Adelaine the Dragon Queen - Selenia Sky's dragon friend

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

I appreciate everyone that stopped by to show support for my Selenia Sky story for @steemmonsters. I never considered myself a fiction writer, but I had fun! I have come to realize that with writing fiction, it is not the author that dictates when or how the storyline continues. Sometimes the story wants to be told, and it is up to the author to express the thoughts in written form. Time permitting, of course.


In the world of @steemmonsters, summoners yield the magic to beckon dragons to their will. Selenia is a legendary summoner, but her dragon is a special exception. Adelaine is a human with the magical ability to shapeshift into a dragon. That is, she once had the magic ability of transformation before the flame of life was extinguished.

Without further ado, here is a short story of Adelaine the Dragon Queen, from my creative mind. Just as a song inspired the story for Selenia Sky, this song called “Inner Demons” by Julia Brennan inspired this story for Adelaine, Selenia’s friend and dragon companion.

Julia Brennan - Inner Demons

divider.jpg

Chapter 1

fantasy-2635797_1280.jpg


“Selenia, I dare not carry you on your first dragon ride into the sky. Allanthe would not approve of my putting your life at risk. You know how protective he is. He and his sense of honour that would not hesitate to give his life to protect you. That will not stop him from giving us many hours of lecture if we go through with your plan.”

“I only wish for a short flight across the grasslands. We do not have to fly high. I want to feel the wind, Adelaine. I want to fly free like you and Allanthe in your dragon forms.”

Laughing, Adelaine reached over to give her friend a hug. “Dear Selenia, my sister and friend. Allanthe will take you flying when you are ready. You are too young still.”

“We are the same age”, Selenia sulked.

“In physical years, yes. In spirit, my soul is as old as my dragon within. I see the world through the eyes of an ancient being when I am in dragon form. There is magic around us, Selenia. Our senses can’t see the magic through human eyes, but my dragon sees the stirring of magic in the air. My dragon carries the memory of ancient kingdoms and magic battles. I can sense my dragon heart yearning for magic to return to our land in full force; to once again soar with dragons of other realms.”

Our Princess Adelaine is a dreamer, Selenia thought. She had thought Adelaine as a good-hearted and spirited friend, who enjoyed teasing the boys as girls their age do. She had not thought of the dragon heart residing within, the ancient heart of a creature that once roamed the heavenly skies. Adelaine is both princess of our human kingdom and a princess in her dragon realm.

“It is late. We have to return before Allanthe goes searching for you. We do not want him fraught with worry over his dear Selenia now, do we?”, Adelaine said teasingly.

“Yes, it is late”, Selenia replied with a smile. The thought of Allanthe never ceased to bring a smile to her face.

Dove_divider_.png

Chapter 2

fantasy-2900032_1280.jpg


“No! You must fly away, you must—”

“Selenia, Selenia, you must wake up. You are dreaming again”, Adelaine weakly called to her friend. Her own heart had shattered upon hearing about the deaths of her brother, family, and friends. She knew Selenia’s heart was broken and torn.

Adelaine’s dragon eyes saw the stirring of magic surrounding her friend. She had never seen this aura before. In fact, she had never seen obvious signs of magic in their realm. Their dragon counterparts glimmered with a bright aura of magic because their essence came from the flame of life, but it was a dim comparison compared to the magical aura now surrounding Selenia.

Did the loss of innocence result in this resurgence of magic within her friend? With keen dragon eyes, she focused on the golden swirls. She saw flames of red, and the light of blue, weaving in and out in rhythm to an intimate dance of lovers.

Selenia opened her eyes, and just as sudden, the golden aura dissipated. “I – I’m sorry Adelaine. I was dreaming of Allanthe. He was --" Selenia lowered her eyes. No, she could not let her friend see her tears once more. Adelaine has enough sorrow in her own heart.

“Selenia, my ancient dragon heart knows the pain of loss and sorrow.” Adelaine closed her golden eyes. There was sadness in her but there was more. She was told the story of the dark summoner and Chromatic Dragon. She only had to focus her dragon heart to sense the magic out west. Deep within, her spirit burned bright with fury and revenge. The healers from the North said weeks. It would be weeks before her wings are healed. Weeks before she could once again soar in the sky. She had time to plan.

Revenge she would seek. Gone was the free-spirited and playful heart of a girl. She was now a Queen. The Dragon Queen stirred with delight in her soul. We will show this new world the ways of the ancient. We will stand side-by-side with our friends but will demolish our enemies, the ancient words of the dragon whispered in her head. Her golden dragon eyes opened and Adelaine looked at her friend with fierce determination.

“Together, we will spread fear into our enemies’ hearts”, Adelaine vowed. Dragons' words spoken in truth, and only death would prevent a dragon in carrying out a promise.

Dove_divider_.png

Story is a continuation of my Selenia Sky story. Here is the first part of the story if you are interested in reading.

Selenia.jpg

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@beeyou/selenia-sky-her-world-her-love-her-story

beeyou copy-paula.final.jpg

Image Sources:
Julia Brennan Video, Snippet of Ruelle, Divider1, Divider2, Chapter 1 Dragon, Chapter 2 Dragon

Sort:  

You're on fire!

Maybe my next story should be on SuperMower? 😉

Lawn mower queen?

This is exciting and something to look forward to. I really enjoy reading this. Are you sure you are not a fiction writer? You are, aren't you? :D

Did the loss of innocence result in this resurgence of magic within her friend?

It would interesting to see what power Selenia has. Sometimes in the lowest times of our lives we friend strength. I wonder what revenge can do. It's a never ending cycle.

I have heard the song before and it does set the mood for the story.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

That would be awesome if I was a fiction writer, but I don't have the patience to write the details required for a good story. I like creating the story line, not getting into the descriptive aspect of the characters and details. Oh well.

I love to read, but the Selenia story for steemmonster is the first time I tried writing a story. I have no idea what power Selenia will yield. Let's see what my imagination brings forth. :)

You want me to kill for your inspiration? I could easily do that. Lots of tiny dragons we call mosquitoes here in our place that I would love to smash and kill lol!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

You’ll need to smash lots of those dragon mosquitoes to turn on the creativity! Lol. Mosquitos are ferocious creatures. Try not to get bitten!

This is very good, you should definitely take the time to join the gold team writing group. I really think you could help make the story of this game even better... Great job @beeyou :)

You always have encouraging words, Dave. :) You know I don't have the time needed to work in a writing group. It would be unfair to the other team members. Plus, the gold team is super secret. I'm just happy to write a story when I have some free time. It's more fun without the pressure of delivering quality work.

Best of luck to you and the white team!!

@beeyou you desever to be encouraged... you are good. You always give a disclaiimer that makes me think you don't realize it. Just let it flow, you are a natural :)

Appreciate the support Dave. 🙂

Oh man I love this side of you Beeyou!

Creating fiction is all about you shaping the words to your will. Of letting loose the imagination in your head and giving your readers a glimpse of it.

“Together, we will spread fear into our enemies’ hearts”, Adelaine vowed. Dragons' words spoken in truth, and only death would prevent a dragon in carrying out a promise.

I am looking forward to that,

I’m glad you’re enjoying my story, Mave. I look forward to finding out what the revenge will be myself. Hehe, the story is developing on its own. I have no say in it, I’m simply the writer! 😂

Once again, well done @beeyou :) I see Dave's comment trying to give you another job haha, but you outsmarted that offer pretty darn quickly :)

I'm looking forward to the next installation whenever it has the need to be written...and the time!

Thanks Lynn. Dave is always pushing us to do better but I know better than to fall for it! Hehe, I would love to join a team but I just don’t have the time to commit. It’s a shame because it sounds like a lot of fun.

I just let the storyline come out whenever it wants. Not too many things inspire me to write so will see! Btw, congrats on your pussy (cat) post being curie’d. Way to go!!

You'll probably continue to enjoy writing more if you don't join a writing team with commitments ;)

Thanks re: the curie as well. I don't mind saying I was very surprised by it. Pleasantly of course, but if left me thinking that what I thought I knew about "curie quality" would need rethinking haha

I just came across a post on phallic shaped sea creatures that also got curie’d. Another very interesting topic!

hahaha @beeyou, why have we wasted so much time on things so serious? 😎

You should write more COM posts. I think you are a comedic writer yourself. ;)

Guess what I am trying? Yep, you fast reply. I'm just too behind with my comments, and both you and Dave love it. So here I am. :)

Don't you find that you are just ripping through the comments using it?? When I'm behind, it's my go-to, otherwise, I go old-school :)

I saw someone's 7daypositivitychallenge post titled "self love" and I've been marinating that one in my brain for a bit :) We'll see!

Nice story and put together well. The words/story seem to flow when one is enjoying /having fun writing it.

Hey, I see you came out of the dog house. ;)

The words/story seem to flow when one is enjoying /having fun writing it.

So true! Some days, I can't think of one word to say. Other days, they just flow. I'll continue to write if another song inspires something. So far, it is music that inspires me to write for this Selenia story.

yes they have not built a dog house yet that can hold me :)

Well..... when I read for you - I had no idea that you had already told the story of Adelaine too!!!!!! :)

I just finished the audio for you and when I went to look for the story I found this and the story of the General!!!!!! I'm so excited to read it @beeyou!!!!! :)

this was GREAT!!! did i miss more?? is there more of Adelaine???

since i'm late with this - please accept this tip!

@tipu send tip please :)

Hey @dreemsteem. I just saw this as I was getting the post ready for my index. I am so behind and life is so busy, so don't mind me. I appreciate you stopping by! Thanks for the tipu, awww, you didn't have to do that. :)

<3 hehehee no worries - and if you find this later - don't reply hehehehehe just know i'm thinking of you! LOL

Hi @beeyou! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55