IT ALL STARTED IN FEDERAL GOVERNMENT COLLEGE, OKIGWE

in #steemnaira6 years ago

When i graced Federal government college okigwe,Imo state,i was very happy and it was my first time of leaving home to a strange land.
On that faithful day,my dad woked my twin and my humbleself very early in the morning to begin to advice us on been good ambassadors out there,he began to preach to us to follow the right path and never abandone the good morals that we held dear to our heart.

I was just a young boy when i graced the caanan soil and unity schools in Nigeria was highly rated,it was a thing of pride back then to be identified with one of the unity schools in Nigeria.
In my innocent imagination,i thought i was coming to enjoy life in a boarding school,it didnt occur to me that there was a path of life i needed to embrace and that path was not a rossy one,it was a hard nut to crack.
My twin and my humbleself arrived the college and it was going to be adventurous down here.

I saw students wearing the same colour of my day wear and at this point,i didnt need a prophet to tell me that they were in my hostel.
I was later checked into the hostel and was accompanied by some students who where assigned by the house captain to my room.
When i got to the hostel,i saw big boys with beards and i shouted in my heart,see this grand daddies in secondary school oooooo.

When i finally settled down and was arranging my things in my locker,i heard the sound of the bell and before i could say jack,students dissappeared withing some few minutes,at this point,i was confused,i asked someone what was going on,he replied,it was time for dinner,hence that bell..
That was not really my problem and i didnt feel like going to the dinning.
When it was night food over,i began to meet some friends who were my seniors back then in primary school,i didnt really feel that lonely,i knew i had my twin and some few primary school guys to keep me company.

I took a walk round the school premises to admire the prestigious Federal government college,Okigwe and when i retired back to the hostel,i met a sad incident where an SS3 student floggeg an SS2 student with cutlass and i asked what was the offence of this guy,i learnt that the SS2 student burnt the clothe given to him by the SS3 student for ironing and didnt inform the SS3 student ahead of time on the incident and hence the flogging was his reward.

I cried that night because it dawned on me that a time will come when i will pass through this hurdle.
I began to prepare my mind for the good,bad and ugly things that will happen to me in the course of acquiring secondary school education.
Life in Federal government college,Okigwe was hell in a cell,
it was a place where prefects had respect more than the teachers,you would rather ignore your teacher and answer the call of a prefect reason was because by 2.30pm when classes are over,the teacher will go home and leave you in the care of these prefects who will come hunting for you at a very ungoldly hour of the night.

I told more lies than the truth just to survice the shackles of seniority.
Most times when the goings was getting tougher,i slept in classes and spent my leisure time in bushes.
This was my strategy to survive.
There are days i will skip meals just to avoid a prefect who has been hunting for me for days and in this condition,i ate by immagination,for example today is thursday and on thurday morning,we ate rice,i will imagine myself with that morning hot rice,i will picture myself as if i am in the dinning and i am eating that rice,whenever i did this,i was no more hungry,i will just drink water and that was the code.

IMG-20171109-WA0010.jpg
I hated fridays because of hostel work,you will work and die and if you dare miss the work,your house captain will hunt you till the end of the road.
Everything that happened in Feddy was funfiled even though i suffered the pains,it was sweet sorrow.
I enjoyed thoes social gatherings when we will have to host the pure walking Angels of Federal government girls college,Owerri.
To me,thoes girls where more beautiful than our girls,they had a way of making you forget your problems in a jiffy.
I enjoyed thoes dancing and break dance competition.
I really enjoyed my stay in FGC Okigwe,
it was really a great porter of mind and body.
God bless every soul i met in caanan Land.
God bless FGC Okigwe.
God bless unity schools in Nigeria.

Sort:  

Special Bonus just join and get 5 STEEM

This is a limited time bonus only for first 1000 members who join and get 5 steem.

We have many resteem and upvote service.
Upvote worth $21
Resteem over 90000 followers

JOIN NOW

Congratulations @classic717! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @classic717! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42