How to add your post to the Steemit Worldmap (and other updates)!

@blueorgy and I have been quite busy trying to improve the Steemit Worldmap. I've decided to make a short summary of the latest updates here. Because of all these updates you may have to reset your cache (ctrl + f5 on a windows computer).


Automatic steemitworldmap code

It's an idea that wasn't really in our todo-list, but I noticed a lot of users were still struggling with adding the code correctly inside their post. What this means is that I made a miscalculation in the user-friendliness of the Steemit Worldmap. I go more in depth about that in my problems from a developers POV post!

I figured it was about time I did something about that, so I've pretty much spend the whole day coding a little nifty feature. From now on you will see a little switch at the bottom of the Steemit Worldmap. Once you swap over to "code", you will get an empty map. You can click anywhere in the map, add your short description and voila, the Steemit Worldmap code will be generated for you. Clicking it copies it to your clipboard, so all you have to is paste it in your post!

automatedCode.PNG


FAQ section

We noticed that there was no "How to" or anything alike available on the website. Expanding a bit on that idea, we have now added a FAQ section. For now it holds some information about Steemit and a little "How-to"-section. Over time other FAQs will be added.

faqSWM.PNG


Image loading

Images used to load painfully slow if they weren't cached. We've applied a whole bunch of fixes in order to improve this, on average you can expect images to now load give or take four times as fast.

imagesSWM.PNG


Updated auto-comment

In order to get more people to use the Steemit Worldmap, we have added a little manual how-to section to the bot-comment. This should get some curious steemians to try it out, and I can't wait to indulge in more amazing content!

autoComment.PNG


Bugfixes

There was a bug where when users would put quotation marks in their description their post would not get added to the Steemit Worldmap, this issue has now been resolved.


Steemit worldmap


DQmdbhN3y64jrWwLXKbB19rFV1BnrHnnWnZABtn3573Yzdu.gif
1. Go to the Witness Voting Page on Steemit.com
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and locate the vote box
vote.png
3. Type (blueorgy) in the box and click vote.

Sort:  

i thought i could place photographs on the spot but hat does not seem to be able? I have pictures from this link made with worldmap but i think it does not come as a link? [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 35.406821 lat 25.017586 long Stunning apartment complex SIRENA d3scr)

I love the feature, really cool. What is the 'd3scr' for?

🌟 FANTASTIC!!! These updates solve all the issues you discussed in the Whaletank. This just took the ease of use to the next level.

I have been referring everyone with travlel/photography posts I come across to the Steemit Worldmap - creating the tag right there on the map will be the biggest help for me converting new users for you.

Right! I like to think that I have this talent off adapting on the fly when I see an issue that really needs solving! Obviously there are still some other improvements I should add, but I think this was a pretty big step in the right direction!

Thanks !

I usually post travel and photo's location in this service.

Upvote And resteem to share with my friends and then they can understand how to use It.

Thank you, I've seen your photos show up on the map! Looking forward to seeing more of them!

Wow! That's good. Thank you very much!

Great, especially the automatic code feature is really awesome! :) Keep up the great work!

Yeah, we've been working quite hard on making it more user friendly and I think that was one of the biggest steps in that direction!

Hi I tried adding my posts to the steemitworldmap but it wont work.. When I create the code manually the bot wont detect it and when I go to the website to create the code automatically it wont let me click on a location. I can only drag the map around and zoom.
Maybe you can tell me whats wrong with the code, I put it all the way on the bottom of this post:
https://steemit.com/travel/@bypaul/traveling-to-southeast-asia-the-best-trainride-of-my-life-myanmar

Furthermore I just noticed, that my post: https://steemit.com/blog/@bypaul/hiking-in-austria-schneealpe has two replies stating, that it has been added to the worldmap. (It is only once on the worldmap website)

I see one is still the old comment, did you possibly made any edits to the post (that should trigger the bot again to reflect any possible changes made)!

I did edit the post, that might be the reason. Do you maybe have a solution to my other problem adding my other post to the worldmap?

Oh, I totally missed that one, my bad!

Regarding the automated code: hard refresh the page (ctrl + f5 on windows), check if that fixes it! If not let me know!

Also your post did make it on the map (I can see it in Myanmar), but probably you didn't get an auto-comment because the bot probably just made a comment somewhere else too (within 20 seconds an account can't post a new comment)! We're working on fixing that though!

I tried hard refreshing it several times, it didnt work..
The post in myanmar is my other post, I have 2 posts in myanmar but only the first one shows up :(

Oh yeah, just noticed!

Hmm, with the hard refresh the automatic code still doesn't work? Can you press F12 and tell me if there is any error that pops up?

On the post, one thing you can try is to edit it -> take out the code -> wait 5 minutes -> put in the code again and make a slight adjustment in it (like adding or removing a character) -> wait 5 minutes! That might fix it! (Also make sure to double check the lat, long just to be sure)! I'm now making the Daily Travel Post and I will feature this post either way as it's an amazing post! I hope we can get on the map!

It didnt show any error with F12..
However I just had the idea to change browser (why didnt I think earlier of this!) and used Chrome instead of Firefox. With Chrome it works like a charm! I copied the code and not even a minute later it was added :D

here to support this project :) Upvoted

Awesome, thank you so much for your support!

By the way, I occasionally play Heroes of the Storm (new), Hearthstone (legend) and WoW (private server cata arena 2.3k rating)! So if I can help you with the gaming channel in a way, let me know!

join on our discord server who knows maybe we will at least play something :)

Can you throw me a link? Probably won't be for anytime soon as tomorrow I'm leaving for Steemfest, haha!

hi im just new here and im a bit confuse with all the codes and some stuffs on adding steemitworldmap on my future blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55