Steemmonsters Experiment - Starting From Scratch In Season 6 - Day 2 And 3

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Day 2 and 3 of the experiment in which I start playing Steemmonsters with only a starter deck. I want to experience first hand what it is like to join the game at the start of season 6.

the splinterlands experiment.png
source

Meanwhile

I didn't plan to skip a day, but I've been so busy that it happened before I realized it.
I don't have a truckload of time right now either (it's almost 1.30 am while I'm writing this), I will try to give you an update of what has happened since I wrote my first post.

divider.png

Resource Credits

One of the first comments on my previous post asked me about Resource Credits. I thought it was a good question, because I didn't even think of my RC when playing the 13 games I needed to complete my Daily Quest.

At the time, I had 2.7 SP, which I got when I created the account. Apparently, that was just enough to struggle my way through the first DQ.

It was only after I published the post that I ran out. It was a little annoying, because I had spelled a name wrong and wanted to change it, but the system wouldn't let me.

I know that in the early days, when you ran out of RC during a game, you could simply refresh the page and @steemmonsters would automatically delegate 10SP to your account. If it happened again, you got another 10 SP.

I wasn't playing at the time, and it simply didn't occur to me that I could wait an hour or so, then fight a couple of battles until I ran out of RC again, just to see if those delegations are still sent out.

Performing experiments is obviously not one of my best qualities.

Instead - impatient as I am - I delegated 20 SP from my main account to this one. It's just another way to say that I messed up the experiment. Most new users don't have 20 SP lying around to delegate to themselves.

So I goofed and can't tell you whether the delegation system of @steemmonsters still exists or not.

It would be great if someone could actually let me know.

divider.png

Learning Something New

Starting over again appeared to be not such a bad idea. When you don't have a full deck of cards, you need to be creative, especially during high mana battles.

It was during such a high mana battle that I found out I had missed an update that was made only recently.

I did read the post about the updates for season 6, but it's obvious I missed the specific passage:

'Grumpy Dwarf, Minotaur Warrior, Giant Roc, Silvershield Warrior, Spineback Wolf - Each of these under-utilized cards will be gaining a new ability called "Reach" which allows them to use Melee attack from the second position on the team. Some of their other stats will be adjusted downwards to compensate for the new ability.'


In other words, all the cards with the 'green hand' in their list of abailities can also attack from 2nd place. I hadn't noticed before, when I was playing my higher decks, but with the starter deck, it turned out to be a very useful change.



Yet another thing learned... :0)

Once I had that figured out, winning the DQ was a lot easier. I managed to complete the DQ in only 10 games, which took me 20 minutes in total.

battles.jpg
Source

I was making progression!

Yesterday, it only took me only 7 games and 15 minutes to finish the DQ. It seemed like I was getting used to play with an incomplete level 1 deck again.

battles.jpg
Source

Again, I want to stress that I've been playing for months already. I'm not the best player around, but I'm pretty familiar with how the game works and what I can expect from most of the abilities.

This is not the case for new players. They will probably spend a lot more time to get that 1 reward card.

divider.png

Reward Cards

The gold foil Wood Nymph I received the first day, wasn't very beneficial for the 'real world'-factor of my experiment either.

Everyone who has been playing this season knows that the chance that your first, single reward card is a gold foil is incredibly small.

On top of that, after more than a year on SteemIt, I have my network, and it didn't take long before it was bought by my good friend, mentor and coach @davemccoy.

I had priced the card a couple of cents cheaper than the one with the lowest price on the market, to make sure it woud sell quickly. And thanks to Dave, it did.

All of a sudden, I had more than 2 steem in my wallet, which I could spend on the market, buying extra cards for my deck.

card sold.jpg

The reward cards I pulled the second and the third day were both the Creeping Ooze. Current market value: $0.06.

creeping ooze.jpg
Source

When I pulled the first one, I decided to keep it. A 1 mana card can be very useful every once in a while. But I did't really need a second one. And it feels so silly to put it up for sale for 5 cents. But that's exactly what I need to do, so I can save to buy more cards.

divider.png

Going Wild!

Earlier today, I found some time to visit the marketplace and get myself some more monsters. You can't imagine how rich I felt, having that 2 Steem in my pocket, lol.

It didn't take me long to decide which monsters I was going to buy - after all, I know which cards are more valuable to my personal way of playing than other.

Again, a big difference with a new player. If you only just start to play the game, and have 2 steem to spend, I can imagine the number of monsters for sale will make it quite difficult to choose. Not only because there are so many of them (alpha, beta, promo ánd reward series 1 and 2), but also because you don't have a clue which monsters are useful, and which aren't.

I'll show you my new arrivals in a second, but first I want to make clear I regret spending all of the Steem. I should have kept part of it aside to save up for the more expensive cards.


But I asume there's no use crying over spilled milk...
It's just something to remember in case it happens again.

divider.png

My Expanded Deck

This 2 Steem allowed me to buy quite a couple of monsters of which I'm pretty sure they will make my next Daily Quests a little easier. Of course I could only by the cheaper cards, mostly commons - but also a couple of rare one. Most of them I use daily when playing my other accounts.

new cards.jpg
Source

I thought it could be important to add both some healing cards and some weakening cards to the collection.

And since I don't really like the spineback turtle at the lower levels, I thought the water splinter, of which I think it is still one of the stronger splinters at level 1, could use a decent tank.

Medusa... what can I say.. I think she's irresistable. As soon as I get enough money to buy myself a Mischievous Mermaid I will, because together they are almost invincible.

And the Twisted Jester... he's simply one of my all-time favorite cards. Whenever I play the Death splinter, I make sure there is some room left for him. Same goes for Earth Elemental. It is still weak at this level, but I have a lot of trust in him.

To be honest, I never would have thought I would be able to buy no less than 10 cards for 2 steem. Even they are only commons and rares.

I'm pretty sure my next DQ's will be a lot easier now I have called in the troops.

I'll let you now about that in my next update!


1.png

steemmonsters ad.png
source 1 - Source 2 - Source 3


Sort:  

Okay, this is getting really interesting! While your starter deck was identical to the one I started with, you seemed to have picked almost the same cards I used to beef up my deck with. Agree on the jester and the healing / weakening cards, plus the frozen soldier does wonders to the blue team. It's only the earth elemental that I never bothered with... Mermaid and Medusa? Hmmm, gotta think about it! I got the Medusa, but for some reason she hasn't really gained my full confidence. It's only the highlander and the nymph that I don't think need to be bought, since they are quite frequent reward cards.
But now I'm really curious about your progress. Selling a card for five cents? Hahaha, I'm always happy when that happens! Though I sometimes wait till I have a good few of them, and sell them at level 3 for a few cents more! Also, it may be worth making a higher bid, and wait for the cheap ones to be bought up.

Haha, it's funny we have made the same basic choices.
Medusa alone isn't a very strong asset, but she and the mermaid make a great team, especially at the lower levels. (And you can make a real killer team by adding Water elemental to the mix.)

Maybe there would have been better choices, than the Earth Elemental, but I've been playing with level 4 and 6 decks for months and it's hard to get out of that state of mind. I only just noticed that he doesn't have the self-heal yet. Apparently, he only gets it at level 4...

The Highlander I bought because I had 2 cents left, lol, but the Wood Nymph's group heal ability can come in very useful.
And at the rate of 1 card a day, with all the different reward cards I figured it could take some time before I would have her in my deck. I'd rather have the group-heal sooner than later.

I actually sold the Ooze for exactly 0.122 Steem. I'm going to keep your advice in mind to wait till I have more and level them up before I sell them - but again... at the rate of 1 card a day, I'm not putting my hopes up. Also, it looks like the reward cards are getting cheaper every day, so I'm not sure about selling them for a higher price and wait until the cheaper ones are sold... reward cards are flooding the market. I don't really see their price go up a lot this season....

I still have everything to learn about selling cards in order to be able to buy them. I'm a hoarder, lol. I've always had enough Steem to just buy my cards and keep them all. I think I maybe sold 10 or 15 in all that time.

But for now at least I have a sort of decent deck - that starter pack was so frustrating - so I won't be in such a hurry to immediately sell every card I get.

I'm just as curious about my progress as you are :0)

The Crystal Werewolf is the perfect example for prices going up and down like crazy. I got my first one about four days ago, and sold it for 38 cents. Then I got two more the next day, which I put up to sale for 25 each, the lowest bid at the time. Yesterday I checked, seeing that I still had both wolves, and no wonder: the price was down to a dime! Still, I didn't bother canceling my bid, and by this morning they were both gone. The current price is 23 cents, by the way. Makes me think I should have bought a ten-cent werewolf... Even if I got stuck with it, it would have brought me a profit of 28 cents!
These last few days I've been actually more excited about trading cards than playing them, making me wish they had charts for them like on Poloniex.

Congratulations @itisjustme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 256 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

😂😂 I'm fighting with the old same deck from TP too and let other play with my level 2 deck🤣 it is just more fun to enjoy the battling at bronze, though the reward cards from DQ still make me upset😁 rusty and highland archers again for 4 days😂😂

@juxtapozed, sorry for the late reply.
Are you a fellow TP member?
I must admit I neglected my basic TP deck a bit up until a while ago, because I found it very hard to win battles with it. For some strange reason, I'm doing better with this starter deck than with the TP deck.
I consider myself lucky to have convinced dave to level up at least 1 splinter in the TP deck, so I will be able to rank it up a little more in order to get a bigger season reward. 😁

Personally, I think the new DQ reward card system is not really motivating for bronze league players.
Definitely not for this experiment, since I need funds from selling cards so I can buy other cards to try and complete my deck.

Reward cards are flooding the market, and with only 2 days left until the end of the season, no one is buying them.

It is me, cicisaja 😎 I played with soany accounts till I couldn't get enough time to create a Post with the alternative accs🤣

hahahaha, I would have never guessed that.
I had a really hard time with the bots these last two days. But the reward cards were worth it :0)

I do prefer to play my higher level accounts, though... much more options

I'm enjoying watching your journey. Can't you just undelegate the 20sp to see if SM would add 10sp to your account? Just a thought.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43