You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (EN/RO) Sloth, greed, egoism and the blockchain technology / Lene, lăcomie, egoism și tehnologia blockchain

Back in 1998 I was doing research in molecular biology, and was only mildly succesful at it. I was already in love with computers and started learning html and Javascript. Then I discovered Perl and read the famous quote of its creator, Larry Wall: "the three virtues of a great programmer are : laziness, impatience and hubris" - your article made me instantly recall that quote.

Greed I also consider to be a great combustible in the engine that leads to progress. I've always thought Gordon Gekko's -"greed is good" speech was wrongly maligned. Too much greed is bad though, just as too much of anything is bad.

Where I have doubts is with Steemromania (and especially with the "romania" part). I know it is extremely hard or almost impossible to accept for some of those who despite all the signs have chosen to stay.

I left the country in 1991 and travelled back at regular intervals. It's been 27 years and unfortunately the rot and putrefaction are still there. I remember the late Silviu Brucan and how scandalized a young me was when I heard him on TV in early 1990 that Romania needed at least 20 years to change. How optimistic he was !

I'm not sure anymore that Romania can change as those who could change it realize that it is in their own self interest to leave. Two "Romanias" seem to exist, populated by people having almost nothing in common except the Romanian language : the country with that name and the "Romanian diaspora", a virtual country.

Sort:  

I'm happy to share the same point of view about sloth, greed, and egoism.
On the other hand, the change must start somewhere. And I'm a kinda guy that still makes artificial respiration, even if the forensic doctor signed the death certificate and the pit was dug.
SteemRomania is currently just an attempt to coagulate a working core. We still have a lot of work to do until we'll be a functional community, but there is the determination to do so. And we'll do it!
Speaking of being still here, I can tell you that there is no reason for me to leave Romania. I am almost 50 years old, my children are on their own feet and one of them is resident in Denmark.
And if I did not leave, I'll try to change something.
That is why I try help to build this community.

I admire you. I've tried several times to come back and see if my help was wanted. It never was. My compatriots kept looking at me as if I had come not to help but to ... "steal their horse" as we used to say back in the times. You can't help someone who doesn't want to be helped.

I know exactly what you say. I've been through this. And I also know that if you try to explain to them what and how, they tell you cannot know better than the ones involved.
The hardest thing is to change mentalities. Sometimes it's impossible.
Then speaking about SteemRomania, I think we need people like you. I really wanted the last few days to ask for your opinion.

thank you, that is very kind of you

Indeed, reading this article I thought about Larry Wall's quote too, it fits so well here!