Building Powerful Kids #5 - Parent from values not behavior

in #steemparents7 years ago

IMG_3510.JPG

Kids brains are incredible. Always growing - always adjusting - always filtering per their experiences.

In a really weird way - they are "always watching you".

For you parents out there, how many times have you had the shocking experience that says "crap, they learned that from me"

I remember my youngest playing with a walkie talkie during dinner one time. I asked him to put his toy away (no toys at the table), and he tells me, without looking up - "Dad! I'm sending a text message"

Innocent - but the disrespect of 1. not putting the toy up and 2. not even looking up at me was shocking - the kid is sending a text message @ age 2 with a toy walkie talkie!

He Learned That From ME!

Kids are always watching. There is no moment as a parent that you can turn off the parenting function. You can take a walk and remove yourself temporarily from your children, but even that kids notice. Their brains are filtering in the experience, mostly sub-consciously and they are learning a mode of operation.

Do you like what you are teaching them?

Pretty sobering question. My question for you today is are you parenting from values or from behavior manipulation?

Take cleaning your room for example. I have a 9 and 7 year old that experience immediate trauma every Saturday morning when its cleaning day. The overwhelming task of picking up toys and putting our clean laundry away is like fighting piranhas. Early on, this created insta frustration in my wife and I. The task requires about 7 minutes of focus...maybe. What do we do?

Early on I was quite forceful in my tone and their need to buck up and do their job. This ended with behavior compliance, but an incredible lack of understanding of why. You see my kids were learning that to get something done you needed to be forceful. I remember seeing this, when I started watching my sweet 9 year old (she was a bit younger then) reading on the couch to her brother before bed one night. They are pretty comfortable and up walks the youngest (who is a bulldozer of a kid). He begins trying to force his way in to read with them. My daughter reacts with a rather forcible "Not right now Cole we are reading!" It was an incredibly out of context, emotional response that brought on a physical conflict as Cole was experiencing rejection.

Unfortunately, my daughter learned that from me.

She was responding to her younger brother out of what she learned from me. To get him to behave she needed to be forceful.

As my wife and I started noticing these things asking the question why (over the course of 6 months or so) we begin crafting the language of wanting to parent from values, and not behavior.

Our Saturday morning cleaning day has moved from grit our teeth and bear it - to now we as a family take care of our house because we want to be responsible. Our children have begun (for the most part - the piranhas still show up on occasion) volunteering for jobs they want to do. As a result they have begun taking on a value of responsibility. They are wanting to take care of our things, they are wanting to clean because they are apart of our family. Saturdays are now much more peaceful.

This is a small example. There are many places this comes about. Like sharing, most of us parents leading up to playdates are like "crap, I hope my kids doesn't freak out and hit a kid, or rip a toy from another kid". What would it look like if our parenting moved away from "you need to share!" to "hey what are some ways we can be a good friend at this play date". Again, trying to parent them from the value of friendship and not behavior compliance.

Parenting from values and not behavior is incredibly empowering and life giving for any kid at any age. Obviously you as parent help with age appropriate guidelines, but the point is behavior compliance to get through the day will not set up any kid to be powerful. Powerful kids learn values from their parents and their behavior follows.

067A7154.jpg

Now, if you are thinking "I am screwing up my kid" we all have been there, and I feel the same way at times. Let me encourage you to use the value of repentance. Ask your kid/s to forgive you in your frustration/anger or whatever. Parenting brings out the worst in all of us. Our kids see the genuine value of repentance just as mush as our anger. They will and can take on that value as well.

Parents, lets stay the course - its absolutely worth it! Our kids are priceless and will be the future authors of history!

As always thanks for reading! Live Big today and Dominate Life!

Sort:  

So true, kids are copy-cats. They copy whatever they see from the people they look up to.
I had very similar experiences, I saw behaviours in my children I disliked, just to notice later, that they were only copying me.
When I realized that, I stopped "educating" them, but we "merely" were buddies. A couple of weeks later I saw enormous changes in their behaviour. And we never had a father-child relation again, but always a buddy-buddy relation.
Later, when my daughters were born, I immediately started with this approach and never ever, not even one single time, experienced any problems in their behaviour.

thanks for sharing! I still totally want to be their Father first and friend second, but I am really glad thats working well for you! I have found that often times my kids are unable to articulate what they are picking up or why they are doing what they are doing. So helping them see the values before they get into a situation is really important! thanks for reading along

You are welcome. Of course I am still their father:) But our relationship is a much better one.

Are you always able to explain why you are doing what you are doing:)) Seriously, I got your point and it's very important to help them see values. An if you help them now they will be able to see this values without your help in the future.

haha totally not able to explain everything - check out one of my first powerful parenting articles - i think i called it power of the nickname - it definitely plays more into the buddy concept your talking about!

Haha:) I'll check it out.

When my oldest was maybe 5 or 6 (so 2003 or 4), he came to me one day and said, "Mommy, I know it's not ok to kill people, but wouldn't it be ok to just kill Dick Cheney?" That's when I knew it was time to tone down my rhetoric.

Anyway, funny stories aside, I totally get you. It's more attachment parenting and less authoritarian parenting. It works better, and it feels better. I want my kids to follow me because we respect each other and they trust the value of my words and my judgement, not because they're afraid or intimidated.

hilarious - thanks for reading!

You're welcome. And likewise. Glad I could make you laugh.

Wonderful post. Thank you.

you bet - glad you enjoyed it

Congratulations @breakthrough! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breakthrough from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52