergold already.

Thank you! I had one response that said to wait until I had my account high enough to have a vote slider. I might be too small for this group still?

No way man! If you want to be part of the team then you're in. Gamma is growing steadily and we have a good time over in the chat.

Yes... I like how nice they made that Silver Round look...
@pocketechange

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65546.28
ETH 2666.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90