You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building Powerful Kids #5 - Parent from values not behavior

in #steemparents7 years ago

So true, kids are copy-cats. They copy whatever they see from the people they look up to.
I had very similar experiences, I saw behaviours in my children I disliked, just to notice later, that they were only copying me.
When I realized that, I stopped "educating" them, but we "merely" were buddies. A couple of weeks later I saw enormous changes in their behaviour. And we never had a father-child relation again, but always a buddy-buddy relation.
Later, when my daughters were born, I immediately started with this approach and never ever, not even one single time, experienced any problems in their behaviour.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing! I still totally want to be their Father first and friend second, but I am really glad thats working well for you! I have found that often times my kids are unable to articulate what they are picking up or why they are doing what they are doing. So helping them see the values before they get into a situation is really important! thanks for reading along

You are welcome. Of course I am still their father:) But our relationship is a much better one.

Are you always able to explain why you are doing what you are doing:)) Seriously, I got your point and it's very important to help them see values. An if you help them now they will be able to see this values without your help in the future.

haha totally not able to explain everything - check out one of my first powerful parenting articles - i think i called it power of the nickname - it definitely plays more into the buddy concept your talking about!

Haha:) I'll check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49