Bank Error in your favour, Collect $100,000. The Steempower Fugitive!

in #steempower6 years ago

It happened to me yesterday.  As some of you that really follow my blog's (maybe 2 of you and a bunch of robots), I started my own construction company a few months ago after a television style trainwreck of a Christmas party.  See this for more on that: https://steemit.com/life/@allcapsonezero/why-i-quit-my-job-sexual-harassment-and-abuse-should-not-stand

Well, business has been decent and we are still on the right side of the line.  Yesterday we were working on the mid-month payroll when we logged into the business account.  We looked like we were doing fantastic!  There was a check for $100,000 deposited into our bank account on April 10.  I secure all of the work and collect all of the checks, and I know darn well that we didn't have $100,000 coming to us (we do... I am thinking positive, but you know what I mean).  That was April 13.  So, somebody gave somebosy else $100K and both people didn't even realize that I had it... for 3 days!!!  What a ridiculous mistake.

It felt really good.  I contemplated taking it all out, buying $90,000 worth of steempower, a new laptop and a couple of plane tickets to Thailand, where I could live off of blogging and $5 pad thai.  I could enjoy the poolside, room service and all of that good stuff.  All I would need to do is write some quality content daily and all would be great.  (I am sure my upvote would be deadly with $90,000 worth of steempower, does anyone know what it would be worth or have a link to an upvote calculator?).

We talked to the bank today.  Easy come, easy go.  We had $100,900 in the bank this morning, and now, we only have $900.  On the bright side, our bills are paid, we have a job complete which means more money is coming in, and we have a job starting early next week.  I think we are going to make it!  It is also good that I didn't become the "Steempower Fugitive."   

Could you imagine what it would have been like if I did in fact take out that $100,000 and go?  My Canadian identity would be a wanted criminal.  Theft of $100,000.  Bank fraud.  I am sure I would have to stay in Thailand, or at least out of Canada until Canada ceases to exist. (So maybe 10 years or so ;).  It would be pretty sweet writing high quality posts poolside while eating $5 Pad Thai's and converting SBD into hotel expenses.  I would be a fugitive.  The Steempower Fugitive!

As it stands, I am honest, nearly broke, working my ass off, and still writing that high quality content... not poolside though.  I ate perogies tonight... that is just about as good as $5 Pad Thai.  Life is good, and I can still be here in Canada... where it is supposed to snow tomorrow :|

Sort:  

The bank should be grateful that you are such an honest man, otherwise you'd be basking in your steem power wealth by now, writing high quality content by the pool while eating $5 pad thai.

What happened to the promised land and Canadian streets paved with gold? As for me, I'd wait for the day that I'd be basking in my steem power wealth while eating poutine lol.

The streets are paved in snow. Still. I am not happy about that. I am an outdoor worker and it has been below zero for nearly 6 months straight. A LOOONNG winter even for our standards.

$5 pad thai sounds pretty good, and writing quality content poolside. It is the steem dream. Some day soon. (FYI, the steem dream could easily be swapped out to be called steem poutine, the poutine steem dream, dream-steem poutine... the possibilities are endless).

FYI, the steem dream could easily be swapped out to be called steem poutine, the poutine steem dream, dream-steem poutine... the possibilities are endless

True that!

you are learning. double the comments... double the dollars. One step closer to the poutine-steem-dream!

likewise lol. Win-win.

Hey, we also eat maple syrup you know... Not necessarily on poutine though...

"maybe 2 of you and a bunch of robots"

Am I being surrounded by robots? :)

ps. are you big fan of Thailand? I used to live there for 5 years (studying muay thai)

"My Canadian identity would be a wanted criminal. Theft of $100,000. Bank fraud. I am sure I would have to stay in Thailand, or at least out of Canada until Canada ceases to exist. (So maybe 10 years or so ;)."

Do you have passport valid for that many years? If not then running away from your country would not help much any more. Immigration in thailand and many other countries is becoming nightmare.

Good point. I don't even have a passport. Check my blog for that story.

You are surrounded by robots. Absolutely surrounded.

I have never been to Thailand, I just know that it is super cheap as a place to stay, live, loiter, or retire.

you mind sharing link to post about you not having passport ? damn. thats unique.

Thailand used to be cheap. Not any more. Their currency is very strong lately and they introduced many taxes. I would say that within 2-3 years cost of staying in thailand went up by 50-80%

San francisco?
thx for link :) going to check it out now. I see it's quite an old post

Great story! Its also funny how fast the banks pull the money out when realizing the mistake; if it was the other way (that someone took money out), they would takes days or weeks to investigate before giving it back.

By the way, at $2.50 per STEEM, 40k SP would give you about $6.82 per 100% upvote:
Screen Shot 2018-04-15 at 12.28.35 AM.png
Simulated by steemworld.org

That looks like one self upvote = 1 pad thai a day! The Steempower fugitive would be eating GOOD!

Thanks for the upvote info!

Hey there -- I guess we’re not in any of the same Discord groups because I don’t have your contact over there. My apologies for contacting via comment, haha. Anyways! I just started up a group for interdisciplinary artists--focusing on quality curation, maybe some live performance, and more. I know you’ve done and are doing some awesome things...and would love to have you pop in as we get started. Here’s our Discord: https://discord.gg/7axky See you around!

This is good. I really haven't done any discord-ing yet, but perhaps it is a good time to start. That group sounds pretty cool!

that invite has expired :/

https://discord.gg/fFySc

Try this one, sorry about that! So far it’s a lovely crew forming, would be great to have you in on the chats going on about what artists need on steemit to thrive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82