A Chat With The Man Behind Steemit Official Twitter Handle (&200Social)…….. Steemians Speak- Behind The Username....... This Week On Steemit…….. SteemMag – Steemit’s Weekend Digest #24 p.2

in #steemmag8 years ago

SteemMag: As a social media marketer, how would you describe Steemit's growth over the months?
@hilarski: We are growing at a slow but stable pace.

SM: You've been on Steemit for over 6 months now. What are some of your favorite moments on Steemit?

@hilarski: SteemFest was my favorite moment by far. Steem had reached its lowest price and the community really came together.

SM: You also operate the Official Steemit Twitter Handle with considerable success. How can steemians contribute to this growing success?

@hilarski: Fellow users can help us on Twitter by mentioning the @Steemit Twitter handle in their Tweets. This lets me know and we might retweet them.

SM: You also recently released a couple of short promotional videos about Steemit.. How successful were they?

@hilarski: The promotional videos were somewhat successful and were really liked by the community so I will continue.

SM: How do would you rate Steemit's 2017 projected social growth based on the Roadmap released recently by Steemit Inc. ?

@hilarski:
I believe we are on the right track for growth. The only aspect I disagree with is communities but I understand that human nature is tribal. I also love the fact that mobile is getting more attention. Being able to host images on the platform will make it easier for users to use the platform which could the community grow.


Thanks so much @hilarski for having a chat with SteemMag. Keep up with the great work you’re doing.



Steemians Talk - Behind The Name - What does your username mean?

@fingolfin
It’s a character from a book that I like. The Silmarillion. It’s a J.R.R Tolkien book that was published with the help of his son after he died.

@dwinblood
D is my first initial... my name is Deva Winblood is my last name pronounced Wineblood
Deva is pronounced Dayva. It is hindu for God. There are also some towns and such in europe with the name. More often Females get this name, though it is also used for masculine purposes in Hindu. My parents were hippies :)

@pollux.one
Hey! Glad you are asking me. Actually it took me quite some time to find that name. It has multiple layers.

First it comes from ancient greek mythology. Pollux is the brother of Castor ( A very sexual story, I like very much, since I was younger... "Leda and the swan", where Zeus disguidsed as a swan secuces Leda ... the result are Pollux and Castor. All in all Pollux is standing for loyalty. He is giving up the possibility being a god, just to be near to his mortal brother).

Pollux later becomes the patron saint for the greek sailors. Showing them the right way. This was one of my hopes and still is: being able to show ways of thinking or to provide new points of view.

The next (and more actual) layer would be that Pollux is the name for the container where radioactive waist is stored (after having been transported by a Castor - transporting container). Herein is expressed my hope for sometimes writing about "dangerous" stuff, which now will be stored censorship free in the blockchain.

The last layer would be that pollux is a portmanteau from "politics" and "lux" (wich means "light"), expressing another hope of mine. Bringing light into politics and political events.

The .one was the only nice url available for a website, so pollux.one was created. (About a week after having started that website I stumbled upon Steemit and adepted the name here, without continuing my own page)



A lot of interesting events happened this week. And in case you missed them, we’ve got your back. Here are some of the most important events that happened on Steemit this week.

~ Steem drops from last week's position to 12th on the coinmarketcap.com’s crypto market capitalization list.

~ @steemitblog announces a couple of UI releases - # Release 0.1.170201

~ @busy.org announces release of public beta.

~ @xeroc releases updates to streemian.

~ For a comprehensive list of dedicated Steem blockchain apps. Check out SteemTools.com

~ Meanwhile, SBD rates ranged from 1 SD = $ 0.97 - 1.02 this week

~$0.157 and $0.176 were the lowest and highest value traded this week for a unit of Steem respectively.


Page 1

Sort:  

Another nice extra bit, thank you! I'm off to reading part one now... Namaste :)

Hahah. You start from page 2 too.. Thanks.

thanks, I'll wait for when that day will arrive. continue to share with steemit.

Nice to see an interview with Randi he is one of the behind the scenes heroes at Steemit - I think a lot of people don't realise how influential Twitter is in getting the word out!

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/828011633268125696

You're right. Twitter is a huge traffic goldmine when used right. Not as big as FB though. It's amazing how @hilarski stays focused..consistently pumping out promo vidoes to spread the world.

Btw, I wonder what inspired you to choose your twitter handle @soul_eater? 😂

It is a manga/anime monster I saw somewhere and thought it was cool.

Interesting. Glad I found steemmag. Nice to know a little about the twitter steem followed.

Thanks @jacobts. I'm glad you found the information therein useful too..

Any stuff you would like to see on SteemMag?

First of all, I like what you are doing! I hope to keep catching your posts.
Suggestions?
I would like to see some interviews with traders and miners of cryptos.
I would like to see interviews with artists like musicians & performers.
Bottom line, like what you are doing and just looking forward to more.

Thanks for the post. There is other craziness about my name, and history but as far as the handle... it's not a handle. :)

It was nice having a chat with you after such a long time..

I'm interested in that. Maybe you should write a post about it.. Whaddya say😉


Hi @infovore, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I am so happy to be part of this community! This platform is changing lives.

Awesome post, learned some new things. Did not know hilarski ran the Twitter page.

I like your job...
Thank you for sharing ...Exchellent!! I folllow you now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34