Calculating the "effective level" of a SteemMonster

Today I have been pretty quiet online, as I am focusing my efforts on the Google Sheets spreadsheet which I have been working on in preparation for the SteemMonsters Wiki. I think I have achieved a bit of milestone just now, and I wanted to share it with everyone. I'm not sure if @jarvie, @o07, @clove71, or other more experienced Steemians than me have already worked this out themselves, but I'm pretty chuffed with what I have accomplished, and as is my normal nature, I want to share it with everyone. I'm not only looking to share this solution so that others can use it, but I'm also sharing it so that others can check it, confirm that it works, and even suggest improvements.

What the function does

We all know that SteemMonsters cards have a level, and you can "level them up" by combining cards. But did you also know that the level of the Monster card on its face may not be the effective level of that Monster when it is in play in a battle or tournament? The effective level of a Monster is dependent on the level of the Summoner who summons it into the battle. If your Summoner is of lower level than your Monster, then you may not be able to summon that Monster at its full strength! You can still summon that Monster, but its effective level will be less than the "face level" of the Monster.

This function which I have created will calculate the effective level of a Monster, given the level of the Summoner who summons it, and given the "face level" of the Monster itself.

How does the function work?

First, I have copied the details of the Summoner's stats from the main SteemMonsters.com website into my spreadsheet, as in the example below.

What this tells us is that my Level 4 Lyanna Natura can summon Common  Monsters which are up to Level 5, or Rare  Monsters which are up to Level 4, or Epic  Monsters which are up to Level 3, or even Legendary  Monsters which are up to Level 2. If any of the summoned Monsters are already over those thresholds, their effective level when summoned will be reduced to the maximums listed in the chart. Let's take a look at the Google Sheets formula that I came up with to calculate this.

In the above example, the contents of cell F2 is the rarity of the Monster in question. The contents of cell H2 is the "face level" of that Monster. The static row $38 contains the Summoner's details, so cell $P$38 is the fixed location of the maximum level of a summoned Common  Monster for the Summoner at this level. Cell $Q$38 is the fixed location of the maximum level of a summoned Rare  Monster; cell $R$38 for a summoned Epic ; and $S$38 for a summoned Legendary  Monster.

Once we know what the maximums are, then we can compare the maximums to the current Monsters. This is where the second part of the formula comes in to play. What the equation IF(H2<=$P$38,H2,$P$38) is saying basically is, if the face level is less than or equal to the maximum level for a Common, then the effective level is equal to the face level, otherwise the effective level is the maximum level for a Common.  As you can see from the formula, this equation is repeated to compare Rares, Epics, and Legendaries  as well, depending on the outcome of the outer IF() statement which checks what the rarity of the current Monster is first.

I hope this all makes sense, and is somehow useful to someone. From here I can continue to work on the information which will eventually end up in the Wiki, and I can also create a SteemMonsters Team Calculator, to help determine the best Team given a certain mana cap. That is still to come, but no doubt this equation above will be a big part of that too. Please do let me know if you come up with a better or faster way of doing this!

   

Oh, one other thing to mention, before I forget, is that I created a new simple icon to represent the "effective level" of the Monsters. It is basically just the white star as currently used on the main SteemMonsters.com website to denote the level, with a mathematical "equals" symbol on it. Feel free to use the idea wherever. I am releasing it under a Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0) license. I have an example here, using the SteemMonsters background to offset the white, for those not using the night mode settings.

I play SteemMonsters, a collectible card battle game on the Steem blockchain. You can see my card collection in PeakMonsters.


cc-by-sa license The textual content of this post is licensed as a Free Cultural Work using a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-SA 4.0) license, which grants all the four freedoms listed in the definition of free cultural works, including: ① The freedom to use and perform the work; ② The freedom to study the work and apply the information; ③ The freedom to redistribute copies; and ④ The freedom to distribute derivative works. This license places three key restrictions on those freedoms: ⑤ 𝐍𝐨 𝐃𝐑𝐌 𝐨𝐫 𝐓𝐏𝐌: You must not restrict access to the work using technical measures, or otherwise attempt to impose limitations on the freedoms above; ⑥ 𝐀𝐭𝐭𝐫𝐢𝐛𝐮𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧: You must give proper attribution to the author (𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮) and retain the license notice; and ⑦ 𝐂𝐨𝐩𝐲𝐥𝐞𝐟𝐭: You must release derivative works under an identical or similar license. The most recent copy of the text of this license notice (with markdown) can be found on Hackmd.
IMAGE CREDITS:
• The image used for the post thumbnail is a remix by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮. It includes screenshots from Google Sheets.
• The image used for the horizontal rule separators throughout this post is from the #SteemMonsters divider set, created by @calumam. It is used with permission, and has been released under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license.
• The image used for the SteemMonsters banner is a remix by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮. It includes the Steem Monsters Logo Refresh image created by @mrgodby, which is used with permission, and has been released under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) license. The remix also includes the "Rexxie" and "Goblin Socerer" assets from the official SteamMonsters collection. They are used with permission. The remixed image is released under the same license (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) as the component part from @mrgodby, as per the ShareAlike terms.
• The image used for the PeakMonsters banner is a remix by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮. It includes image elements from the PeakMonsters.com website. The remixed image is released under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license.

Sort:  

Super useful info @trisquelwhare, I have to study this carefully. Indeed I was looking the cards one by one to make my reports. Now I have some screen captures to see the cards maxed, but this is much more complex. I don't know what I were doing and why I missed this article until now.

Thanks for the comment, @palasatenea.

This spreadsheet is still a long way off from really being useful. I still have to bring in the rest of the Stats and Abilities values, and then do the number crunching to automate the comparisons. I have asked on the #tech-support channel on the SteemMonsters Discord about the possibility of linking to the live data via a JSON interface from the spreadsheet, and I'm just waiting to hear back from @yabapmatt and/or @aggroed about this.

Great work, I really like the effort you've put in!

Thanks for that @o07, and thank you for the 100% upvote too! Muchly appreciated.

It's not worth much now, but it all adds up in the long run.

Thanks @clove71, and thanks for the 100% upvote! I'm still working on this spreadsheet and improving it. I hope to make something that can be useful for building Teams from. I'm sure that eventually the SteemMonsters website itself will have this functionality, but in the meantime it is fun to experiment.

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, mistborn (@carn).

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

I love you people who do teardowns like this, makes games more interesting in different ways XD

Haha, why just play a game, when you can pull it apart and analyse it, strip any emotion away and condense it down into pure numbers and mathematical equations! 😄  This is my Aspie side really coming to the fore, I tell ya!

It's just another way of enjoying it XD

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Wow, thank you so much @archdruid, and thanks @enjar for curating my post! I'm in the Archdruid Gaming Community's Discord already, but I'm still learning about all of this stuff, so I haven't really contributed much there yet. Thanks again for this! 👍

Congratulations @trisquelwhare! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @trisquelwhare! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Many Many Thanks for this post bro. keep it up.

Tell me, @mdsohagm, what does my post here actually mean to you? I see that you don't have any SteemMonsters yet. How about, rather than writing random replies on people's posts, why not come to the Steem.chat #steemmonsters channel and learn about the game, and then you can participate for real. If you go there and ask me any question about SteemMonsters, I will gift you your very own SteemMonster Common  card, to get your collection started. Now you can't say fairer than that! 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78