And then I blinked!

in #steemparents7 years ago

Seven years ago today, I became a mother for the first time. I will never forget that day and can't believe how quickly time went by. He was 13 months old when we welcomed his baby sister into the world and by his third birthday, he had a baby brother too.

It's safe to say that I have my hands full!

By now I am an expert at feeding children and changing diapers! I can easily change a diaper blindfolded, with my hands tied behind my back....pfffft...not really, but let's just say that I can do it blindfolded.

I can only speak for parents of 3 children. Those who have more have all my respect!
The "parent-paranoia" differs from firstborn to lastborn. With a firstborn, you try to do everything by the book. Each time the pacifier touches something other than the baby's mouth, you run to wash and sterilize it.


Source

With baby number 2, you've already seen that baby number 1 didn't fall sick after sucking his fingers while crawling on the kitchen floor, so the pacifier gets a quick rinse under the tap and gets sterilized once a day, maybe, but only when it touches the floor.
Last borns - well, IF there is a pacifier and it wasn't stolen from his mouth by toddler number 2, it will probably get a rinse once a day and get sterilized the next morning because you're too tired to do it tonight.

What a day it was when we had to throw away the last few unused diapers. I had mixed feelings that day - both happy and sad that it was over...hmmm, okay no, honestly, I was smiling while having mixed feelings about it. It was great to be able to carry a handbag again instead of a diaper bag. I'm still carrying wet wipes, but that's it.

With that being said, they still grow up way too fast.

They are born...THEN YOU BLINK...and the next thing you know, they're big. We celebrated his 7th birthday today and it hit me between the eyes: He is growing up! I blinked!!! Reality comes knocking at the door saying: What have you done with the time?


Source

Soon they'll all be moody teenagers and I've been playing "policeman" all this time, wasting my time on cooking, cleaning and keeping them from killing each other. Even though I want them to be independent, I still want them to enjoy the innocence of childhood...It reminds me of this poem that I've seen shared many times before and each time it speaks to me.


Reality check

Enjoy it while it lasts!


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

They do grow so fast! A blink - niece is 25 and nephew 23 yrs.... Both working...!!! 🙄

Times flies when your are having fun

Wow, you make it sound fun but still remain the serious mother, experienced though. It's always tough when they are all over the place, it a blessing have the first and last born with one in the middle.

Oh man! What a beautiful poem! I got all teary eyed reading that! My little man turns 8 in 25 days and counting.... in fact he created a little count down chart the other day to monitor the days until his 8th birthday! hehehe!

It all goes by too fast!!! I love the age he is at now... independent but still needs his mommy...

They are such precious little gifts in our lives and also our greatest teachers!!!!

Such a wonderful share @bdmomuae xxx

I can't decide for myself whether that poem is scary or beautiful. It breaks my heart when I read it each and every time.
Thanks for reading @jaynie ;-)

I suppose, in a way - it is a little bit of both xxx

Scary to see how quickly they grow up @bdmomuae. Happy birthday Dian. Awesome post.

True @busybeee. Really scary! Thanks for making his day special, you guys are awesome!

By the time the last one is born, you just don't care anymore... Whatever they say it's like- "Sure, you can go with your friends jumping off bridges onto freight trains- just be back in time for dinner."

Then you become a grandparent and when your kids make all the same mistakes you made it's like- "What's wrong with you, what were you thinking letting your child go out in the yard alone. I don't care if there's a privacy fence and nobody can see them- it's dangerous!"

Take it from me, 7 kids, 15 grand kids, 1 great-grandson (2 in Nov.) and a third due on Christmas!

You definitely seem like an awesome grandparent. I'm actually much like you in a way- I would be the one saying that to my husband for letting the kids go out in the yard alone. I'm paranoid, I just am. Want to watch them like a hawk every second.

Gaaahhh! That poem got me all teared up (before the third line, even).

Reality comes knocking at the door saying: What have you done with the time?

My oldest turns 4 soon. Since her birth, I've learned one computer programming language and how to pick simple locks. I've also recently taken up knot-tying, but have only learned about 5.

Before she came along, I was an insomniac who drank too much and played video games all night long. Funny how the things you thought you never wanted are the things that save you, in the end.

Great post. <3

Wow @dodecahydra That is quite an impressive story. It's great that you have been "rescued" by your own child. Amazing!

What an awesome post bvmomuae it is so true , that it is actually funny. My last babywas born in 1972 so I assure you they grow up very fast. But believe me the older they get the faster it passes. Miss my babies even being old now.

Yes @bigbear. I can't imagine my own children being all grown one day. I think it's sad for any parent. My mind can't think that far yet, or maybe I just don't want to :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59631.75
ETH 2622.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41