A Silver New Year

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

New Year’s Eve was a gorgeous sunny day. The perfect day infact for a little road trip. I hopped in my car and drove with only a direction in mind.

South ☺️


With zero traffic (and pedal to the metal 😬) I managed 75 miles in just over an hour. This is UNHEARD of most days in the greater Seattle area. My final destination ended up being Olympia, the capital of Washington State.

image

Washington State Capital building

It’s a cute little city along the southern most shores of Puget Sound. Along with government offices, Olympia has a lovely marina and waterside farmer’s market (not open when I breezed through). The downtown core is filled with cafes and small shops.

I scoped it all out from the comfort of the car.

😁


But then I found a spot worth a stop.

image

Olympia Rare Coins!!!

Olympia Rare Coins was oddly tucked into the back side of a gas station. But my oh my... the place was the bees knees. They had ALL the things.

I walked in, spotted a case of copper coins to my left. To the right there was a display case filled with pandas and marvel coins. A few more steps... cases of slabbed coins. Next was a section of mini mintage rounds like the slave queen, freedom girl and death to banksters. You want libertads? Pick a size! How about Koalas? I saw a 2009 for under $40! There was a case filled with slabbed Morgans. They had gold, pamp suisse platinum. There were one gram bars that looked like paper, plus heaps of hand poured yumminess.

image

Do you like generic bars? Pick a size!

I was pretty overwhelmed by the whole place. It was a sensory overload and I was wishing my #ssg buddies could be there shopping with me. ☺️ After spending a long time pondering my options, I left the shop with six items.

I will share just ONE tonight.


image

Grim Reaper

image

Only 10,000 minted!

This 2017 grim reaper round has a low mintage of just 10,000. It is one ounce, .999 pure and has an antiqued finish. I have seen lots of ssg folks share this round, but photos don’t do it justice. The design is raised from the face of the round creating an awesome 3D image. The moon, reaper, headstones and scythe are all at a different depth. In person it is quite a sight.

image

The reaper

Ok.... I won’t share the other pieces tonight, but I will say there is a bar, a coin and three more rounds. ☺️

🎉🎉🍆🕺🏼⚡️✨⭐️

Keep on Stacking!


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

E63F07CB-9B7F-41C1-96E3-C1F017EFEF60.jpeg
3FA69980-7968-4279-ADD8-600DC1AF7EDD.jpeg
EAAF5108-AE0F-4764-A442-802C0C3247FA.png
9777C19F-DB68-46CD-9E92-D004735D2F58.png
9293C089-2A4C-44FA-864A-AE3C38F46440.png

Sort:  

That is a sweet round.

Remember

VOTE DFINNEY FOR PRESIDENT

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This must be the place you mentioned! Cool cool cool! That grim reaper round from Monarch is a great find! I'll have to make a trip down there soon... all the more reason to visit!

It is!!! I gotta go back. There is a spot in Tacoma I want to try too. It has a good google rating. When you are down with the fam you should definitely venture just a little further south. ☺️

@dfinney look at you one of my Favorite Stackin' Sisters.......Thanks for The Close UP of that Scarce Silver Round. You Know Me I Like the Low Mintage and The Unusual, can't wait to see what else You Got Lady.............

Stackin sisters!!! I like the sound of that. ☺️ Sadly there were no 70’s art bars, but I did get some other goodies.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Nice score @dfinney. That is an awesome coin with a low mintage. Looks like he had a great variety of coins to pick from. Can't wait to see what else you got.

I have never seen such a variety in one space. It was like APMEX opened a shop front! 😂

Oooh what a teaze! Looks like a great spot for some plundering 🤟😎 i wanna’ drive South too.

Do it! You drive to seattle, then we can drive to Olympia. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49