CHECK OUT MY CHANGE - FREE SILVER STILL CIRCULATING

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Check out this picture. Do you see the free silver?

IMG_20171130_090642385.jpg

CHANGE FROM LUNCH

I went to lunch and when I got my change, I knew I needed to take a second look. After throwing it onto the counter, I saw some free silver. I took the picture above to show some normal looking change. One of these quarters is NOT like the others. Do you see it?

Here's another look...

IMG_20171130_090725552.jpg

Here's the close-up

IMG_20171130_090748021_HDR.jpg

1964 Washington Quarter (90% Silver)

The quarters pulled out of my pocket had one that was different than the others. They are all shiny, but one has the magical year of 1964. This is the last year for U.S. coins with 90% silver.

Value = 3 Bucks

This is not a major SCORE for millions of dollars. It is just about three bucks worth of silver. It is in amazing condition for 53 years old. The fact that it came in my pocket change makes me view it as free silver.

Still in circulation

Has this coin has been rolling around in circulation for 50 plus years? I don't think so. I think somebody probably took good care of this quarter and some idiot spent it on a pack of gum. I hope that gum was good, probably Wrigleys Spearmint 4 piece. At least they got fresh breath.

Here's some close up pics of the coin alone. . .

IMG_20171130_090925557_HDR.jpg
IMG_20171130_090858030.jpg

.

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Just when you think it's all been hoarded away... nice find and really nice condition!

I think there's a lot of silver coins that are still floating around in circulation.

A great pocket change find. Wish we still had circulating silver over here, I would live at the bank if we did. Just goes to show that most people don't understand the value of silver or all those coins would have disappeared a long time ago

Welsh and a stacker!!! I just bought a roll of the Red Dragon of Whales 2 ounces rounds. I can't tell if that is your photo.

My pic is of the kick ass "steem round" that was designed and minted by some of the members of #steemsilvergold community here on Steemit. The dragon on my cover image are just a copy of what we have on our flag(the best damn flag in the world). Stack on and stack hard my friend

How much are they and where do I buy some? Usually the dorks on youtube offer a 1oz self minted for $50 when I can buy Eagles for $20 and Morgans for $25.

Give me an up vote, my fellow Welshman.

I sometimes get a dime in change. Quarters are much rarer in change. This coin was hiding in plain view because it was so shiny.

It appears to be in beautiful condition... Nothing the original owner would spend...
See what happens when you leave your valuable coins to your grand-children... lol...
@pocketechange

YES @pocketechange - you are on the same page as me on that one... It must have been found with a whole bunch and they probably just went to the bank for counting... Whoever found this did not know its value.

That's how rare coins make it back into Circulation... People just don't notice, or haven't got a clue...
@pocketechang

Nice find.

Thanks - I keep an eye out for this . . .

It could be a dime and it is still exciting. So rare today to get silver in your change. I think I would have gone back in to see if they could spare a couple of dollars in quarters for the newspaper machine just in case there were more.

You are right @anothervoice . . . it IS exciting to find any free silver..... I didn't but I should have gone back and say . . .
. . . uh . . . I'm heading to the laundromat , can I get about FIFTY dollars worth of quarters from your drawer . . .

I love finding these as well, but they are pretty rare if you are just looking in change.

A guy at my work even does it with pennies. I guess before a certain year they actually contain copper :)

I've just got it as second nature to just check my change . . . the pennies from 1981 and before are mostly copper... after that, they are practically just copper plated zinc.

I've only found a few dimes. Great condition. Probably worth less after Chase and the others pounded silver the last few days (down 6%). We stackers know the real value..... Priceless.
Good news that the banks are having to throw so many open contracts every day. Its the last few miles of a marathon and they're almost out of gas.... I hope.

I'm into silver coins for the LLLOOOONNNNGGGGG term... I've been doing this since I was a kid.... I never knew about the manipulation by banks. Now I know. It is disgraceful. It is unethical. It is reality. It will end.

That's in great condition for being circulated. You might be able to get more than the silver value out of it. Excellent find!

I'll hold onto it. I'll set it aside in a 2X2 holder.... I have a lot of 1964 coins that are in great condition... Sometimes I put a 1964 Year Set together. This will join the stack, but it will get a special spot since it is in such good condition.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @goldkey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44