Steem Monsters: Battling with @cryplectibles!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

One neat little thing about the new collectible card game, Steem Monsters, is from time to time I'll run into people I know from our Steemit community! It makes sense, both Steemit & Steem Monsters operate on the STEEM blockchain, but it's still a nice surprise! Yesterday, I ran into @cryplectibles (who ran an awesome comic book giveaway for Batman #50: The Wedding) on the Steem Monsters platform!




While my most upgraded deck is currently from the Death Splinter, yesterday I was working on a quest which involved winning ranked matches with cards from the Water Splinter. Midway through completing this, I see a friendly username :D

The mana allotment was very limited yesterday, and I found the following trio of cards to work very well with my Water Splinter matches:

The Deck

spineback turtle.png
My Level 2 Spineback Turtle, great for tanking the front!

medusa.png
Able to fight from a distance with a chance to stun opponents, my Level 5 Medusa!

mermaid.png
The Mischievous Mermaid: Distance attacks from the rear with a chance to dodge, she's also quite quick with a Speed of 4.

To watch the full battle (I love how you can share these links,) click here!

Other Posts by Steve Cronin

  1. Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 20
  2. I Have NO Idea What I'm Doing! - STEEM Monsters (#1) - Let's Play
  3. What Would You do if Given 100,000 STEEM?
  4. An In-Depth Look at EOS Knights: The Latest Blockchain Mobile Game
Sort:  

I must confess I am not good at card games, but the idea sounds cool!

CCGs certainly aren't for everyone but I'm glad you appreciate the idea! In the future, there will be a blockchain game for everyone :)

Good one, Steve. I have been able to start reading through the tutorial on the main Steemmonsters site, and even successfully did ONE practics match, but man, I feel SO OVERWHELMED, and can't seem to get over the FIRST HUMP of competence. So I would like to request, once again, that you start a proper "SteemMonsters For Dummies" series, for people like me, who WANT to get up to speed with the game, but can't find the time/resources to properly do so. You've got my upvote on EACH post in such series. DTube video game-play captures, along with text descriptions, would be ideal. Hope you will do this....

Thanks dude! Yeah, I totally understand. I honestly do not think the official rules/instructions written on the website are very clear. I learned just through playing a lot and understand that overwhelming feeling.

So, yes, I have (thanks to your two requests) started a beginner Steem Monsters video! I have a Steem Monsters post about Dragons scheduled for tomorrow, but I'll definitely have the guide up & open this week :)

In the meantime, I recommend purchasing the "Starter Set" if you haven't already. This will give you 30 base cards that you can then build off of & level up. I see you've purchased 4 packs, but make sure to grab the Starter Set for sure. For leveling cards, peakmonsters.com is the place to go so you can cheaply buy individual cards with SBD. But, in terms of what to level efficiently and how all that works, I'll do that in my future post here :)

Thanks for reading!

Ahh, my ol "READY TO ROCC" deck, nice. I accept that defeat though, I love playing a Mermaid and Medusa in a blue magic boost deck (though I still look at just the match up alone and thought I would have won!). Steem Monsters is surprisingly way better than I though it would have ever been. Love the site features like replay here.

Ready to Rocc, lolol! Actually I played you again yesterday and you defeated my Fire deck so now we're even :D Yeah SM is a lot better than I was expecting and it doesn't appear their development is over, which is great news for me because I'm excited about new features & updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83