SteemSilverGold Community : Nick Name Contest Entry

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Setting up a Bot is easy, but bringing it to life is a whole other ballgame. Branding is important so when I started thinking about what to call the new @ssg-community account I felt it didn't just need to fit the community it needed to be thrown out there for everyone to decide. So while I do like my own ideas I know this is bigger than me. That said, here is my idea and I’ll tell a bit of a story as to how I got there…..

nickname.png

I started off asking myself the question “Who is the biggest stacker of Gold and Silver of all time?” That was tough and I started thinking about history and some of the big gold stories but it wasn’t long before I was thinking about fictional characters….and then fantasy fiction and that’s where I struck gold (yes, it’s a poor pun but I couldn’t help it). The first idea popped into my head. Smaug from the Lord of the Rings is the big Red Dragon who sits on a huge pile of Gold.

smaug.jpg
Source

It seemed like a good idea for a mascot, but the problem is that Smaug is Evil and we’re trying to represent Good. So I wondered if I could find a Good Dragon in the Fantasy Fiction genre which might fit the bill. That was when I realised that the good dragons in that genre…..are the metallic dragons. BANG! It hit me like a lightning bolt. Of course, the good dragons are the Gold Dragons and the Silver Dragons! It fit’s so perfectly for this community I could not get back to sleep (It was 3am, for some reason the time of day my brain seems to have the best ideas).

dragonsflying.png
Source

So then I started having a look for Dragon characters and I came back to one of my favourite Fantasy Fiction books as a kid and found Silvara – The Silver Dragon. She is good, she is strong and she kicks some butt. She also has an alternate form as a Wild Elf which can be an attractive softer side to emphasise the good, but not be too slutty. Here she is in all her glory :-

silvara.png
Source 12

My thoughts for a logo would be the Silver Dragon with outstretched wings sitting on a pile of Gold. We could name it something else or tweak it if we want to be more original. It’s the concept which I think is more important. Dragons are often associated with wealth. They are powerful and wise and they also appear on a lot of our favourite coins and bars.

dragon1.jpg
Source 12

I am not a very good artist but I can see it with my minds eye. I might even have a (poor) attempt at sketching it out if the community likes the idea. I have already heard another idea that I think it pretty awesome. Hopefully we can have some fun with these ideas over the next few days.


steemsilvergold.png

TeamAust_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://www.forbes.com
http://www.pobble365.com
https://youkosilvara.deviantart.com
http://dlnexus.com
http://lunargoldcoins.com
http://www.perthmintbullion.com

Sort:  

What about having two dragons; one silver dragon and one gold dragon, figthing each other, like yin/ yang or gold/ silver ratio.
Somewhat like the new two dragons from UK:
Screen Shot 2018-04-01 at 14.29.20.png

That's a good idea. I like the Yin/Yang idea and the Gold/Silver ratio is very clever.

Maybe you can get a late entry on the voting post HERE

How about “precious?”

You mean like Gollum? My preciousssss!

gollum.jpg

My idea was more like tied into “precious metals” and also that a big, fierce, ass-kicking Dragon would be given a little foo-foo name — like a mini-poodle being called “face-ripper” or something...

That being said, if ever there was a case of absolutely wicked stackitus, then surely Smeagle fits the bill.

There are a lot of possible references for this name which makes it dynamic. And would lend itself to many images i would think. Anyway, just a thought, i’ll keep on thinkin’ about it.

It's all sounded good to me brotha!

I was thinking we could call the BOT "FRED" and the BOT is a Goofy Ass Dog that is afraid of his own Shadow.............

😂😂😂😂😂

But really turns into a bitch-hound after a few cocktails!!!
🤣🤣🤣

My hero when i started stacking was silverfish vt on youtube and i bet he influenced alot of stackers, steem is fish related so a silverfish style mascot would be cool, not an actual silverfish but more a swordfish, the genus of a swordfish is "Xiphias" which would make a cool bot name

I like your idea. @russellbury..........

I like the idea of having a mascot dragon, but I don't know how to call her. Someone more imaginative will come with a good name. @darkmrmystic proposed Drakon, but I feel that it should be a she-dragon. So, how about Drakone ?

Ohhh I like that for a fem Dragon too 😁

What if you consider this "Siloild"

Drakon

In Greek myths, this is one of the names of a number of dragons who did things like guarding sacred springs and the golden fleece. The name means dragon. If were going to have a dragon, might as well name it right.... Right? Lol

Inrealky like the idea of having a dragon...perhaps of sorts...being our mascot. It feels like it is almost there but perhaps not quite. But excellent ideas to get the creative juices flowing for all.
Cheers Buggs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32