Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - Week #2


Image source

Steemit has been one of those great life choices that I have made. I stumbled onto it entirely by chance. It was introduced to me by a friend of mine. In conjunction with @dobartim’s steemitultimatechallenge initiative, I thought that this would offer a great platform to share about how Steemit has changed my life in different aspects of communication.

Someone once said, ‘in life do what you are good at, be the best at it and you will find success.’ The problem with that statement is that it keeps us within our very own comfort zone, it stops us as individuals from venturing out into the great unknown. It stops us from ever accepting change.

That being said, I have never subscribed to that statement and I am glad that I have stepped out to do something like Steemit. This is because it has helped me in so many aspects of my life.

Life Communications


Image source

Steemit has helped me in communicating about life with others. For one, it is place where you can really start a meaningful conversation on certain issues. I have a passion for education and I use Steemit as a platform to communicate about my life experiences as a teacher.

I feel that there are many who see the teaching profession as a joke. I say this because there are many who remark that I only teach because I could do no other thing but teach. I could engage in a long discussion with them, but I would rather use Steemit as a platform for me to communicate my life experiences as a teacher. I use Steemit to talk about how I have impacted many others positively and how meaningful this career has been to me and to others.

It has been a great experience especially knowing that there are many who identify with me and appreciate what I have written. Education is definitely not one of the trending tags, however, the lessons learnt from it can also be applied in many aspects of life. One of this is in talking about failure.

Steemit is the perfect example of learning to fail. Most of us did not get pass the payout post of 0.01 until much later. When my first post was a few cents, I thought to myself, this is rubbish. I wondered why would I even bother writing if not one is ever going to read my post.

It was a good thing that I did not give up and continued writing. I have been enjoying every bit of it. This gave me an opportunity to encourage others to do the same, especially in talks with the local community.

Through this, I have met many people online and offline who have been an inspiration. The thing is, I was never much of a social media person. I have always thought that the likes of Facebook and Instagram was a waste of time. After five months of Steemit, this has completely changed my perspective of what social media can do.

Financial Communications


Image source

When I communicate with others about Steemit, I am sure the question of finance does come up from time to time. It is true that the potential of huge financial payouts are there. Although I value the relationships built on Steemit, I do have to admit that I was hooked to the financial potential of Steemit when I first signed on. While it is not a bad thing, Steemit has helped me see it as a way to impact communities financially.

It can be difficult to fork out a good amount of money to support any community project, but Steemit has helped me raise funds for education projects. This is because it does not take much effort to write a post about a project and the community that needs help. Once the post is done and through upvotes, a project can be supported. I have written posts in support of projects by to buy equipment for schools and educating the local community on Steemit.

It’s good to see friends on Steemit helping each other to be a positive impact on each other’s lives. While a like on Facebook is good, it is nothing compared to seeing an actual contribution by someone take place in a form of an upvote or a resteem. It is here that I feel supported and it is on this platform that I feel that we can really change the lives of many who are in need meaningfully.

Sure, the upvotes may not be worth a lot, but it is the thought that counts. Some of my followers when upvoting my community project would apologize for only upvoting my post for 0.01 cent at a 100% voting power. But it is very meaningful to see how people are doing the best they can to help. It certainly beats Facebook in many aspects.

Education Communications


Image source

I saved this aspect of communication for last because I have learnt so much here. Chief of them is about how to write and format a post. Its safe to say that I have picked up a little on blogging. All my life I have done nothing but write for academic papers and for formal occasions. While that is good, I do have to say that I have no idea how to write informally. Thus, it was fun learning about how to write from the comments of others.

Furthermore, I have also learnt a lot from my fellow Steemians on Steem’s potential as a whole and not to mention about cryptocurrency. It is safe to say that Steemit was my gateway to other altcoins and cryptocurrencies. Competitions by the likes of @originalworks and posts from @altcoin-buzz has kept me updated on the latest in cryptocurrency.

The education on Cryptocurrency has been invaluable, it made me realize that I am part of something new, great and with so much potential. Steemit has been the best education experience, helping me learn things that no conventional university course or lesson can offer.

Conclusion

It is safe to say that Steemit has been a great learning experience, it has helped me in my ability to communicate about life better, seeing things in a very different perspective. Furthermore, it has taught me about blogging and cryptocurrency that I can’t even imagine. They say the best teacher is experience and the experience on Steemit has been the best so far.

The best of all is of course when I communicate with others on Steemit’s potential on finance. Most can see the value of my wallet on Steemit and I can tell them about how awesome Steemit is. However, when I cash out the money to help them, that act speaks volumes and it communicates nothing but potential and a better future for us all.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

CorneliusGKopke Cornelius G. Kopke tweeted @ 16 Mar 2015 - 11:31 UTC

#QuoteOfTheWeek: "#Experience is the #Teacher of #All #Things." Julius Caesar #JuliusCaesar #Quote http://t.co/75cA4gvIPu

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85