100 Days of Poetry Challenge Update [Day 9]

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

100 Days of Poetry Challenge
-----Update [Day 9]-----

Winners of Day 5 Announced!


day8thumbnail 2.jpg


starneg4.jpg


Introduction

Hey everyone! Welcome to the update for our 100 day poetry journey. Day 9 will be beginning as of 6 PM GMT. Our live poetry class in the Steemit School Discord will begin at that hour as well, lasting until 8 PM GMT. All interested in learning more about poetry are welcome to attend, not just participants in the challenge. We are still going through the building blocks of poetry and will discuss metaphor & simile today. We also have time towards the end of our class to recite poetry for each other, so feel free to bring something in to read!


day8thumbnail 3.jpg


Changes to challenge operation & reminders

I'm keeping this reminder about skip days here so everyone sees it:

Skip days over the course of the challenge is now increased from 7 to 10. HOWEVER, there is a maximum of 2 skip days in a row. 3 skips in a row will result in a disqualification. The main reason is that it destroys the "perpetual motion" this challenge is designed to foster. If you have an emergency, or some extenuating circumstance, please contact me directly.

Everyone should now have permission for posting in their respective categories in the Discord. If you don't, it is probably due to having a different screen name on Discord than on Steemit. In this case please DM me (@d-pend#5693) and we will get you placed!


day8thumbnail 4.jpg


Winners


Day 5 winners are announced! Because of how the challenge is designed, there will be a delay in announcing winners for a few days. I appreciate all your great entries!

Day 5

Beginner — @dhavey

"Still I rise"

Intermediate — @blessedben

"Deceit"

Advanced — @quillfire

"Raving refrain"

Again, always happy to see the great diversity in style/approach and the progress each one of you is making. Keep it up! Sending 3 SBD to each of the winners after I publish this post.


starneg3.jpg


Class recap

Two days ago we discussed expectations in class: those of the reader, and those of the poet. We discussed "reaching a little further" for more unusual and surprising images, rather than employing tired cliches that fall short of their intended effect. We explored staying open-minded when writing in order to discover how the poem wants to express itself rather than pre-defining everything about the piece.

Yesterday we had a clipped class due to some extenuating circumstances, but heard several people read their poems.

Today, as mentioned at the top, we will discuss metaphor & simile, one of the most basic building blocks of poetry. However, we will not just stay on the surface level but seek to expound why this device is so powerful for human art & thinking. Class will start soon after I publish this post, so please join! If you have not come before I encourage you to check it out! https://discord.gg/yZvYjfM


day8thumbnail 6.jpg


Workshops / Special Events

No workshops or events are currently announced. If you are interested in holding one in the future, please let me know!


starneg5.jpg


Thank you for your entries!

Are you hitting a creative wall yet? Will you break down or break through!? I'm so appreciative of all the hard work and perseverance of the participants. Much gratitude and respect!


day8thumbnail 6.jpg


Thank you for your donations!

1.@hopehuggs (50 SBD)
2.@carmalain7 (11.11 SBD)
3.@madushanka (10 SBD)
4.@moeknows (5.44 SBD)
5.@taliakerch (5 SBD)
6.@violetmed (5 SBD)
7.@josediccus (5 STEEM)
8.@whack.science (3.14 SBD)
9.@corderosiete (1 SBD)
10.@johnrenald (1 SBD)
11.@nicholas83 (1 SBD)
12.@flysky (1 SBD)
13.@mineopoly (1 STEEM)
14.@emekasegun (0.2 SBD)
15.@setiagunawan (0.1 SBD)
16.@nasrol (0.1 SBD)

Donations go towards the 2000 SBD total prizes for this challenge. They are highly appreciated because otherwise, the rewards are coming directly from my own earnings/savings (which, however, I am more than willing to do!) To donate, you can send to our dedicated account @steemitpoetry, or directly to me, @d-pend. I am keeping track of them all in a spreadsheet. Please let me know if you feel your donation was somehow missed. Thanks again!!


starneg5.jpg


negativeoctagonalspacepad.jpg


octagonalspacepad 2.jpgoctagonalspacepad 3.jpg


Writing & images
By @d-pend
3/15/18

Join the Steemit school
Discord here: https://discord.gg/yZvYjfM
Become part of the movement!


negativeoctagonalspacepad 2.jpgnegativeoctagonalspacepad 3.jpg


octagonalspacepad.jpg


Sort:  

oh metaphor, simile...all is known-) I studied in receiving my higher education-) we lost many hours looking for them in different texts and analysing then, and I had good marks, it was interesting-)
now I probably have forgot much but your poetry makes me remember-)

it's a great pity I dont have time to attend clases, because I'm so busy that have free time only at night-(
maybe does anybody make records?-) I'll be glad to listen to it when I am free.

@d-pend,

This is the first money the Savagerean Sonnet has ever made! History. :-) Thanks mate.

You did amazing, and you deserve to win, congratulations buddy

Thank you so much @d-pend for taking a decision to help others grow, thank you for this challenge i never thought i could write 6 poems in 6 days but here i am and it can only get better.
Thank you and congratulations to all the winners.

please am inquiring. How do I join the challenge? Do I start my journey from Day1 or do I have to continue from the current day?

Congratulations to winners of day 5. I keep reading wonderful and diverse poetry each day. It has opened my eyes to a lot of new things and styles. I'm grateful for the challenge.
How far with the optional theme for chosen days? Is that still a possibility, @d-pend?

Thanks for the updates on the contest and class summary @d-pend. I'm honored to be included with these great poets. Because of time zone differences it is really hard for me to follow live. I keep in mind all that I learn from your summary. Although I do not apply it everyday. I have a hard time to go beyond the mundane. I will try to "reach a little further." Honestly I miss your podcasts. Later I would like to hear it again. :)

@mineopoly

Congratulations everybody. It's a shame I joined Steemit a few days late to sign on to this challenge but I await the results each day eagerly, simply as a great way to find new writers on the platform.

Another amazing update @d-pend, the contest is really getting into an amazing climax, I enjoyed the entries, and so far it's been amazing

Congratulations to the winners,have a nice day.

winners are doing really amazing today so nice to see it :)

Congratulations to the winners:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06