Steemit Talent Contest Week 3 - Something Awful - an original song by @bennettitalia

in #steemittalentcontest6 years ago (edited)

For this song I made drum tracks with a homemade drum "kit" 😉 , two tracks with 2nd guitars playing melodic hooks, a track for lead guitar on the break, and backing vocals! Whew. This was more time than I've put into any of my Steemit music videos so far, but I'm pretty happy with the end result. I'm just beginning to learn to mix tracks so that they form a cohesive whole, and there's a steep learning curve, but I think this was a step in the right direction.

My homemade drum "kit":

kick: an empty plastic jar

stick/snare: a pen and the side of my guitar

high hat: a shaker egg

Recorded on Photobooth, then loaded into Garageband.

This is a brand new song, written in the past few days.

Hope you enjoy it!

Something Awful

You're always gonna be that thing I want but can never truly have
And any tiny taste I take I know I'm being bad
Any little taste we take only makes us sad
But it's better than nothing
Better than nothing

So turn to me with that hungry hurt look in your eyes
We have gone so far beyond taking comfort in lies
But to feel my fingers on your skin one more time
Is better than nothing
It's better than nothing

And I love the taste of you
So I'll taste you 'til there's nothing left
I'll hold you to my body
Like a smoker with a cigarette
A junkie with a needle
I'll take what I can get
I don't need you
But I want you
Something awful

Something Awful

And if you leave today who knows when you'll be coming back?
It could be never and who wants that?
The drape of your hair, the quirk of your lips, only your eyes laugh
But it's better than nothing
It's better than nothing

'Cause I love the taste of you
So I'll taste you 'til there's nothing left
I'll hold you to my body
Like a smoker with a cigarette
A junkie with a needle
I'll take what I can get
I don't need you
But I want you
Something awful

Something awful

©2018 Bennett Italia

Sort:  

Awesome bro great job with this! I could see this in a movie soundtrack!

Thanks Bryan, glad you like it! This one was really fun to make :)

I was so thinking the same @bryandivisions. This has Disney soundtrack written all over it! 😂 Oh and what was that movie with Kiera knightley and Adam from maroon 5???

Bennett!

This is awesome!

I love your drum kit. Your mixing is pretty awesome too.

Next... you use split screen so we get to see you playing the drums.

😍

!!!

Glad you liked it 😊

I have to figure out how to split the screen... For this one, I would have had to split the screen so many times! I played each piece of the drum kit separately, and then there are the second and lead guitars, and backing vocals... that's like 7 screens 😅

But I'll definitely be doing more with "drum kits", guitar overlays, leads, etc. This was time consuming but FUN :)

OMG! I thought I heard all those extra sounds!

7 is a LOT of screens! But, damn. It's be awesome.

I tend to spend tons of time on things too. 😏 But if you're enjoying yourself- why not?

Clever and satisfying incorporation of percussion. And I never considered using photobooth for something like this!

Thanks @eyedreemit! Yeah Photobooth is what I've been using. This week I'm experimenting with recording multiple tracks on Garageband, then recording myself singing lead vocals over the top in Photobooth at the same time I record it in GB. Wish me luck ;D

Good luck!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This is AMAZING. Seriously. Catchy with fanfreakingtastic lyrics. I love it. I want my musician daughter to hear it, too! You did a wonderful job and I love that you used what was at hand for your instruments. Seriously awesome, man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63565.69
ETH 3484.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53