The 5 o'clock Habit

in #steemph6 years ago

My daughter and I have just discovered a new habit. I'd like to call it the 5 o'clock habit. Once she wakes up from siesta, I will stop whatever I am doing so we could go outside, just in front of the house to play, water the plants, wait for planes, count the birds, and just simply enjoy the sunset. Today, I'd like to show you some of the plants I have in my mini garden.

The Oregano Branch

image

Two weeks ago my mother gave me branches of oregano that she pruned from her plant at home. I had asked for it because I learned that oregano is a good mosquito repellant. Me and my daughter have been having problems with mosquitoes so I've been planting a lot of citrus plants. But when butterflies come over, they lay eggs and the leaves get eaten by caterpillars so it's kinda not doing its purpose.

I was expecting an oregano plant already planted in soil. But no. She gave me some four or five branches of oregano. It's a good thing the soil in my compost pit is ready for planting that week. I wasn't sure if I could grow them but since it's there, might as well give it a try.

image

I'm so glad to see new baby leaves starting to grow! Woot! Woot!!!

Kangkong

There's a reason why kangkong in english is called water spinach. I found out today that they require a lot of water. And I mean A LOT of water. I have tried planting them on plant pots before. Once they start growing big, they also start to dry out. It's because they're always thirsty. This time, I wanted to make sure they'll grow so I put them on a different kind of pot. I cut a 1.5L sprite bottle in half and I put the top part on top of the bottom part. This way, the water will stay on the bucket below the plant.

image

Now that they're growing more and more leaves, they tend to dry up the water at the bottom by afternoon. It may also be because it is unbelievably hotter these past few days.

image

Oooh I know I'll be cooking Kangkong Adobo anytime soon! So exciting!!!

Tomato, tomato, baby Tomato!

My babies are growing up too! The last time I planted tomatoes, they withered after giving me three fruits. That was because my time was not focused at home. This time I am seriously watching them. I make sure to remove any grass that grows near them.

image

This is proving to be a very nice habit for me and my daughter. I enjoy watering and watching my plants while she enjoys waiting for airplanes amd waving at them.

image

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥


image


image

Sort:  

Thank you for showing some insight into your garden! That is awesome that your oregano cuttings are alive and producing new leaves. I planted some oregano from seed here and it didn’t do anything! The Kangkong is new to me, does it taste like ‘normal’ spinach?

Kangkong has a distinct leafy taste. I can't remember how the usual spinach tastes because I haven't really cooked any spinach recipe so far. Maybe because kangkong is more common than spinach here in my place. I'll try to cook spinach one of these days, I'll definitely share the experience.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Am growing 3 tomatoes in a plastic gallon too, and it grows to almost 2 feet now, i am wondering if I can see fruit of it soon, hopefully. The challenge here in the city is almost the lack of compost or source of organic materials. Cemented everywhere here, but still not stopping me to plant. Good luck to my herbs and yours too.

I made a compost pit in a pail a couple of months ago. It reduced the waste in our household to 1 bag per week, and my plants are using the soil now. You might want to give it a try. :-)

Yes, I do saved my kitchen scraps , but it takes longer to rot without soil in it. So I made it like a compost tea and use it to water the pots.

What a great idea. The worst thing is when you forget about your plants and go out two days later to a disaster! Your daily habit will pay off in the gardening and for your daughter!

She's starting to enjoy our mini garden actually. On the first days, she was too curious she was pulling the leaves. My avocado suffered 5 abused leaves because of it. But she knows now to just gently touch the leaves and just enjoy watching the caterpillars and worms.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52