SteemKitchen Recipe Contest 6 (Week 3: Desserts)

Starwberry Rhubarb cobbler3 crop June 2018.jpg

I had a lot of old strawberries to use up. The rhubarb had come in well, so I decided to make strawberry rhubarb sauce. I had a lot of sauce and had a hankering for a cobbler. A cobbler is a dough baked on top of fruit.

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce

• 1½ lbs rhubarb
• 1 quart whole strawberries
• ¼ cup water
• Sweetener of choice to taste

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce - ingredients crop June 2018.jpg

  1. So I went out and picked 1½ lbs of rhubarb and cut the leaves off for composting. (The leaves are toxic, oxalic acid…) Then I washed the stalks up.

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce - chopped crop June 2018.jpg

2.I cut the stalks into pieces not bigger than 1” after cutting away the bug houses. (Organic, you see…)

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce - in pot1 crop June 2018.jpg

3.I had a quart of whole strawberries I’d thawed out and I put the rhubarb and strawberries in a large saucepan.

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce - in pot2 crop June 2018.jpg

4.I added a very little water to keep it from sticking down before it could release the juices, about ¼ cup. Then I brought it to a boil and turned it down to simmer for 15 – 20 minutes or until the rhubarb had broken up.

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce - in pot3 crop June 2018.jpg

Total prep time: 10 minutes
Total cook time: 25 minutes
Serving size: As much as you can eat! 1 cup I guess for regular serving

5.At this point you can add the sweetener of your choice, to your taste.

I had a lot of sauce and had a hankering for a cobbler.

Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler

• 2 cups millet flour
• 2 tbsp. butter
• ½ cup milk
• 2 large eggs
• ½ tsp. baking soda
• ¼ tsp. salt
• ½ tsp. cinnamon
• ⅛ tsp. ground allspice
• ¼ tsp. ground ginger
• Sweetener of choice to taste
• 1 tsp. vanilla or flavoring of choice
(I used vanilla/ginger)

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients together thoroughly or sift them together. If using sugar to sweeten, add it to the dry ingredients at this time.
  2. Melt the butter.
  3. Beat the eggs well and add the milk, (sweetening if honey or maple syrup), and flavoring to them.

Starwberry Rhubarb cobbler2 crop June 2018.jpg

4.Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well. Add the butter and mix well. Dough will be thick.
5.Spread over the top of the sauce.
6.Bake at 350F for ½ hour or until dough browns lightly. Serve with cream and remaining sauce.

Starwberry Rhubarb cobbler4 crop June 2018.jpg

I appreciate you reading this post and I hope you find this simple and easy recipe as quick and delicious as I do. It’s an old New England recipe. Rhubarb is one of the first fruits in the spring and June brings strawberries. So it satisfies the cravings for fresh fruits.

Sort:  

looking very tasty...

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

It looks delicious. I am going to write down the recipe. A great tasty treat.

And so easy!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love both..strawberries and rhubarb and have both growing in my yard! I'm going to save this recipe. I notice you said "millet flour", but I think plain white flour would also work as that is what I usually have on hand.

I expect white flour would work. I can't do wheat and haven't use it in decades. You might have to adjust the amount of flour though...

Millet is a lovely flour and I use it in many things. It has a pleasant flavor and imparts a nice golden hue to foods.

I would like to try some of the various organic flours but the cost is prohibitive! Luckily we can tolerate wheat ..so far!

It's 6.23 a.m here, but you know what, i would SO EAT THIS FOR BREAKFAST if it was in my fridge. I've seem rhubarbs and strawberries together a few times on steemit and I'm going to have to try it when strawberries are in season. We ripped up our strawberrie crop because the magpies just ate them all, and when i put netting over it, one got caught in the netting and I felt awful, so we decided that we'd rather the birds be happy. I might try another system this year though as I'm designing some wicking beds, and I think I can make a better cover for them that is magpie proof. (our maggies are different to yours, remember)

I don't believe we have magpies in New England. I gave up on strawberries here because the mice got them all. I pick and freeze from an organic farm just up the road.

I do believe I did have this for breakfast when I made it.... :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86