Steemmonsters Experiment - Starting From Scratch In Season 6 - Day 4

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Just a short report on day 4 of the experiment in which I start playing Steemmonsters with only a starter deck. I want to experience first hand what it is like to join the game at the start of season 6.

the splinterlands experiment.png
source

Just A Quickie

I don't have a lot of time to spare today, so this report of day 4 of my experiment won't be as long as the previous posts.

I'm starting to get the hang of playing at level 1 again. Of course, the new cards I bought from the money I earned by selling my very first reward card, the Gold Foil Wood Nymph had a lot to do with the fact that it took me only 6 battles to complete my daily quest.

games.jpg
source

The first one was a draw, and the fourth one I got for free, because my opponent fled the battlefield.

Also, I was lucky that the game assigned me the Death splinter for my DQ, because it's my favorite splinter, and as a result also the one I know best.

divider.png

Unfair

It becomes more clear to me every day that this experiment has no value at all. The fact that I know the cards and (half of) the rules by heart gives me a significant advantage. The fact that I could extend my starter deck with no less than 10 new cards after selling the gold foil reward card I earned, made it even worse.

Sometimes it is so obvious that I'm playing against real newcomers that I feel guilty for making their DQ harder than it is supposed to be.

Some of them don't have clue about what they're doing, just like we didn't know what we were doing in the beginning.
How else could you explain the following:

battle details.png
source

Althoug it's a 22 mana battle, my opponent had set up a team that was worth only 11 mana (if I counted right). Maybe he just ran out of time. It happens to me pretty often during a tournament, so I know what it's like. Or maybe he just needs someone to help him to get started...

divider.png

Good News And Bad News

The good news is that I reached Bronze 2 during yesterday's DQ.

bronze2.png
source

I expect things to go smoothly for a little while longer, but I assume that once I make it to bronze 3, it's going to be a lot harder to win my battles. But I'll just have to wait and see. A lot depends on the reward cards I win. The more valuable they are, the faster I can build my basic deck, and the better my chances will be.

Speaking of reward cards, ...
After getting two Creeping Oozes with a market value of 6 cents, I didn't think it could get any worse. but guess what: it can álways get worse.

This was yesterday's reward card:

silvershield archers.jpg
source

The Silvershield Archers belong to the Life splinter and they don't exactly excel in anything: 1 speed, 1 range, 1 health. To my level 1 deck, without Selenia Sky to boost its range attack, it's a pretty useless card.
And that reflects on the market price: the card is being sold for exactly 4 cents now.

I think I'm going to hold on to it for now, because the only cards I can buy for 4 cents (Animated Corpse, Silvershield Warrior and Giant Roc) I already have in my deck.

The bad news is that I although I thought I had hit rock bottom with this card, I haven't. Like I said: it can álways get worse. Cards like the Sea Genie, the Highland Archer, the Rusty Android and the Vampire are being sold for only 2 cents. Fingers crossed that I won't receive one of those after completing my next DQ.

divider.png

RC

After publishing my previous post, I ran out of RC again, so I had to wait before I could play again.
It's actually a bit weird, because all I do with this account is play my DQ and publish a post every day.

I just went over to Steemd, and this is what I found again:

RC.jpg
source

25 SP should be more than enough to do what I'm doing with the account.

I did notice some outgoing votes that were definitely not made by me. It is something I will need to look into.

I also found this in the list of my authorized posting apps:

authorities.png
source

I have never given permission to @minnowschool, I don't even know what it is, so I revoked access instantly.
Neither do I have a clue what the key that is shown underneath is for. I checked my other account, and it is showing a similar series of numbers.

I would be very grateful if someone could explain to me what that key stands for, and why it is there.

I definitely have to analyze what's going on with the account. There's no way that my RC can be this low again after playing 6 @steemmonster matches and writing this post. 25 SP should be doing the trick...

So I guess I better say goodbye for now and start to do some digging. I'll let you know what I've found out in my next update.




1.png

steemmonsters ad.png
source 1 - Source 2 - Source 3


Sort:  

Hi, the long key is the one for the account itself. You will always have this one present. The minnowschool sounds strange if you have no clue about it. I checked the history on steemd.com and 4 days ago this permission was granted. You did it around 11 am on the 22nd, around the same time you registered with MSP, followed minnowpond and approved emre as witness. Anything you did around this time that rings a bells?

Thanks for the info, @danielsaori.
It surprises me that I never noticed the key before, even though I've been checking Steemd for permissions a couple of times.

I genuinely don't know about the minnowschool thing. I do know that the moment I used Steemconnect to revoke permission, the weird voting behavior stopped. I'll be digging a little further once I'm fully recovered (still feeling a little sick)

Thanks for these updates, I'm catching up now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @itisjustme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88