Fuck You, Squirrel Comedy Open Mic Round 27

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Plink, plink, clunk

Something was landing on the metal roof above our bedroom.

IMG_20180819_081520.jpg

Fuck. Not this shit again.

Our first year here, we heard these same sounds. Usually they would start around 4 AM or so. Thunk, clink, plunk.

I went outside to see what was making the racket and was surprised to see a red squirrel at the top of the spruce tree, throwing the new spruce cones forty feet down to the roof and ground.

It was the damndest thing. He pulled every cone off of the branch and chucked them down. He would then move to the next branch and do the same thing. I started to count the branches he had left.


Fuck me. That's a lot of cones. That was also three years ago. That day was hell, with the waking up, dogs going bananas, and the squirrel egging them on.

I did what I had to do, to keep my sanity.

I bought a slingshot and some ball bearings. My friend Aaron came over as I was unpacking it and he took a few shots. I think he got the varmint on the tenth try. It was dead instantly.

Then came more squirrels. Running around on the house, tormenting us and the dogs, and generally being a nuisance. I also think they were setting up shop in the eaves, but I can't verify that now. I started shooting at them with the slingshot but I didn't possess the accuracy that Aaron did. I also started to worry about these ball bearings falling from the sky into people's cars or eyeballs. We do live about thirty metres from the grocery store and medical clinic.

I wasn't too worried about hitting people going into the clinic. I mean, there is a doctor right there, and an ambulance if it was more serious than they could handle. The grocery store though. That wouldn't be cool to come out with your T-bones and mushrooms, all excited for the delicious fucking meal you're about to have.

All of a sudden... THWACK. Your fucking eyeball is out.

No sir, not on my shift.

I did what anyone else would do. I went to the hardware store and bought a plastic air rifle for $90. It was the only one they had and it was pretty cheaply made. It did the job though. I was murdering squirrels like they were hookers in Grand Theft Auto.

At that time I was throwing them in the long grass over the fence. Out of sight, out of mind. Those people never came around to check out their property anyhow.

Then one day I heard an engine start up out back. I went and saw what seemed like an alcoholic skeleton pushing a lawnmower through the two-foot high grass. It wasn't working very well. When he saw me, he shut it down and started walking over.

He was talking about how the district had told the company they had to clean up the dry grass because it was a fire hazard and he had been called to come and do the job. He figured that he hadn't brought the right equipment, but he was just going to keep lifting and pushing through the jungle.

That was until he saw the squirrel graveyard. He asked me what it was, so I jumped the fence and pretended I didn't know how all of those bodies in different stages of decomposition, got there. Needless to say, that was all the reason he needed to pack up, grab a jug of gin, and ride off into the sunset.

Wow, I really got away from myself there.

Anyhow, Blue and I went outside yesterday to plant the new apple tree. He kept watch in the spruce and I was mixing the cowshit with the compost and eggshells.

Chunk. A cone nailed me in the head. I looked up and saw the little cocksucker whipping them down at a coked up rate. It was like the Plinko game from Price Is Right, bouncing from limb to limb and hitting Blue or I. They never hit Gerri though. I think she pays the little fuckers off.

I was going to let all of this go until later when I was trying to fix the chipper. That prick came down, sat on the birdhouse and started chattering right in my face.


He was three feet away and I was tempted to whip the screwdriver at him but I was afraid it would take out the neighbour's shed window or something. I told him that if he didn't stop, I was going to go buy a pellet gun and kill him the next day.

Crappy Tire was having a sale!


This badboy was regularly $159, but was on for $99 and it included the scope. We actually went that night so I could do murder in the morning but first I needed to sight it in.

I probably looked ridiculous shooting a board on the front lawn in my robe but that didn't matter. What mattered was that I got it sighted in pretty tight. Now it's killing time.


I put on some shorts and went into the backyard to wait for him, but he never came back out. Gerri said that he probably saw how good of a gun I had and moved to another yard but I figure she tipped the bastard off.

She's always rooting for the underdog.

I'd like to nominate @jonny-clearwater and @berniesanders to throw a little stink on this here contest. You can find out more by checking out @comedyopenmic and looking around this place. Also remember what the good book says about coveting thy neighbour's robe. Just don't.

final.gif


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://changethetopic.com/fuck-you-squirrel/

Sort:  

Hi profanereviews,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

I'm like... why did you just dumped all of them dead bodies when there's plenty of room for experimenting a cuisine out of them? Maybe I'm the sick one here. There's taxidermy and leather crafting :D

I like the way you think, and if they didn't eat so many spruce cones, I may like to try eating them. I can only imagine how bitter they would be.

I would love a pair of squirrel gloves though.

Hey, I've seen that look before, oh yeah...

It got to that point a few times.

Don't relent, that surviving bastard might go fuck another squirrel and come back with children and shit. Patrol your neighbourhood, comb every damn inch, kill them all.

Hey now, we have a few neighbours that need a bit of terrorizing so we don't want them all dead.

Wow thats tough ooo. They are still living creatures trying to survive .. I'd suggest you used a repellent or something

What do you think a pellet gun is?

Hi profanereviews,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Holy shit. Thanks @curie. That's very unexpected and happy news.

Yep, I've been there on the "squirrel rampage." Sadly for the squirrels i was not the best shot. When I finally gunned one squirrel down into total submission, i saw that it had already been shot three other times =( nothing like feeling like a horrible person for trying to prevent your house from being chewed up.

You don't even want to hear the story of last summer when my old gun got fucked up and the sights were off a bit.

I just about started to tell it. Be thankful I stopped myself.

Haha well I'll explain my "overly shot" squirrel reference. I was using someone else's pump action BB rifle at first, and I didn't find out until after mutilating too many squirrels that the barrel was slightly bent. Once I got the same break action piston firing one that you have (crosman, right?) then things improved greatly. I really need to go on a ground squirrel rampage since they are digging the fuck out everything and multiplying like lab rats but I really hate having to kill animals so I'm going to hope that the house sells soon and they are someone else's problem.

I got a Marksman. I was surprised at how sturdy it is. It came with a pretty nice scope, too. For a pellet gun.

Good luck with the sale. When we finally move to our homestead property I'm going to want lots of squirrels around to test out our pressure canner.

Poor litle things! you should be thanking them to allow your home to be in their forest! :)
Sorry, I'm an animal lover vegetarian...

Well, I have a fantastic idea! I'll just cut all of the trees down. Problem solved.

Congratulations @profanereviews! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

poor creatures. Just trying to survive though. Bad ass gun you got there

Yeah, they are trying, but they are just like rats with a fluffy tail. They will destroy your house if you let them. When we move, we won't have trees so close to the house, and then they won't be bothering us as much.

Squirrels chewed a hole in my roof and set up shop in the attic. We had to pay a ton for tree trimming and repairs.

Yeah, I believe that. Unfortunately for me, we have a piece of the eave cut out and a two foot thick pine tree growing up through it. They have free access to the addition. Next summer I am getting a climbing tree stand and going to work on the trees.

I had them priced out and it will be over 10k to get a guy in to do it.

Sorry, squirrel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79