Fourth Steemit Ramble Witness Chat Well Attended -- Recording Included

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

The fourth Witness Chat in the Steemit Ramble discord was well attended. Several topics were touched on including: pegging or not pegging SBD, activity levels on the platform, transparency of witnesses involved in other blockchains, decaying votes and more.

There were sixteen witnesses representing fifteen witness accounts present today. They included: @adsactly-witness (@morkrock) @c0ff33a @drakos @enginewitty @followbtcnews (@crimsonclad) @jackmiller @lukestokes @mahdiyari @noblewitness (@rhondak @anarcho-andrei) @qurator (@scrooger) @ro-witness (@alexvan)@therealwolf @timcliff @ura-soul @yehey

@gmuxx (@noblewitness) popped in briefly to bring his greetings and let us know he couldn’t stay. @ats-david (@ats-witness) appeared in the text briefly but didn’t see him in the voice chat and @paulag (@steemcommunity) was noticed in the foyer channel but never saw her take part.

Here is the recording of the chat:

The chat was lively and could have continued most of the afternoon but people have things to do so I closed it out after 2.5 hours. The next chat will take place on Saturday July 21st at 11am EDT / 3pm UTC. See you all then.


 
steemit ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://shadowspublishing.com/fourth-steemit-ramble-witness-chat-well-attended/

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png

I need to actually sit in and listen to these Witness chats.

If anything, the drama is worth it.

hmm.. if you are looking for the drama.. might be disappointed. The chats are a group of people having a great convo about the platform.

Don't worry. I know how to find them by talking to the right person. :)

I sat in for awhile yesterday, and what I learned, is I have a lot more to learn! All the same very interesting, and lots of info...

Sure is and we learn more every time I think.

Thanks for hosting these 💚

Can someone take notes on the next one for major topics? Or did someone make these into separate post?

I'm making some small notes as I listen to the witness chat right now, and had to run, but here's my takeaways so far... and I had to tune out after a bit, so it's definitely not everything.

  1. @witnesspage -- collects witness related updates in one feed. from @jackmiller.
  2. SBD--- Usual deal about value of peg. No progress here, really. Many views about how it should be. @burnpost goals to use stake to introduce downward pressure on SBD and upward pressure on STEEM via market trades. Reverse conversions has no traction at the moment.
  3. Value on platform as it pertains to users:
    @lukestokes -- All value comes from investors. Users are freeloading off of free money.
    Facebook comparison? -- users = Ads. Supposedly doesn't apply to steem.
    @timcliff How does many users translate to $ for investors?
    @shadowspub -- Users attract ideas, and those create business.
    My note: Of course investors give Steem its price, but they are all speculating on a future state. and what exactly is that? What is the value going to come from?
    About ads not applying to Steem: Actually, in the end ads are about exposure. If Steem has the users, there is incentive to buy such exposure. That's where it applies. Right now bid bots do the job apparently...
    Bottom line-- no users --> no value. Currency needs adoption.
  4. Bid bots
    (@timcliff, @alexvan discussion) The figure about 1% votes coming from bid bots is irrelevant. Only steem power matters, especially if that 1% of votes is accounting for a high percentage of reward pool allocation. @lukestokes saw some stats, and that figure is about 50% (Need a pointer here, maybe it was @paulag analysis? and my reaction: WOW).
    @lukestokes -- It is helping with promotion, but it is the wrong way to do it. Promoted tab was an attempt that failed.
    (YES 100%. We could be fixing promoted so that the $ is going back to the platform to allocate more efficiently for other things of value.)
    @alexvan -- Before bid bots, trending was terrible and repetitive, controlled by whale votes. Also, before bid bots the vote trading deals were happening off the chain. (Also true.)
    @timcliff -- Small people always get very little, whether it is bid bots or whales placing things to trending. And they will always feel it is unfair.
    Other snippets-- It's allowed by the rules. Because everyone else is doing it, it would be stupid not to do it (though the quote seemed to be talking about from the bidders' perspective, not delegators). No consensus among top witnesses about whether it is good/bad, and many of them run their own.
    My take? this post.

These chats are valuable to the community, so this is all really great to see. Cheers.

Thank you for the points. Also I added that taking the bidbots out will only open room for votes being sold outside the blockchain which is not transparent.

Ah yes! I was going to add that in as well and forgot. Let me do that as well.

Thank you for hosting. I real enjoyed the constructive talk and exchange of ideas.

my pleasure... I'm just glad they are of value to the community

My pleasure... I'm just
Glad they are of value to
The community

                 - shadowspub


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

While cute, this superfluous comment is considered to be spam, harms the blockchain, and is the reason why we will soon have to pay for comments like this with Resource Credits. The servers that maintain the blockchain are extremely expensive because of comments like this seeking low effort upvotes, so please do not reward this behavior.

Please consider using this link to give a small downvote of 15% or so to discourage these comments.

Any bot like this should respect the community by providing a whitelist to prevent the post in the first place and then provide a way to delete the comment for those who find this intrusive.

Go spam someone else

Hey @shadowsub

Appreciate the effort you put into this. It was the first time for me to sit in on one of these and I must admin I was nervous as heck! I did feel I rambled quite a bit, but at least now I have a good idea of how it is handled. Will try and be much more active next time.

Thanks a lot and looking forward to the next one. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56