A little silver post. One of my new favorite things to stack

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Hi all.

I was playing with my silver today, as I do from time to time. It makes me feel like a big shot, even though I'm a small shot😔.

Anyway, I took some pics of one of my favorite things I've been able to buy lately, in fact I buy these instead of maples now when the coin shop has them, for the same price per ounce as maples!

These coins were issued to commemorate the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal, Quebec. They are 1.44ozt per $10.00 face minted in .925 sterling silver. So they're really nice sized! Here's a comparison next to a Morgan dollar.

IMG_20171213_202732.jpg

So for any of you stackers out there, these coins seem to be coming onto the market lately, around here at least, and they're a fantastic and interesting way to add cheap bulk to the stack.

IMG_20171213_202821.jpg

Alright, I took some pics of some of my fancy bullion as well, but I'll post that later, cause I love these Montreal Olympic coins so much that they deserve their own post!

Thanks for reading, and stay classy 😉

DQmPvhfPj2t3GcodbseGSRUxwfrapacUPzoE17KzKBsPhNP.png
DQmfAPV1CrHpQWUw98FRbLWC2BLN3U3jTe1ybkEm8kZwNt6.png
DQmXyyg1YVHKw1ZbguhsoRa92GUwovFEifj8XfWaTPvnY4H_1680x8400.png
DQmPjVxtBypMn2kEKviCQeGs1nWJG6o7mtrwhM17WKr4aYQ_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You know my dad was at the gas statuon and someone used a 1921 morgan and some other silver dollars to buy smokes. He bought it and gave it ro me. It was a fake, but the silver weight was roght. I think we sold it at a garage sale for $20 earlier this year. I should have melted it down with the others and made a nice bar. Would have been cooler.

fake but still silver? thats still a good buy. I have a "replica" morgan, but it is a 1oz bullion round and it only looks like a morgan on the one side, other side is stamped 999 silver

Nice stack. I’ve always like coins associated with an event or something historically significant

Thanks is KP. I like the commemorative coins or medallions as well, especially if they're the cheapest silver in the shop!

This post has received a 0.77 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @fat-elvis. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @fat-elvis.

they look pretty nice. 925 silver is like jewelry? So it is the percentage of silver in the coin?

Yes. 92.5% silver and 7.5% other metals.

Those are some nice olympic commemoratives buddy! I like those very much! I'm still hugely a Morgan kind of guy, but I'd pick up a few of those!

Great looking coins @fat-elvis !! Upped !👍👍👍

your welcome !👍😊

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Mmmmm shiny things

Nice! Those things are huge!

They are. I tell ya, when you start stacking them up and hold the stack in your hand, it feels fan- frickin-tastic! Thanks jbcoin!

Nothing like silverfeel

Yo fat-e, i have an original set of tbese in a box. My set has 4 coins in it and the sMe ones you have shown. I’ll post pics next couple days... cheers!

sweet. I was looking for a box for these, i found one on ebay for the original 28 coin set, but it was too spendy for my taste.

I’ve had mine since i was a kid... there’s only 4 in my set though...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78