ULOG #17: Composting | A Perfect Way to Make Good Use of Waste

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180904_095319.jpg

It has been three weeks since the dump truck in our community limited their trash collection schedule to Thursdays and Mondays. That's twice a week, which means within 5 days, I'll be accumulating a lot of trash! I can just go ahead and put the trash outside the house but still inside the gate while waiting for the dump truck but then accumhlated trash is still accumulated trash. I knew I needed to do something.

I need to minimize the waste my house produces. Which is why I started using ecobags when doing my groceries. But then I thought that was still not enough. I am still have a lot of trash that needs to be disposed of.

Then I came upon a post in facebook about composting in a pail. I thought I'd give it a try. I cook a lot and almost half of my trash are from vegetable scraps and peelings. Her instructions are simple. I just modified a couple of steps to my convenience.

The first step is to find a pail and put holes in it. I used brute force to poke holes into my pail since I don't have a soldering rod and I don't like the smell of burning or heated plastic.

20180903_110812.jpg
So I just poked holes in the pail randomly. The pail I used as old and brittle so I had to be careful not to split the bottom entirely.

Then I cut the peelings and vegetable scraps as instructed for easier breakdown.

20180903_111714.jpg

Then the next step is to cut thr brown papers into smaller pieces. Since I don't have brown papers, I cut the used milk boxes. I have a lot of those because my daughter is formula fed.

20180903_112347.jpg

Once you have your small pieces of vegetable scraps and peelings plus your shreded papers, you can go ahead and mix them together with the soil. You need the paper to help keep the mixture not too damp. But it also shouldn't be too dry.

20180903_112521.jpg

Mix them very well. Cover the mixture to prevent insects from going into your compost. It will also help keep the moisture.

You can then go ahead and add scraps/peelings, paper and soil everyday. I started this yesterday. It'll take three months before I can start using it for planting.

Can't wait to see the result!

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

ROMESKIE.gif


image




Discord link

romeskie.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Seems like a brilliant idea, Rome. But lol, 3 months of wait?
Hoping to see the final result (after 3 mos) and how you'll use the compost in gardening.

I know! But you can't really say... 3 months will pass by so fast. That's what the facebook post said. Who knows my compost will be ready to use by next month. LOL! I have a mini vegetable farm on pots here at home. I have chillis, citrus, ginger and sweet potato. I'll give tomatoes a try one more time. Haha. I'll keep you posted. 😉

Awesome, with the high prices of vegetables XD having your own garden is a huge advantage.
Plus, you'll know that the food you grow is safe and healthy. Great job

May compost pit ako! Apir tayo @romeskie!

Nice! Apir! Excited akong makita ang resulta nitong compost pit ko eh. Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52