Steemit Is A Solitary Pursuit

in #steemleo5 years ago

117146538.jpg

I have read several posts lately about what is next for @steemit and what needs to be done to make it grow. I like all the enthusiasm, I really do but can we really thrives as a social media platform the way we are set up.

I have always maintained that Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest have spent the better part of a decade training people how to consume, produce and share content. That content is short form. That's just the way it is.

Those who hate short form content, downvote it and label it as shit content are just plain wrong. Further, the content does not need to have broad appeal. It only needs to appeal to the author's network. This is what makes social media platforms grow. Each is responsible for their own network and nobody else should care what that content is.

Many here feel like this is only a blogging platform. It is modeled after an irrelevant platform like Medium. I know what you are saying, Medium is awesome. It is, but it is a niche and the majority of social internet users are not members, authors and probably don't even know about it.

If we want to thrive we must embrace short form content and allow people to behave as if they were on Instagram or Facebook without freaking out. That is where the influencers will come from and with proper training and a welcoming community, they will slowly bring their followers over when they realize monetization works for both.

Steem is cheap enough right now that anyone who wants it can have it. Stock up and enjoy the future prices when the masses file in instead of worrying so much about the rewards pool. We have a problem with human nature right now. Money and Power = Greed and that makes it hard for people to realize how to grow things properly.

Right now I see steemit as a solitary pursuit. I have very few followers, readers or commentors. The only exception is @Steem.leo . I feel like when I post in Steem.leo there are people actually there reading and interacting. But, it still isnt enough.

When I post on Facebook I get 50 to 100 interactions per post. Here I'll get 3 to 5. Don't get me wrong. I love steemit. I have a great time by myself on here trying to earn pennies. I love @typenearnblog @beerlover 's Beer Token and I'm part of a trail that supports me.

But other than that it is boring. Nobody is reading, or if they are, they aren't voting. I'm not dying to check my feed to see what my peeps are up to or anything like that. I miss @share2steem . That was a great dapp that needs to come back because it helped me recruit new steemians.

So let's see what happens here other than the downvotes from those ghost accounts that were all made after the fork and have no sp lol. Let's make Steemit Fun!

Sort:  

Just so you know @cflclosers... I read your whole post... and although it may feel like your alone here on the Steem Blockchain you are not! 🙂

It’s been awhile I know... after #Seven77 petered out I was pretty much burned out... but I’m slowly making my way back here to dice things up once again!

I hope you are well and thank you for the insightful thoughts about social media and the state of Steem.

thanks for reading. It shouldn't have to be us making back after burning out. It should be a living breathing platform that is attractive to more and more people. Us early adopters should be laughing all the way to the bank. this should flourish regardless of crypto prices and markets because monitizing one's own social media accounts is a no brainer.

All good points @cflclosers. The way I’m choosing to approach this is like how I approach business. Most business go through a 7 year capitalization phase. Once their accounts are resilient enough then profits tend to come in a whole lot easier.

I have been studying this (in regards to Steem) recently actually. The down turn in the crypto markets have created a special opportunity for us to grow our Steem Power / Business Ideas / Find our individual voice / and identify our true friends and fans. It’s a gift depending on how you look at it.

Crypto winter is going to be over before you know it and I’m just planting as many seeds for crypto spring as I can right now!

I hope this encourages you in your Steem efforts. And hey! We are all in this together right? 🙂

I hear you loud and clear and it is encouraging. !BEER



Hey @wil.metcalfe, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Thank you for posting from the https://steemleo.com interface 🦁

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.



Hey @cflclosers, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Hmmm, don't worry I read your posts. Thanks for the great posts you wrote.☺️

thanks. I do appreciate it. Have a !BEER token as a reward!



Hey @putu300, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Congratulations @cflclosers! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Maybe the Steem blockchain is best for housing applications and communities and the mining through content creation will come to an end one day. You'll earn through communities like Steem Leo. Steem will just be what everything runs on. Who knows

I would hope so. But I wonder if it will get that far. Luckily steem.leo has a clear vision and the intellect to try and pull it off for themselves.

!BEER

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95