If I would start stacking again....

in #steemsilvergold4 years ago

I would do a couple of things different.

Limiting myself

At the start I was only focusing on the dealers which accept Crypto.

This narrowed me down to just a couple of shops. I could not use Apmex or any US dealer as I dont want to deal with customs so only Europe dealer for me.

Limiting myself this much led to a couple of problems
a) I was not comparing enough about the minimum prices
b) I was paying a higher premium already as the shops were a bit more expensive
c) I was not seeing what other coins are around


A Little bit of everything

I was not really sure where I want to go with my metal journey. Do I just want weight? Do I want to collect shiny things?

While I don`t see this really as a mistake I just bought what I liked. I was not really concerned about reselling.
I did not understand anything about mintage, quality or the value of a first in a series.

As a hobby I dont see this as a mistake as an investment on the other hand I was investing in something I had no idea about. This holds mostly true for semi numismatics and not for the coins I bought for pure weight.

I was back tracking on some coins which I am not this unhappy about as I really enjoy having them but still...I should have had an idea what I am doing.


Buying Silverbars

I like silverbars. They are pretty and feel nice and you dont have to feel bad if you play around with them. The problem about them is the premium. Coins are cheaper and I dont like bars that much more to pay more...


Not knowing the liquidity of the market

It seems very easy.

  1. Buy a coin
  2. Hold it for a while
  3. Sell it

This is something I am still learning. How to sell your positions. There is always eBay of course but it is easier to find a private group / network to save fees and trouble.

I needed some time to realize what my trade off here is.

missing liquidity + risk = ROI

missing liquidity goes both ways here. There are not this many sellers but not that many buyers as well most of the time.

The risk that the coin is a stinker is always there as well of course.


I am still very happy I entered the world of stacking and a bit of collecting and flipping. Hopefully in a year I will look back and think what an idiot I was and how I could just buy one single oz without knowing xyz and get more and more experience in this space.

There are still things I am uncertain about. For example I was thinking about just buying the Queens Beasts as they combine the best of both worlds. No high premium but as we have seen also a good upside potential on the secondary market.

On the other hand I enjoy the variety and I think this will be the way I will keep going but maybe dial a bit back.

There is still a lot to learn in regards of grading and numismatics but this is such a high learning curve which I think I am not willing to take on.

Sort:  

If I would start stacking again, I still would have the same foundation of my stack, but this time around, will not deviate from it, lol. This is a wonderful article and a great reminder for me to stay the course.
Have a terrific day and take care 🥰🌺🤙

you, too! :-)

What did you choose for your foundation?

American Silver Eagles, US Constitutional Silver, and Fractional Gold (1/10 oz).

nice. I am more in the Europe BU coins and usually try to get 1 oz coins

Don't you buy any of the gold bars here in Thailand mate? Aurora Gold do them from about 1500 baht a pop up to ones that are 10 baht in weight!

No, Did not buy any gold here so far.

Mostly I see jewlery only. Need to check but also need to get them out of Thailand as well

ahh, I forgot about getting them out!! But look in one of the bigger Aurora stores next time you get a chance, or ask them, they usually have most sizes in stock in their walk-in shops and displayed in the counter displays.

dblog logo w white background.jpg
This post is upvoted by @dblog.supporter.
Visit https://dblog.io now! This is a tribe for all bloggers on Steem blockchain.

Congratulations @lichtblick, you successfuly trended the post shared by @flipstar!
@flipstar will receive 0.43746075 TRDO & @lichtblick will get 0.29164050 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @goldcoin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @flipstar!
@flipstar will receive 3.96509175 TRDO & @goldcoin will get 2.64339450 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank You @flipstar for taking the time to do a Post like This and I would have to say that your Net Worth will soon be measured in Ounces..........
We are Just Here before the Rest of the WORLD gets It !

Congratulations @flipstar, your post successfully recieved 4.4025525 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@lichtblick earned : 0.2916405 TRDO curation
@goldcoin earned : 2.6433945 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06