My ArtVenture: Pastel painting “Hercules vs Cerberus”

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,


 



 

 

*

 

Today I wanted to present you my pastel work that took me three days to finish. This time I have chosen a famous hero from Greek mythology Hercules. I remember myself spending hours reading the stories about Hercules and his adventure.

 

*



 
“Hercules vs Cerberus” by @Stef1

 
*

 

I saw the picture of sculpture when Hercules is fighting Cerberus and thought that is what I want to do.

I decided to use larger format 27,9x42 cm this time and weight 110 g/cm² sketch block, my soft pastel pencils: Yellow Ochre, cobalt blue, burnt sienna, brown, black and white

Would be interesting to know your opinion :)


 


 

My step-by-step process:


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 

The finished painting


 


 
Pastel painting “Hercules vs Cerberus” by @Stef1

Sketch block 27,9x42 cm, weight 110 g/cm², my soft pastel pencils:

 


 

Photo source


 


 


 

 

 




 
*

 
I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artventure.club/my-artventure-pastel-painting-hercules-vs-cerberus

Sort:  

Your Hercules is stunning! We have a statue of Hercules in my town BUT your interpretation is even better :) I love the colors and the amazing details that you included. I enjoy your Greek mythology series :)

I hope you're doing well..

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day!

Thank you @delishtreads for your nice words, I am pleased you appreciate my work, it was a tough job and I was on some stage hesitating if everything will come out as I want :)

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

I really like the final result :) It looks just like the original sculpture.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 89%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you very much :)

Thank you, I am pleased to be chosen by your curation team :)

You really captured his heroic aspects from the statue well ! Very nice shading and beautiful blending technique with the pastel, @stef1 :)

Thank you @veryspider for your nice comment and your compliment :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared for supporting Artists :)

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Thank you :)

I love classical and historical characters: their legends and story are amazing.
Amazing like your art.
I would like suggesting you that I will have a contest on my account soon: on March, 3rd I will have my First Steem Birthday and I will make a contest where I will show all my portraits: there will be a lot of prizes and if you would like to partecipate with a drawing (also easier that this one) it could be a pleasure to me to join you!
It could be a good way to show your art all over Steem Blockchain😉👍
Let me know!!!
Thank you and Steem on!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @monica90 for your nice words and your advice :)

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION in collaboration with STEEMPRESS.
theunion.png

Thank you :)

Very good work there @stef1, it looks like I could feel it with my hands.

Thank you @cryptopie, I was very satisfied with my work and I really like how it came out, glad that you also like the result and thank you for compliment :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone for supporting Art :)

What an amazing work, Steffi! Cerberus sure has a fierce and scary look! Incredible details!

Thank you @trincowski for your nice comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53