Self Publishing: Designing the Cover/Writing the Blurb

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


I kind of dropped off of the face of the planet there for a few days. I got wrapped up in the holiday, then a bit of feeling under the weather... but MOSTLY I was busy re-reading and doing a first run through of the book I wrote this month! It's time to start wading through the research that needs to be done before self-publishing can really happen, if I want to do it right. First things first, EDITING. Then getting beta readers a copy to read through and for my part, designing a cover and writing a blurb.

I've written a blurb, finally. I swear it took me more time to figure out how to write the freaking blurb than it did to write the ENTIRE BOOK.

And it's not even DONE! It's just an absolute rough draft that I'm not even happy with. I also can't decide if I want to write the blurb in first person (like the story) or keep it in third person.

You never know what kind of trauma you can survive until you're forced to live your worst nightmare.

Lila Solomon is a typical 18 year old girl,
finishing up high school and looking forward
to the future... Until the day she wakes up
chained to the wall of a damp, dark cell in
the basement prison that will become her
new home. She makes a mark on the wall for
each day that she is kept prisoner to help
keep her sanity.

Lila must find the strength she never knew
she had to try and escape this new hell she is
living, before the abuse crushes her spirit
completely.

This is her story. Of pain, of trauma. Of
growth and finding her strength through it all.
*edited thanks to @fionasfavorites for pointing out my error!

Then I started with my original cover design idea and submitted it to the Indie Cover Project group on facebook for some feedback:


I used the template from Amazon/Kindle cover creator, which works like this (I layered it on top of my design and lowered the opacity so that I could make sure that the guide marks are where they're supposed to be)


Someone recommended adding a manacle or chains to the cover to give it a bit more of an interesting flavor. Another person recommended the 'punch' of the brighter yellow font. I did both and WOW. What a difference those few steps made!

Then, when I remove the template layer, I get this final product:


02-CoverBLURB-review-300.png

I was pretty freaking happy with that cover concept, so I went ahead and made a book mockup and a kindle mockup for facebook ads. I'm REALLY excited!!!





Annnnd... the book is going through it's first edit/beta reading right now. The feedback I'm getting is really positive!

"Your story is amazing. It's raw, brutal, and deeply moving in some not-so-comfortable ways. I think you have a real hit on your hands. Though I must say I understand how writing it was difficult. I've found myself thinking of it quite often today, so that's a good sign. You have a real knack for putting the psychology of it all into words without it being too much or too descriptive. You've done a truly remarkable job of finding that balance where the reader has to put themselves in her shoes whether they like it or not. You've managed to capture it in a way that just seems so.... Real. The way it is right now it reads more like journal entries or a post-event download. I'm afraid that refining the few places that could be worded 'better' (as I'm sure a snobby English person would insist on) might take away from the realism that is so damn captivating."

black.png

Other Fiction

Creepy Short Story:

THUMB-TheBnB-cover-1269908_1920.jpg


Creepy Short Story:

Thumb-365Days-Jacob-04.jpg


A fun series: Letters from a Boat Cat!

23-Tempest-hideandseek.png

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source at the bottom of my post (Or in the case of linked thumbnail cover photos in the sig, they are sourced at the original post).
.
byn-sig.png

Photo Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://bynalways.com/2018/11/28/self-publishing-designing-the-cover-writing-the-blurb/

Sort:  

How very cool. I agree with the pop of yellow and the manacle on the cover. You mentioned you are self-publishing. How are you planning to get your work in front of readers?

That is the hardest part. I have been delving into the marketing side of things off and on for months. I finally had to put that aside and just write for a while. NOW it's back to the marketing skills. A lot of research, key words, newsletter growing, facebook ads, etc. I'm not really sure exactly which things I'm am going to do. I had to step back from worrying about that part so I could actually write something to market! It is one of those things that is such a flood of information. I would learn one thing that led to 4 other things and those 4 things each led to 3 more things... it's chaos!

I'm sure it can be quite overwhelming. I know one of the #steemitbloggers is a marketing genius by trade, but I can't quite remember which one.

Well done, it's the stuff of dreams and I hope you go far...

Thank you! I'm hoping I can do it well enough to see some sales! I appreciate the support!

Congratulations @byn! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

YOU ARE AWESOME!

Hmmm, that chain suggestion was a good one for sure. Find out who the guy was and say him good work :D I'm just wondering, who are usually these beta readers? I guess it's family or? My father has just written a travel memoirs and sent it to my and my sis and told us that if we don't finish it till Christmas, we're not allowed into house hahah :D (explanation - we both study abroad)

#steemitbloggers

You can find beta readers in facebook groups or on reddit communities for that kind of thing. I'm kind of floundering on that part, because I've had beta readers for my romance/erotica, but this is an entirely different genre, so I'm having to kind of scour for them since it's a whole new level of story.

My husband is going to be a beta reader (mostly because he's an awesome editor) and I have one other person who loves the genre who is going to read through it for me as well. I'm still looking for a few others. I've had a couple of people here on steemit who have been following my journey with this who have offered their services as well.

Good luck to your father! I hope you get your reading done so you can have Christmas :) Your dad sounds awesome, because that's exactly the kind of thing I would do!

Hmmmm :D How much erotica is that book? If quite a lot, I might join the beta readers club hahhah :D Yepp my father is suuupercool :D

This book is ZERO erotica, just psychological thriller/drama. :) I do have others that are pretty hardcore erotica, but I don't really publicize those on here!

You are absolutely amazing.!!! Tell you a secret...i need to go check out what is blurb. So you know I am never a writer as in the real novel writer. But joining 5-minutes freewrite helps me realise writing is so much fun.

Sending you much love.
MomentCam_20181129154740.gif

#NovMadFan

These last 6 months have been a whirlwind of learning ever since I started trying to learn about self publishing! I'm horrible at writing a blurb (the synopsis on the back of the book that should make you want to read it!) because I never read them myself. I literally judge a book on its cover and just open a book to read it based on the cover photo!

Thank you for the support!

This sounds like an absolutely heartbreaking novel. I wish you all the best with your sales.

It was honestly really hard to write. I kept trying to ignore this story (it came up during a freewrite months ago), but it wouldn't leave me alone. I'm glad to have it finished now!

Ooooh! And...
Woohooo! you did it! This is so exciting!

I love your cover and the title. I completely understand the struggle with the blurb, and I have to say that the shift in tenses really jarred. So much so, that it made me not want to continue reading. Just a thought: you might want to ask one of your beta readers to write the blurb. Perhaps a different perspective might help? As I say, just a suggestion....take it from whence it comes :D

UGH! I am so annoyed with myself for missing that. I guess I should have stuck with JUST the cover editing, because I didn't pay much attention to the blurb. I was trying to write SOMETHING to post to the group that helps with blurb advice and totally missed that. Thanks for pointing it out.

I'm going to just let it be until I hear back from the two beta readers I found. Maybe they will have a better idea. Thanks for the suggestion. I really don't even read blurbs. Like, ever. I hate reading blurbs/watching movie trailers, etc. because it always gives so much away. I'm really struggling to find a balance and failing miserably!

I think that's a good idea to give it a rest. I always read blurb. Not always every word, but I do. When I travelled a lot on business I always bought books - often in a hurry - and scanning the blurb was essential. A good blurb is a seller in my mind.

Good luck. You will get it right, I am sure!

I'm so excited for you @byn
I can't wait to get my hands on this book ... for real :D

Thank you! I'm sure I'll be posting about the anxiety of actually putting it out there once that time comes! I really appreciate the support!

Congratulations and that looks like an awesome book cover - great feedback on there as well! Keep us updated on it, all that hard work with something tangible - go and frame it :)

I will! Thank you. I'll definitely get a copy for myself and put it on the shelf right in front of my face :)

I would do EXACTLY the same 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

well done byn, what an achievement. I also compiled a book but have not been able to get it published yet, I need the formatting done and cover design finalised! what a huge undertaking

I am astounded at how much 'other' stuff there is to do! I got so overwhelmed with all of the marketing side of things, that I pretty much stopped writing for months. This was my "I'm going to ignore every other aspect until I'm finished writing" challenge. NOW back to all the tedious stuff!!! It is such a huge undertaking. I can't wait until the day that I have a budget to pay someone else to help with some of it!

my biggest issue right now is the cover of the book. I dont want it to look like every other book on amazon but its a difficult subject / topic to work with! I am all out of ideas right now

Well, the thing is that as far as marketing/sales goes, you probably DO want your cover to look very similar to those that are selling. People definitely choose books because they look like the others that they like.

I highly recommend joining this group if you're on facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/20CoversTo50k/
They have so much helpful advice. I've learned a LOT just from reading their comments/critiques of other people's work.

thanks so much for the link I will join this group!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23