Wine Review - Penfold St Henri Shiraz 2004 - A Wine for Special Occasions

in #steempub7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes it's good to spoil yourself, and enjoy the fruits of your hard work.

Earlier in the year we celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary, and went out for a special dinner to spoil ourselves. We chose a nearby restaurant which we had wanted to try for some time.

We ordered our meals and studied the wine list. Not wanting to get any old wine, I took a look at the more expensive wines, and almost fell iut if my chair. I really wanted something special, which we would not otherwise buy on a trip down to the bottle shop. So I chose the Penfolds St Henri Shiraz - 2004, one of the most expensive bottles on the list. It was a special occasion afterall! #spentwaytoomuchonwine

20170318_194321.jpg

This is a high-end wine (although not in the realm of $800 a bottle Penfolds Grange), and is quite unique in that it is matured exclusively in old oak barrels, so it maintains a fruity structure with very little oak influence. This vintage had been blended with 4% Cabernet Savignon to add to the structure.

Being from 2004, it had aged very well and the structure was magnificant. Smooth and intense flavours abound of dark cherries, liquorice, light spice and a zingy tannins.

This was by far the best wine we had ever tasted, and we nursed the $120 bottle (half the total cost of our dinner) very slowly through our dinner, enjoying every sip.

It went beautifully with our fillet steak main meal..

20171211_165937.jpg

The perfect drink for a perfect evening.

We scored this 5 out of 5. Simply perfect. Worth $120 a bottle? Absolutely!!

I keep walking past the St Henri at the bottle shop when we stop in for a couple bottles to restock our cellar. One day I'll slip one into the basket again.. one day...

_bmj_teamaustralia_1680x8400.png
upboks_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Oh wow! I'm editing at the moment and it's 10:34pm. I haven't had dinner. This meal would make my world right now!

It looks delicious @bmj !

x

It tasted as good as it looked. You really should eat dinner earlier :)

Thanks for stopping by!!

I live very close to Penfolds. I crave a fine bottle every time I drive past 😂😂

I always walk past them in the bottle shop... hoping for a pricing error.. like dropping a 0 off the price... maybe one day 😂

That'll be the day haha 🤑

Congratulations @bmj - 16 years is epic! We hit 16 years next year and would very, very much enjoy a red wine that incredible. My wife would be beside herself with happiness with a meal like that. You guys absolutely anniversaried in style. Congratulations again!

Thanks mate! That's awesome for you too!! You better spoil your missus too... Happy wife = happy life!!

Haha, she just had multiple birthday parties in Melbourne and one in the US, so I'm pretty confident I'll be able to step up with the time comes.

Fun Fact... we actually don't know when our anniversary is... We think it's the 25th of October, but it could be the 26th or 27th... our actual wedding was only 2 years ago but it's right near my birthday and we keep forgetting.

lol love the last tag. I feel you, I spend waaaaay to much on wine myself

Haha, it's very difficult to find good wine that is cheap. I'd rather pay in for better quality and buy fewer bottles.

Congratulations! Very good Shiraz. Cheers!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47