Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks- Week #7

Hello Family! It's me again!

Once again, I appreciate Sir @dobartim, the man of the people, for an opportunity to speak up about what this wonderful platform means to me. Thank you Sir!


![IMG_20180304_095820.jpg]()



I am Uwakmfon Ekpe, known on steemit as @wakkylyon. I live in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. This is my second entry for this contest, and this time, I feel the need to keep it plain.  Click on the link below to view the first 

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@wakkylyon/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-week-6


OK. So I'm two months old on steemit, and it's been an amazing journey. At this point, once more, I appreciate @miltonforex for showing me the light, and never failing with the encouragements and inspiration.


![IMG_20180314_080647.JPG]()


I am part of numerous steemit communities though I really identify with the stach, steemgigs, steemit school and minnow support communities. These families have helped mould my steemit personality and are a huge part of my success story.



When I was introduced to steemit, I was given the idea that I would get to earn good financial rewards, and have the best platform to showcase my talents/creativity, and build them too. I jumped at the idea since I already had a locked up passion for writing and singing that I wanted to redeem.



However, I was advised not to channel too much energy into making the money, but developing good contents and interacting, then in maybe three months, the money would start rolling in. Well, just few weeks later, all my activities started paying off, though in bits. This made my routines here even more interesting.


I will always give special thanks to @dongentle2 for his rock solid dependability and patience. He has guided me through all the stages I had to experience, and I should say, successfully drills out the best in me whenever needed.


I was still pushing with the initial energy I came in with until one day, I came across a post by @rok-sivante titled, "Retreat, Reflections, And The Service Of Writing" https://steemit.com/life/@rok-sivante/retreat-reflections-and-the-service-of-writing

After reading the article, I could finally put into words what I had been feeling lately. I realized that everyone had their reasons for joining steemit, or developed one when they came onboard, but it has to take a different energy to sustain your stay here, a more defined one, or the interest disappears without a trace.


It was then clear to me that, although I came to unleash my talents and make money, I had to serve too, the community and myself. Steemit had given me the responsibility of writing good contents, and satisfying in whatever little way I could, whomever chose to visit my blog. It became my decision to make, whether to take up the responsibility or not.


I have always loved writings that lift thevsoul, so I accepted the responsibility, I took responsibility for every mind that would be exposed to my content, I made sure there was something in there for everyone, but my main target has always been to reach out to the entirety of just one person. If one person could see the light I was trying to shine, then I'd be satisfied.


I have no idea if I would have known this otherwise, but I know steemit took me levels farther in life with that knowledge. So although I want to make it big on steemit, it was no longer all about the money.


Talking about money, with the little I've earned from steemit, I'm more confident about my productivity and passion. I'm certain that in a little time, I'll be financially free, courtesy steemit, and happier doing what I love. There will be no struggle or competition, because steemit offers to everyone equal chances to explore and succeed.


To say more about what steemit has come to mean to me, I was not usually the very social kind, I always loved my space. That's not always such a bad thing, but having engaged in numerous interactions and built wonderful relationships on steemit, I'd rather break out of the box! It's so much fun sharing ideas with beautiful and creative minds, and learning things I wouldn't otherwise.


Another thing this did for me was the opportunity to join in this contest. I used to take up some challenges on the platform, but this contest is my first major. I would wonder how I'd make it to the top with the possibility of thousands of people contesting, but now, I no longer have that problem. I wrote Sir @dobartim in one of his comment sections telling him about my first entry, his reply was: "Never Give Up". That day, I knew I won't get to win, but I felt like a winner, I felt unstoppable! I decided it doesn't always have to be about winning the race, but being a part of the race. This is all so much fun, and I can't let my fears cheat me into not wanting to be a part of it. Steemit means this much to me!


Steemit is still young, but it's impact is already captivating. I have learnt so much everyday, and I keep becoming a whole new and more interesting person everyday. There was a time I would just wave my desire to write, but now, thanks to steemit, every moment of penning down a word is priceless!


I believe so much in entrepreneurship, and I was thinking I would get around that in maybe two years. Well, two months later, I'm thinking of starting something in a few months, because steemit has helped me plan my life better with all it offers.


I hope to be able to return to this awesome community the meaning it has given to my life someday. So I'm not going anywhere, I'm keeping my watch!


Thanks again @dobartim and the organizing team, @flysky and @aidasfg7 for the opportunity to share this piece of me with this family.


![IMG_20180304_095613.jpg]()



Thanks for staying till the end.


To be a part of the ongoing contest, click on the link below

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-7-registration-is-in-progress-last-week

Sort:  

Thanks @madushanka. Good to see you again.

You're highly welcome @wakkylyon. Wish you all the best for winning contest.

Thanks dear.

Oh thanks for always viewing. I appreciate your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16