How to send encrypted messages in the Wallet

in #steemschool6 years ago

I had noticed in a few steemd pages that I was looking at what seemed to be encrypted messages from wallet transactions. I thought it was something that @therealwolf was telling me about some instant messaging he was working on. It's not that.

I searched for answers and I found many different answers but not one conclusive answer to my question.

How are they doing it?

So I tried to send a message to my wife that was encrypted. I use what I found from two others posts from @good-karma and from @adept

The key seems to be the # sign! But I tried it with busy and this happened

image.png

I dug in a little more

I decided the Memo key in our wallets had to have something to do with it. But @good-karma said this about the encrypted messages 9 months ago...

You can already test memo encryption within Steemit. Go to Wallet and Transfer some funds to any account and include memo message with # hashtag front of message. This way only you and receiver can read the memo message, nobody else knows or sees what you guys are talking about.

So I tried to just put # there in steemit and then I got this from steemit...
image.png
image.png

So I needed to enter my active key? This happened

image.png

So then I tried entering my memo Key during the transfer got the same wrong message
image.png

Great. What did I do wrong?

I reread both posts and decided I have to start out signing in with my memo key to start off! Both poster never tell you to log into steemit with your memo key

You must log in with your memo key to send or read an encrypted message.

So I logged in to steemit with my memo key. Then did all again and Viola this was the result.

image.png

And this is what I sent her
image.png

She sent this back to me same way
image.png
image.png

And that my friends is how you send a private message in your steemit wallet!

Summary if you want to skip all the screenshots

  1. Log in with your private memo key
  2. Transfer from your wallet to whom you want a private message, minimum send is 0.001 STEEM/SBD
  3. Now on the memo, use # then space then your message
  4. Complete the transaction by entering your active key
Sort:  

It seems that there is just no end to what you can learn about Steemit. This is very useful and helpful, I assume when the steemit.com update comes out that this feature will probably be built in and easy to use. Thank you for sharing this, I have resteemed this to my followers.

Thanks for the resteem.
It is pretty easy to use but you have to use the memo key. Its funny that everyone thought the memo key was for nothing.
There is no owners manual for a steemit account.
There seems to be endless possibilities of what you can learn here.

@iamstan this is the best ever information I learned about steemit operations so far!!! Thank you very much for your great research. I gonna try to send you some cryptomessage a bit later!

Why is this not already a popular feature , like for selling keys to a digital purchase ( e-book/stock images/game license)

I was surprised that not many are using it. And hardly anyone knows what to do!

Like seriously, I feel like this is something @rhondak and peeps at @thewritersblock should jump all over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49