Guns, Guns, Guns - Comedy Open Mic Round 29

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Sorry about being all serious and shit, but here's another hot topic that's been bugging the hell out of me for years. It comes with its own vague, seemingly inaccurate info-poster type of thing, and a veritable trove of real information, theory, and emotions that are meant to sway you to my way of thinking.

It jammed a lot, if you were using cheap rounds.
It jams a lot if you use cheap rounds.

Before we get going, I want to say that I am a gun owner. I hunt, shoot skeet, and target shoot. I love guns, and I truly enjoy going out to a gravel pit with Jake and Daryl to blow off a few boxes of shells. I also love heading for the woods with the Larries to maybe get a few grouse for the freezer. I haven't done either in a few years, but I really do enjoy it.

Okay, now for the probably wrong meme. I guess I can't say it's wrong, but it sure isn't from this year.

Click here to see some truer numbers
Click here to see some more outdated firearm-related death numbers

My friend JC wrote and drew up a great post on the subject, after Sandy Hook, and it got me thinking a lot about it. I wonder exactly where I do stand on the issue. I like hunting, and I own guns. I say that as long as you're a responsible gun owner, hunter or marksman, it should be perfectly fine to own a hunting rifle or a shotgun, because you safely store them, locked up tight like the law says you have to. You are also an ethical person, and would never use those guns to harm a human being, so why shouldn't you enjoy them?

Paul's was in a nice, wooden, velvet-lined box
Paul's was in a nice, wooden, velvet-lined box

Growing up, my stepdad, had a pistol. It was a Peacemaker replica .22. We would use it to shoot rabbits in the live trap by the garden as it wasn't as noticeable as a rifle. This was back before gun safes were necessary, so putting it in a locked box in your closet was acceptable.

I was fairly perceptive, so I knew where the keys were for it, and the other guns. I never unlocked them without permission, because we were taught from an early age that guns were tools, not toys.

When Paul died, he left me his .270 semi-auto. It's a great rifle, and I might use it one of these days. I might not though, because it's in Ontario and I haven't renewed my possession and acquisition license in years. I don't deer hunt anymore, but I guess I'd take the rifle in case I see an elk. They are very yummy.

My dad gave me my Wingmaster 12 gauge for Christmas when I was 15. It is the most perfect gun that I've ever fired. The stock was cut down, and fits my stubby arms to a T. I got my Cooey .22 from Paul when I was 16, and Larry sanded down the stock for me. It was made in Cobourg, at the Cooey factory where my Great-Grandfather worked, so it has a great deal of meaning.

So perfect for me, and never misfires. Knock on wood.
So perfect for me, and never misfires. Knock on wood.

I also have an RCMP Centennial model 30-30 that my mom bought for me when she worked at Winchester. I couldn't have been very old. It's shiny with brass all over and it's never been fired. It's beautiful. They all are.

To me, anyhow.

Maybe a little flashy for hunting, but still a nice rifle. Model 94 is the best selling rifle of all time, I believe.
Maybe a little flashy for hunting, but still a nice rifle. Model 94 is one the best selling rifles of all time.

The problem is that not everyone is responsible, and just because you passed a course that's designed for you to not fail (or was when I took it 30 years ago), doesn't mean that you are safe to own or handle guns. Accidents happen, maybe you go for a drive and blow a hole through the floor of your company truck(true story), or maybe your kid finds the keys to your gun safe, and decides that now's the time to exact revenge for the world treating him like a piece of goat shit since he got caught pulling his pud in the school washroom.

There are far too many possible scenarios that can go wrong here. Even if you are a super-safe, top-notch firearm owner, there is always a chance that someone will get a hold of your guns and use them negligently, or for a crime.

The long and short of it is that my guns mean a lot more to me than just a killing tool. Every time I clean them, hold them, shoot them, or just talk about them, I think about Mom, Paul, or Dad. They are all good memories because nothing bad ever happened to me.

It's also true that I don't need my guns. If I want to hunt I can use my bow. I think that muzzleloaders or single shot rifles and shotguns would be okay too for the folks that feed their families with wild meat because you get the range or the spread that you need, but you'd spend so much time reloading, that it wouldn't really be very effective for a shooting spree. Semi-autos and other high magazined rifles and shotguns are great, but I really don't see a need for the average person owning them, along with handguns.

Well, I think trappers and guides should be able to carry a handgun in the bush, at least where there is the danger of getting attacked by bears. Then again, maybe they shouldn't get to have such an advantage. After all, they are the ones that are out there battling nature. Maybe nature should have a fighting chance.


I do see that they can turn a mentally ill person into quite an efficient killing machine though, so I don't think that they should be available for the public to buy.

The fact is that it doesn't matter what way I lean, or whether the government revokes the right to bear arms. If someone wants to kill a shitload of people at once, they will find a way to do it. If they can't get guns, maybe they'll use homemade explosives. They'll do something because they're sick. This isn't a whimsical thought that just happens into their head for a second. They have time to think while they are going through the planning and execution stages. You don't just wind up at a school or a theatre with a bunch of guns and say, "Fuck it. I'm here. I have the artillery. Might as well kill some motherfuckers."

Or maybe you do. I really don't know, and I hope I never find out.

Speaking of explosives. Why aren't people up in arms that they can't just go buy claymores or grenades? In general, folks don't seem to mind that, but they sure take offence/defence to someone wanting to take away their automatic rifle with the 50 shot clip.

I nominate @drmake and @arseniclullaby to participate and you can find out more by clicking on @comedyopenmic and going to the latest round post. I would put 29 in, but I think it's almost over and then you might be mad at me for giving even more outdated information.
final.gif

Run, take the money, here’s a bullet for your boyfriend, guns, guns, guns,


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://changethetopic.com/guns-guns-guns-2/

Sort:  

Hi profanereviews,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

In my country, guns are strictly prohibited and very difficult to find. Yet it still finds it way into the hands of criminals. Normal families don't have easy access to guns and the process for getting a gun license or gun is tedious and expensive. The criminal Underworld on the other hand, have easy access to guns and the common man isn't given a fighting chance to protect himself. I don't think guns kill people, I think people kill people.

It's true that people kill people. Nobody is disputing that. The problem is weapons. It would be a lot of work for the criminals to strangle everyone. In my country, people don't have easy access to guns either, but the crime rate is much lower. If you look at the link I shared, some South American countries have extremely low gun ownership, but the gun deaths are through the roof. That leads me to believe that a few people are killing thousands.

It would be hard to kill that many people if you had a single shot rifle.

What I find interesting is how often the campaigners for gun restrictions use other regulated countries as there justification examples. I'm from UK and have spent 10 years in Australia. I can categorically tell you that the culture in each country has much more to do with gun deaths than how guns are restricted. In the UK the police didn't even carry guns (this may have changed in recent years). Australia is much more open to gun use, which may be why they are more often used as the example for gun restrictions by Americans wanting bans. Yet even here, gun deaths were decreasing even before regulations were introduced.

The mass killings that prompted gun restrictions in both countries were not perpetrated by mentally healthy people. You are also quite right that when someone who is mentally disturbed wants to kill people, keeping guns away from them merely removes one form of accomplishing this. It seems people are discovering that vehicles driven into crowded areas are pretty efficient at taking out a lot of people rapidly.

Admittedly the chances are high that countries like the UK and Japan have few households which even keep guns. However, there are also countries where most households have guns and still have low rates of gun deaths. So I would still say that culture plays a bigger role in the rate of gun deaths. Criminal elements don't get hold of guns legally in restricted countries anyway, so restrictions have no impact on them.

It seems to me that the issue to be addressed should be more along the lines of finding out why incidences like this are happening. What is going on in the American culture to cause higher gun deaths than in other cultures? Are other countries better attending to their people's mental health needs than America currently is?

I have never had or fired a gun and never felt the need to, so the American gun debate has been an interesting one for me. My first reaction is to wonder why on earth you'd need or want guns, but I also realise that I am from a completely different culture and recent history. When I listen to the arguments, both sides make valid points. Ultimately for me, however, freedom of choice should always win out. As long as you cause no harm, you should remain free to choose.

And this is where my dilemma is. So many people choose to get guns and improperly store or carry them. It's surprising to me how many people in the US that are accidentally shot by their own kids.

It's surprising to me how many people in the US that are accidentally shot by their own kids.

Gobsmacked! Whatever happened to common sense?

Edit, Now I've gotten over the surprise of that statement!
Here we potentially go back to culture and education. Safety with children in the house is something often taught and discussed in the UK and that's without guns in the house. It certainly makes sense to restrict sale of guns without some sort of safety first education being in place. Having said that, if you're shot by your child due to bad safety practices, maybe you deserve a Darwin Award.

In Venezuela, 28,000 people die each year from murderers.
Weapons do not kill people, people kill people

With weapons. Or do they use their hands?

You don't just wind up at a school or a theatre with a bunch of guns and say, "Fuck it. I'm here. I have the artillery. Might as well kill some motherfuckers."

This might not be the rule but I am sure there have been exceptions, same as I promised wifey I won't brawl, wifey phones hey I slept with your brother. Fuck it I won't brawl but I got the guns. "Barkeep, gimme a beer! On second thought I will get it myself."

Que Music

You have no idea how much I enjoyed this. It reminds me of Skrillex for some reason. Not the music, but the video direction. Thanks so much for renewing my faith in hiphop.

Congratulations @profanereviews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Chris Bird from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That Winchester is my dream gun. Why couldn't my mom have had a cool job.

Yeah, secretaries have it pretty awesome.

ok... i just gotta point out that here in the U.S. there are roughly about 350 million guns in public ownership... now there are only about 190 million adult citizens, and of that 190 million only about 45 million admit to owning a gun(handgun, or rifle of any kind). This means that there are roughly almost 8 guns owned by each gun owner in the U.S. if you do the math on the number of gun deaths(excluding self administered fatalities) the total of all gun deaths per capita is less than 1/10th of a percent of the total population. which in many cases results in a lower per capita gun death rate of many of the more restrictive gun ownership countries... just something to think about. in the U.S. it is not the legal gun owners who are killing people with their guns....but the criminals who aren't going to obey stricter gun laws in the first place...

Totally irrelevant to this post, but thanks for chiming in. If you look at the link I provide, you will see that the US is far below many other countries when it comes to gun deaths.

My point was that I don't think that there is any reason for average people to have handguns and assault rifles. If they weren't for sale, it would be very hard for the criminals to acquire them.

Where do you think the criminals get their guns? Do they make them?

i must be a criminal then.... because i've built two of my rifles. one an .300 BLK on the AR15 platform, and the other an semi automatic 6.5mm Grendal , also on the AR15 platform. . i actually bought my AR15 in 5.56mm, and my 9mm handgun.....and i intend on building one of each calibre that can be built on both the AR15, and AR10 platforms.... all of which are completely legal to do so.... I fully understood your point, but that is the thing many of you anti gun people continue to fail to understand... more people die from blunt force trauma than do by firearms each year. do the research(and not the research that the anti 2A leftists tell everybody... my point was, that there are far more guns in the hands of law abiding citizens than there are criminals...yet you seem to think that disarming those of us who are lawful and own guns should lose our inalienable and un-infringeable rights provided by the bill of rights of our constitution. You all live in this fantasy world that if you do away with the guns that the criminals will stop being criminals....wrong, their weapons of choice simply change... this was just proven out in paris where the killer used blades and a metal bar to attack multiple victims outside of a movie theatre..... statistics show the areas which are gun free, or have the strictest gun laws have the highest rates of violent crime, and gun deaths. i just wish you anti gun people would stop cherry picking the data to make it fit your anti gun beliefs....actually use the real government data regarding guns and gun related incidents. stop manipulating that data to make the statistics fit your beliefs and just admit that you don't like guns and you don't want those who do to have their rights.....

Did you read my post? I don't know where you get the anti-gun vibe. I am also Canadian, so I'm not entirely familiar with the constitution down there.

I asked you for your sources, so I could look at them and discern for myself whether it was far right propaganda or credible. If you don't want to give them to me then I will conclude our conversation.

I also wonder where you got the part that I said people that build guns are criminals. I'm impressed that you have those skills.

I didn't see where you asked me for sources, but then again... it isn't my job to do your research. i get the anti gun vibe from this-> "My point was that I don't think that there is any reason for average people to have handguns and assault rifles. If they weren't for sale, it would be very hard for the criminals to acquire them. "
and i wasn't saying you think i was a criminal, but rather that criminals CAN build guns, and since i have built guns by your comment i am like a criminal in that respect... building a gun rifle is easy, building a hand gun is a little more difficult. -->

Where do you think the criminals get their guns? Do they make them?

my point is, your opinion that the average citizen shouldn't be allowed to own handguns, or automatic/semi automatic rifles is based upon anti gun advocates who skew gun data to support their data ... an excerpt from a snopes fact check on rifles... of any kind.... --> "According to FBI: UCR Table 12, there were approximately 374 people shot and killed with rifles of any kind. There were 1,604 people killed with “knives or cutting instruments.”

Table 12 also shows that more people were killed via the use of “hands, fists, feet, etc.,” than were killed by rifles of any kind. In fact, the tally shows that the death numbers were not even close. While approximately 374 people were shot and killed with rifles, roughly 656 people were beaten to death with “hands, fists, feet, etc.” " . While i agree, criminals do not need to own firearms... to say you don't think the average citizen should be allowed to either is like saying i am not allowed to defend myself against a criminal. it doesn't matter if you make an area "gun free" or not, the criminal element isn't going to follow those laws anyways.... that's why they're called criminals, because they do not follow the laws we already have... creating more laws is not the answer either, nor is restricting gun ownership for the citizenry... i would rather see stricter background checks and limitations on the mentally ill being able to own firearms. I also am all for increasing the penalty for gun related crimes as well.. as increased penalties can do a lot to curb all but the determined criminal from committing gun crimes. Since you are not all that familliar with the statistics on gun free/highly restrictive gun states vs. pro gun states i can direct you to look at CA, DC, IL(states with high gun restrictions/laws) and TX, FL, OH, (states with relatively low gun restrictions/laws) and do a per capita ratio on deaths by guns of any kind. you might be shocked to see that the gun restrictive states have the higher gun related crimes per capita...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67002.47
ETH 3459.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65