New Year’s Eve - Silver Lining

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

If you’ve been following along, you will know I spent New Year’s Eve on a mini jaunt. The jaunt led to a sweet new to me coin shop! Here is my post about it if you would like to catch up. ☺️

While there I bought SIX ounces of silver!


Let’s have a peek at another ounce!

image

Silver Shield Freedom Girl

Oh the Freedom Girl. I have seen this silver round shared many times throughout the #ssg community. A product of the Golden State Mint, Freedom Girl is a modern version of the US Peace Dollar. The round is one troy oz of .999 fine silver. And.... it is very pretty.

So unexpected to find in a small town coin shop!!!


Ok... I will share ONE more!

image

2013 Chinese Panda!

I was excited to find this in the new to me coin shop as well!!! A couple months ago I had the pleasure of meeting @thedamus up in Vancouver. I watched him pillage his local coin shop and come away with this coin. It seemed like a great souvenir of our little outing and at the time I wished I had picked up this panda too. Now I have one! Three cheery nuggets..

More coins to share another day!


Keep on Stacking!


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold
815D4680-5E54-4167-A5AD-3BF6124B201E.jpeg
AD11614C-1567-4BE3-A503-47A6D4BF37D6.jpeg
5610967F-86BE-41F4-85D3-8101CFC43A1F.png
E4E9DA75-6B17-41F8-A5A4-D1567A5A045D.png
CCAED80E-7175-4FA7-A1A8-F31DB96721E8.png

Sort:  

I love the freedom girl round. It is one of my favorite silver coins. That panda is pretty awesome too.

I felt pretty lucky stumbling into both at a shop!

I love the F-bomb 😍👍 and that 2013 is the one to get fo sho!

F-bomb?

FAAAAAACK!!!! 😉 😂🤣🤣😂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dfinney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I recently saw the freedom girl (and the trivium) come up on ebay... They look great, but the price got higher than I was willing to pay. Congrats on scoring one!

Thank you! eBay is always such a tease. The price starts ok until some one swoops in and ruins everything!

so how much does one of those things cost?

It depends. There are coins (silver which is leagal tender in whatever country) and rounds (silver that looks like a coin but is not money). Let’s say coIn or round each weighs one ounce. The weight price of each fluctuates depending on the day’s silver price. So today the silver cost for each is about $16. The price by weight is called the spot price. If the silver is actual currency it will also have a face value, which could be anything. On top of that each piece of silver has a collectibility value. Some are minted at low numbers so that drives the price up or they are a well liked design. These factors can drive up the price.

So.... the goal is to pay as close to spot (weight value). Most places add a little premium over spot when they sell silver. I have bought rounds/coins for as low as $16/oz and my most expensive (a Princess Leia Star Wars thing) was $135/oz. That was way too much $$$ by the way. The Freedom Girl here was $25 (could have got her for $20 online) and the Panda was $20. Online the panda goes for $35.

I try to get most of my coins/rounds for $25 and under. The closer to spot the better. But I am a sucker for a cool design. ☺️

thanks for the explaination..

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This post is supported by $2.49 @tipU upvote funded by @senstless :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

BEAUTIFUL pick-ups for the New Year! Your stack and collection of silver are outstanding. Stack on, my sweet friend!

Thanks @silversaver888! That is a great compliment from you the queen of Stacking! Happy New Year to you!

💎Congratulations! By using @tipU service today you have won 2 @steembasicincome shares from @tipU :) From now on @steembasicincome (or one of its accounts) will upvote your posts and comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66