My One-Year Steemiversary 🎀

in #steemiversary6 years ago (edited)
My account was approved on 25-Sep-2017, so I have been here for one year today! Yay! Many thanks to @pixelfan for telling me about Steem on another site. I have enjoyed blogging here, have met many wonderful people, and never regretted my decision to become a Steemian. I have worked very hard since I have been here to be a kind, helpful, and valuable member.

In that time, I have accumulated 1118 followers. According to SteemAgency, however, 577 are "dead" followers who haven't been active on the blockchain in several months, so my net "active followers" is currently 541. (One can also use that site for weeding-out people you follow who no longer post, if you wish to pare-down your list.)

Also in that time, I have vested 821 SP. About 60 SP of that, if I remember correctly, was purchased by me awhile back when crypto prices were low. I have not cashed-out anything for myself, although I have given-away some Steem and SBD to charitable causes, as incentives in communities to which I belong, and as prizes in contests. My current Reputation Score according to SteemWorld is 58.737 — I had hoped to hit 60 by this time, but haven't yet attracted enough upvotes from Steemians with greater Rep than me to boost me higher (which is how that works, with the Reputation Score).

I have joined dozens of servers/communities on Discord, and have served as an Admin or Moderator in 10-12 of them. I left a few servers earlier this year, and my list stands around 40. Being a part of those Discord communities, which parallel projects and communities on the Steem blockchain, has been very rewarding!

The Steem blockchain is like a treasure chest, in several ways.

  • There is a treasure of wonderful people here. I've heard many folk say, "Come for the crypto, stay for the community" and I think that is a good testimony to the caliber of the majority of Steemians. I think those who are fake, abuse the system, or are pretentious are in the minority here, thankfully. I am grateful for the friendships I have made and the knowledge and support I have gained!
  • There is a treasure of wonderful posts here that provide a ready source of interesting reading on a large variety of topics. If a subject can be imagined, it has likely been covered in a Steemit post in some way, including narwhals, quarks, and pancakes. Music ranging from classical masterpieces to Deep House raves to Trip Hop have been featured. Many live performances can be found in #steemitopenmic and Discord servers. There's talk of cryptocurrencies, health, spiritual matters, and zombies. There is art, poetry, and short stories. We have it all!
  • There is a treasure of cryptocurrency for us to earn as we write posts. Not only can we currently earn Steem and anticipate Smart Media Tokens (SMTs), but we can learn of air-drops and ICOs and exchanges while we wait for it all to shoot to the Moon.

dottedline.png

Many people do something special for their Steemiversary, such as a contest, but I wanted something unique. So, I put on my thinking cap 🤔 and came up with this idea: a multi-faceted contest akin to a Treasure Hunt! Here is how to participate:

  • Solve the crossword puzzle below. All the words relate in some way to the Steem blockchain, so I hope it won't be too difficult (and hope I've worded the clues adequately).
  • Five of the boxes in the crossword puzzle are marked specially. Once the puzzle is solved, unscramble those five letters to make the name of a Steemian.
  • Go to that Steemian's blog and look for a certain post, which I will reveal to you, below. Read/Skim the post to answer the question that is also revealed below.
  • Take the answer to the question and make your own post that contains a drawing, a photo, a poem, or a short freewrite using the answer as your prompt.

    NOTE: Because of all the problems with HF20, I will accept responses to this contest via DM on Discord instead of a post on the Steem blockchain! I am also thekittygirl on Discord! Let the contest continue!

  • It is required that you tag me in your post with an at-mention; otherwise, I won't see it. An upvote of this post is appreciated, but not required. You can use steemiversary as one of your tags if you like, but that is also not required.
  • The first twelve to complete the challenge will win a share of Steem Basic Income (SBI), one share for each month I've been here. If only one person completes the challenge, all 12 SBI goes to them. If two complete it, then each will win 6 SBI, and so forth.
  • I hope this contest will be fun for everyone!

    incisel--PINKnarrow.png

    Step 1.

    Complete the following crossword puzzle:

    CrosswordPuzzle.jpg
    • CROSSWORD PUZZLE DESIGNED & DRAWN BY ME •

    Hints:

    1-across = Transactions are stored in a  ____________
    2-across = The best way to earn rewards on the platform?
    3-across = How to mark posts so people can find them?
    4-across = What provides network services to the blockchain?
    5-across = What is a unit of measurement for SteemPower?

    6-down = Who keeps the blockchain up-and-running?
    7-down = The basic unit of currency on the Steem blockchain?
    8-down = What was the first chain to fork off of Steem?
    9-down = What keeps your account secure?

    NOTE: You do not have to show me your answers to the crossword puzzle. Your answers will only be used by you for solving the next step!

    dottedline.png

    Step 2.

    Take the letters from the five specially-marked boxes in the crossword puzzle and unscramble them to form the name of a user on the Steem blockchain. (Hint: The name is also the name of a place on the earth.)

    dottedline.png

    Step 3.

    Take the unscrambled name of the Steemit user and go to their blog page. Scroll down the titles until you see the one talking about where old suitcases go to die. Read/Skim that post to find one of several things to which the butler speaks.

    Make your own post that contains a drawing (stick figures are okay!), a photo, a poem, or a short freewrite about one of those things. The butler doesn't have to be included — only one of the items to which he was speaking. Be sure to mention @thekittygirl in the post so I will see it when you publish it!

    NOTE: Because of all the problems with HF20, I will accept responses to this contest via DM on Discord instead of a post on the Steem blockchain! I am also thekittygirl on Discord! Let the contest continue!

    ⭐️ Winners will be announced when this post pays out, or when all 12 SBI have been claimed! THANKS FOR PLAYING and helping me celebrate my first Steemiversary!

    incisel--PINKnarrow.png

    To everyone who has befriended me, followed me, upvoted me, resteemed me, commented on my posts, delegated SP to me, or supported me in any other way: 🤗 THANK YOU!

    Cupcake.png
    source: clipartbest.com

    ThanksForReading.png 😊

    incisel--PINK.png

    a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

    GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

    SS-pansies-EN.jpg

    STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

    __pearls.png

Sort:  

Happy Steemiversary!!!❤️

Thank you, sweet lady! 😊

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you! 😊

Congrats on 1 year! I got mine a few weeks ago but had a lot on and never posted, but my reward is always getting to see wonderful posts, getting to post myself and the bonus of rewards for it, and overall enjoy the communities I am in.

Great idea to do a competition for it too.

Well, Happy Steemiversary to you, too! Thanks for the comment! 😊

Heck of a challenge but see if I can do it! Happy Steemiversary sweets!

Posted using Partiko Android

You fared very well with @dreemsteem's Treasure Hunts in PYPT, so I have faith in ya!
The crossword puzzle is a new twist, though! LOL! 😉

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much! 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much for the resteems! 😊

Congrats on the anniversary. 1 year is a great achievement and you seem to be doing it with the right attitude. Just enjoy your time here and get involved. Everything else comes with that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I have been super-involved, both on Steem and on Discord!
Thanks for your comment and the congratulations! 😊

Happy Steemiversary hon!!! You are a true blessing in the lives of many of us here and our journeys have been a much richer experience for knowing you!

It sure has been an interesting road in crypto this last year haha... heres hoping that the one ahead brings us all much bigger smiles lol ;)

Have a super duper day!! Mwah!!!

Thank you for the lovely comment and the sweet things you had to say! 😊
And yes, cheers to a smashing year ahead! 🍷 🍹

Happiest Steem Birthday!! Meow meow!!

Congratulations for reaching your one year. You have indeed achieve a lot.

Very nice challenge to go on hunting.. haha ill try to answer later, if I can!.. ⚘

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! 😊
Would love to see you complete the challenge; there is still some SBI up for grabs! 😉

Was all fun and games until step 3.

Like I said, even a crude, stick-figure drawing will work! And I will accept entries in DM on Discord to accomodate the concerns everyone has with RC and Mana at the moment! 😉

I had to read that story about five times to get it and I still don't get it. Will work on it tomorrow.

You don't have to understand the story. Just look for something with which the butler talked! There are three or four choices there, if I remember correctly. 😊

That guy talks to everything that isn't there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46