I Was Mistaken as A Snatcher Last Sinulog!

in #steemnulog7 years ago (edited)

DQmSkAGt5d8rQpFrAZTgMBnxPfV1Dy81uRmCuMDKeteKSrt.jpeg
CEBU STEEMIANS. Photo session at the center of the road. Image courtesy of @jassennessaj.

Hello Steemians!

With the success of #steemnulog campaign, I bet you have seen a lot of posts about it already. Allow me to add this post into the list, but this is not an ordinary post that documents how the event went. As the likes of @ninyea, @josejirafa, @maimaimaichan, and many others have posted about #steemnulog already, their posts will give you a glimpse of what happened during the event proper. I was there also and I had a great time. I had a great time making fun of @jassennessaj and chatting with old and new faces. One thing is for sure, the steemit community in Cebu has been growing exponentially.

Before I'll tell you my story, let me ask this question first: "Should I consider a re-branding or an image overhaul?". Please let me know in the comments below. Any answer would suffice as I intend to make this post humorous. But even if this is like my demise, please take note that there is a lot to learn from this experience.

Allow me to tell the story from the very beginning. Here we go!

The day before Sinulog, I decided to be at the venue (which was across Santo Rosario Parish Church) at 7:00 AM. But because I was so engrossed in writing my post that time, I slept at 4:30 AM, so I woke up at 10:00 AM. I'm always like that; changing plans when I wanted it to be. Since I was late based on my schedule, I requested my father to drop me at Ayala. From Ayala, I walked to Mango Avenue and then to Fuente. That was the worst route to traverse during Sinulog!

Since that decision was the worst, I just played along and watched the parade on the street while walking at the sidewalk. Whenever local celebrities and actors pass by, people would stop walking and I would be stuck in a sea of people. Not to mention the sweat and body odor that effused from the bodies, including mine. I had a slight difficulty in breathing as I felt claustrophobic. I just distracted myself by observing people's behavior. That's what I always do to keep my focus.

It was 11:30 already when I reached Fuente. My t-shirt was already drenched in sweat as I continued to walk that wet and slightly muddy road. That was the effect of the rain the night before, aggravated by the people walking to reach their desired location. Good thing I was able to reach Jones Avenue, considering the number of roadblocks at Osmeña Circle.

Another hurdle to overcome was when no one's allowed to cross at the corner of Abellana National School, going to Cebu City Sports Complex. The only way to reach P. Del Rosario Street is to take a detour to Urgello and then to Emall. That's what I did! It took me another couple of minutes to reach Emall and then to Landbank, near Sto. Rosario Parish Church.

I reached Jollibee, near USC (University of San Carlos) Downtown Campus and @steemph.cebu's booth was just across that street. I was so near and yet, it felt so far! It was about 12:45 PM and I haven't reached my destination yet. Since I had to cross the street, I waited for the contingents to pass. I kept my head high to see what's going on across the street. That's when the incident happened.

As I always looked at the other side, I protected my sling bag since I knew there might be snatchers in the area. There was this old lady in front of me. Little did I know, she was with someone else. I think it was her daughter. That other lady, called out my attention and ordered me to stay away from them! I questioned why because there was very little space among those sea of people who were watching the parade. She said that I just have to stay away from them. She even murmured that someone might take the candies in their bags. That's when I realized I was mistaken as snatcher by that lady.

I never realized how haggard I looked from that journey. I just thought I would be just like anyone else who was trying to get to their desired destinations. Anyway, since that incident, here are a few of my realizations:

Appearance really matters.

I'm not saying that we should undergo surgery just to look like our idolized celebrities. What I want to emphasize in this context is more on how we present ourselves to others. Before, I really don't care of how I look. As long as I'm comfortable, I don't care if people will judge me. After that incident, I realized that I should begin to take care of myself.

When with strangers, our first impressions will be the basis of our judgments.

It's not being judgmental; it's just how things work. While I was hurt a little bit by that incident, I did not blame that woman. I was just protecting my bag and my belongings just like them. No matter, I was being judged and I guess I'm partly to blame for that. She must have found my actions and movements suspicious on top of my haggard appearance.

No matter how successful or rich you are, people have something bad to say against you. Always.

I'm not saying I'm successful or rich. I'm still working on my way up. But in that incident, my ego was hurt because I thought I might have more money in my bag than they are. That's why I'm always protecting it.(Char! Hambugero!). In reality, people always have something to say against you. Even if you're genuinely good, people might construe that as being trying hard or showy.

Celebrities maintain their appearance because it's their asset to get ahead.

While I was in still in Fuente, local celebrities like Mark Herras, Max Collins, Regine Tolentino, Edgar Allan Guzman, and Joross Gamboa, among others, were too busy in their parade float. They were promoting local skin care products which were part of their brand endorsements. Sinulog became an avenue for products to be advertised considering the number of people who participates in the festival.

Little did I know that those scenes in Fuente would become a prelude to my story. In that sense, no matter how we assert that we should look at what's in the heart of a person, we can't help but notice their appearance. That's why celebrities undergo great lengths just to maintain their look, even if it means undergoing surgery.

Disclaimer: I might be flawed in my thinking, so please let me know in the comments if you have something to say about this. I am open for constructive arguments. Please don't hesitate to point out flaws in my write up.



I would like to add here what happened after; when I was finally able to meet my fellow steemian.

Here's another story.


STEEMNULOG = STEEMIT + SINULOG
@steemph.cebu's Promotional Initiative


IMG_20180131_174018.jpg
STEEMNULOG BANNER

@steemph.cebu's Steemit promotional campaign during Sinulog was a blast!

It took me 3 hours to arrive to the venue from Ayala; an adventure in itself which would only take 30 minutes if it was a normal day. My feet were already throbbing, but it was gone when I saw familiar faces. Well, the pain was not really gone, I just chose to ignore it. I realized that all my misadventures and misdirections were all worth it. I immediately demanded my Sinulog shirt since as I was drenched in sweat (Demanding!).

IMG20180121125637.jpg
MANDATORY SELFIE. With my Lodis @smaeunabs and @jassennessaj.

After a few minutes of acclimatization to the area, I started to chit chat with @smaeunabs, @jassennessaj, @nikkabomb, and @josejirafa. Of course, selfies were taken! It was a crazy afternoon as curious passers examined the booth. Some even asked questions and the steemians actively answer them. Hair braiding was spearheaded by @fernwehninja's friend, @purpletanzanite. They offered it at a reasonable price so it added a great vibe to the area since people were waiting for their turn to be braided. That scene attracted more passers who were curious to discover what's new.

IMG20180121132105.jpg
@purpletanzanite's hair braiding business

IMG_20180131_174620.jpg
INKING SESSION. Henna tattoo of steemit logo and username by @josejirafa.

A few moments later, it was my turn to be inked by @josejirafa's henna tattoo gig. That man has a talent; he's just too modest to admit it.

IMG20180121132258.jpg
@smaeunabs, @nikkabomb, and @thefairlady with their new recruit

After the tattoo session, I engaged with other steemians who were new to the platform. It was an interesting experience for me. Of course, photos were taken at the middle of the street where people are dashing back forth.

IMG20180121134906.jpg
SURVIVE! @nikkabomb and @smaeunabs with their recruit.

More than the Sinulog vibe, it's more of meeting new friends and having fun with them is what makes the experience worth remembering.

More selfies:

IMG_20180131_181810.jpg
With @smaeunabs, @rafael.espina, and @nikkabomb.

IMG20180121130137.jpg
With @joancabz and @ninyea.

Cheers to @steemph.cebu's greater influence in the global arena!

Cheers to my image overhaul! (I wish!)

Cheers to you who never judged a person based on first impressions!

IMG_20180121_232534.jpg

Hanggang sa muli,
Kim, @ybanezkim26

Sort:  

It is human nature to pass judgment. I'm reading this book right now called Blink by Malcolm Gladwell and he says that though we think it takes minutes, even hours to analyze a person/thing/situation, a part of our brain can make judgments (thin-slice) in two seconds.

Also, have you considered wearing eyeglasses to change your image? 😂😂

I did! All the time. But I always stopped wearing them because my eyes would always hurt. I'll wear one these days.

I never realized how you really look like kim until reading this post. hahaha! the first time we talked during the meet-up, all I saw was how intelligent and witty you were in the conversation. You might have that lanky, dorky-looks today but believe me when you aged you'll become an epitome of a total package with your various talents and intellectual pursuit. :)

hugssss...

Ganahan kaayo ko sa lanky, dorky-looks bisan sakit2x lang. Haha

I'm sorry this happened to you, Kim. But I'm thankful that you chose to take this incident positively. Would you get mad if I told you I had fun reading this? Hahaha!

Kidding aside, I agree with @josejirafa. The best thing we can do for our well-being is to approach the state of balance. Let's take good care of our appearance on the outside, but not neglecting what's on the inside too. I think you've no problem with the latter. Do it for yourself, Kim! Do it because you like it, not because you want to please other people.

Hahaha. Achieving a state of balance is very difficult. I think there's one aspect that we will be sacrificed. Anyway, thank you for the encouragement, Abby! I really appreciate all your support.

I think so too. That's why I said approach, instead of achieve. Very much like asymptotes, one can come close to balance, but may never reach it. Always, Kim!

Never knew how difficult it was for you to arrive at the booth! Hahahahaha so that explains why you badly demanded for the tshirt the moment you arrived!

Heeeey you should do an image overhaul!!! Hahahahahahah grabe witty writer kaayo ka! Had sooo much fun while reading this samot na daghan kaayo akong nawng hahahaha

Agrrrreee kaayo ko ani

I thought I might have more money in my bag than they are. That's why I'm always protecting it.

Kasuway napud ko ani hahahahaha some people dont know how the wealthiest people prefer to look simple para way mangutang! 😂😂😂😂

Mas witty ka girl! And green. Lingaw kaayo imong mga antics sa life. And ganahan ko anang way mangutang kay nindot kaayo mangutang nya lisud pangitaon if tingbayad na. Hahaha

I miss the energy of Sinulog but certainly don't miss the body odor of everyone in close quarters. LOL. It is much too humid back home to avoid being sweaty. I'm glad you didn't get apprehended by the barangay tanods. haha

If I was apprehended, I would probably make a scene. I even thought that if she continued to make comments about me, I will really make a scene. I brought everything in my bag, including my license and company ID. If that happened, I will really file a suit for damages. Charot. Hahaha.

Really a nice thing seeing steemit growing big in the Philippines, lets all keep the good work up.
Welldone guys

Thank you @saavvy! In behalf of Cebu steemians, I'm sending the love from Cebu!

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

HAHAHA kuyaaa! Who knew you had to face all those obstacles just to be present on the day of the event. You really had a lot of insights when you were on your way to the booth.

And yes mumatter mn jd ang looks. I think it depends on balance lng gyud haha. Vanity kills but lack of it makes you look like a snatcher haha joke. Pretty sure there is nothing wrong with how you looked, I bet the lady said it out of impulse. Anyone could be a thief in Sinulog regardless of looks and she was just protecting herself I guess

Had fun reading your blog haha nagkatawa jd ko haha. Hope you don't grow overly critical with yourself because of this experience

Vanity kills but lack of it makes you look like a snatcher.

Maninuod man ka oi! Bantay ka lang ig kita nato sa meet up! Hahaha.

their will be a time when steemit will help people afford what they want in life @ybanezkim26

Yes, @dhirupadhyay! I agree with you on that aspect because I have been enjoying it a little already. Not fully, but slowly and bit by bit.

Ahaha, your experience was funny but the at the same time. Its sad to think people judge easily other people by their appearance. I see that your soon-to-be an engineer. Ahaha unsaon nalang kaha ta aning mga haggard look always

It's really funny @daisydelta! I just looked at it on the positive side, but I had a lot of realizations because of that experience.

Nevertheless, im glad the event was successful .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57