Straight From the Opal Mine

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)




Today we're going to look at some fancy high premium coins. The opal Lunar Rooster from the Perth Mint. It has a low mintage of 5000 coins and a unique natural opal inlay in shape of a rooster.

Display Case

The display case is made of a leather-like texture, most likely faux-leather. It features at the bottom right an indentation of the Perth Mint swan. The build quality is very solid, and comparable to a quality jewelry box. It has a very snappy mechanism and stays open without any jiggle room. If you open the display case, you might be surprised to find a light.

The Perth Mint took the term display box very literal and integrated a light sensor along with a tiny LED light inside the box. So every time you open the box, a small light shines down on your coin.






Obverse

The obverse of this coin is very beautiful. At the center, you have the rooster as a glitter opal inlay. Depending on the angle and light the opal inlay shows an impressive blaze of colour. The colours range from bright green to red, blue and a deep purple. Around this display, the coins feature an intricate design of leaves and blades of grass. At the top, this design makes room for the inscription "YEAR OF THE ROOSTER". Around this display, an oriental pattern finishes the obverse of the coin.



Reverse

The reverse shows the usual theme for Perth Mint coins. Queen Elizabeth II. She's depicted inside a circle surrounded by a radial design. A spotless mirror finish completes it.

Conclusion

Usually, I'm not the biggest fan of inlays on coins. Most Swarovski inlays look cheesy and weird. But in case of the Australian Opal Lunar series, the designers outdid themselves. The design is very well integrated into the coin. Even though you pay a hefty premium on the Opal Series, you definitely get a beautiful coin. And while writing this post I noticed that there are non-lunar designs in the Australian Opal series as well. My poor silver budget...

Do you like the Lunar Rooster series as well, or are you not a fan of high premium coins?



When silver and gems come into play, dragons get very possessive.

Sort:  

Oooo lovely coin it is from your description. How come I have never heard about this coin before. Well, there are so many coins a that keeps floating in all the time.
But am glad I read about opal coin From your end. I really loved your blog and I hope to see more amazing stuffs from your end soon

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, the mints produce hundreds of coins each year, there's no way to catch every coin out there, especially not obscure pieces like this one ;)

And thank you, I'm happy to hear that you like my blog :D I hope I can dig up more interesting pieces from my collection ;)

Yea.... I know you will. And I will be at the tail to catch them up when u do

Posted using Partiko Android

A novel design. Your Budget? My budget is becoming more and more dependant on my 'Cash Only' side jobs.

It certainly is :)

And my budget is shrinking with every month. Studying doesn't really pay the bills. I need to wait for crypto to rally again to ATH...otherwise no more silver.

That is a really beautiful coin. I agree with you as this is extra special with the Opal inlay. The colors make the coin and enhance it I feel. I like the little LED in the presentation box as it just makes a perfect display case.

It certainly is, without the opals it would be just another lunar coin, but with the opal inlay it really shines. And the thoughtful execution of the Perth Mint puts the icing on the cake :)

That coin is beautiful! Perth Mint makes some really out of this world fancy stuff. Like their dragon Coin with a pearl in the center. Mmmm.... so nice.

PS - I like your little dragon stuffy who is always in your last photo. 😊

Thanks:) The Perth mint really knows their stuff and how to get our money xD

And I'm glad you like my little dragon Elly she's a NICI keychain stuffy, saw her one time in a store and had to have her, she's just too cute :) And I think she likes you too ;)😊

There is only one real rooster ofcourse…..;)

The one and only ^-^

Now the Perth Mint just needs to make a gold version, and you're all set :)

Hi bauloewe,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much, I'm honored that you've selected my post :)

I really like traditional coins and I have a small collection of them too.
Your one is beautiful!
Congratulations and Steem on!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

I prefer traditional coins as well, but sometimes I make exceptions for collector pieces like this one.

I agree! You could make a summary post with all of your coins in your collection.
That seems to be a great idea😉👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you mean a blog post with links to all articles I've written so far or a post about my whole collection?

Second option😉👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm, that's actually a good idea :D

Congratulations @bauloewe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85