1939-45 War Medal.

image

The last medal of my grandfather's that I have to show off is this 1939-45 War Medal. This one is often mis-identified as a victory medal for WWII. It awarded for full time service for at least 28 days between September 3rd 1939 and September 2nd 1945. Source

image

The British were awarded this medal in cupro-nickle while the Canadian version was 80% silver and 20% copper(like our coinage of the era). Approximately 700,000 were issued in Canada.

image

This one has some very dark toning and fingerprints that make it difficult to photograph with my Samsung S6, you can do a simple internet search to see some more clear images if you wish, I'm not cleaning this piece.

image

image

Have a respectful Rememberance day tomorrow. I'll finish showing off my grandpa's stuff tomorrow with a letter that he sent home and a couple of photos.

Sort:  

Certainly a really good way to remember your Grandfather, I have really enjoyed your series on going through the box of his things.

It's also a good reminder for Remembrance Sunday, although I do not have any close relatives that fought in the wars, I am still thankful for those that did and gave their lives so mine could be better.c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

@edthecanadian I am going to have to find my Step Fathers WWII medals he was in the Marine Corp. in the Pacific. He Was Shot in Action and received a Purple Heart but I don't have that medal......I do have some others and will do posts when I come across them.

Wow, I'm excited to see those.

Wow, those look great! What a great piece of history there!

That's a beautiful medal thank you for showing it to us.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83