[Survey]Is it wrong to sell votes on Steemit?

in #steempoll7 years ago (edited)

I have seen a couple of platforms selling Steemit votes, I wrote a piece about the morality of selling votes a while ago but I believe it is still relevant, you can find it here.

For now, I wanted to get a feel of how the community feels on this issue so I created a Twitter Poll to find out:

selling votes.png

Its a simple yes or no survey but you can elaborate on the comment section if you feel it is necessary.

Sort:  

We need to leave all options opened. Self voting on posts and comments, whaleshares, vote buying and all kind of other stuff which I don't even know about. There is no bad or good behavior. Steemit code allow all this so let people to try out and decide. FREE MARKET , BABY!

Steemit is a giant experiment on the future of social networks. In my opinion, it's too early to judge vote selling on steemit.

In real life, we recoil from the thought of vote selling, but this is a totally different context.

Let's collect some data from the experiment and see what conclusions we can draw once we get enough data points!

So my vote on your question is going to be NO, its not wrong, for now. And maybe we can reframe the question from how do we feel about it, to, are we willing to give it a chance and see what the affect of it is? For that question, I say YES. :-)

steemiobot Steemio tweeted @ 08 Jul 2017 - 15:26 UTC

Is selling votes on Steemit Wrong? /// Está mal vender tus votos de Steemit?

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

You are spending your money on the wrong stuff, but I don't mind.

i think it's good for new steemians

This comment has received a 0.15 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

The Scales of Judgement which weigh the balances between your right and wrong and mine seem to be similar, as voting is set up to be the tool which allows for the right to freely choose. However some have chosen to sell that right for filthy lucre and profit.

I will say no
It decreases the creativity and originality of your post

I am mixed on this. On one side it is a service provided which is part of the economy here. I try and assist fellow minnows by showing them how to use these services in posts like this...

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/ways-to-print-money-with-upvotes-steem-printer

I would say no because it feeds the need for greed. The greed the grows is never good for a community.

useful post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74