You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Steem NOT Steemit & A Discord Name Change

in #steempress6 years ago

This is great, @shadowspub. It brought me some clarity! I will introduce people first to the steem.com platform going forward.

The only snag is that people are typically interested in seeing what I'm doing with it. I can't send them to steem.com/@jayna, but I can send them to www.steemit.com/@jayna. And there they can see all of my activity across all of Steem -- steemit posts, Actifit posts, Partiko activity, Busy if I choose to post from there, and any other Steem-based apps and social sites I choose to take part in. So I'm not really ready to drop Steemit from the conversation. Any thoughts you may have on that are welcome.

Also, I have a question. I see you can set up an account on steem.com; silly me; I hadn't realized that! But if you click that, it takes you to account creation via Steemit. What do you think will happen with all of that (accounts being steemit based) if Steemit goes away?

Sort:  

You don't have to drop Steemit.com from the convo .. it's more important that people understand that Steemit.com is just an interface to the bigger picture. If you want, have them go to your profile on Busy.

Right now anyone signing up through steemit.com has a very small chance of their account actually getting activated. From comments I've seen from @paulag and others, there is an estimated backlog some where in the area of 4500 accounts waiting to be looked after.

There are other options @oracle-d has Steem Ninja, @ura-soul is creating @steempassport and @anomadsoul is working on @steemonboarding to not only get people onboard but to help them learn some of the basics before they get here.

Accounts are not Steemit based. They are on Steem, the blockchain. If steemit.com goes away or Steemit Inc for that matter, the accounts live on as long as there are Witnesses to run the blockchain.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44