Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #28 (Theme - Turn your Dip into Sandwiches): 4th Entry - Middle Eastern Baba Ghanoush Pita Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

What is your favourite vegetable? For me, I would have to say eggplant. And, if you ask me why? My answer is quite strange - I love eggplant because of its colour and look, lol. Of course, it tastes great as well, especially when it's grilled, baked or fried.

I have a dip recipe that's made from eggplant and it's called Baba Ghanoush, which is a middle eastern dish. However, many other cultures also use eggplant to make dip or spread. For example, my husband’s family from Romania has their own version of eggplant salad/spread.

Going along with my theme this week, ie. to turn dips into sandwiches, I made a Middle Eastern Baba Ghanoush Pita Sandwich. It was sort of inspired by a fantastic meal I had at Souk Tabule in the Canary District of Toronto, which I wrote about here previously.

I really had fun with this sandwich! To make sure readers get to see what's going on inside the pita sandwich, I opted to make it looks like an open shell sandwich.

IMG_20180219_152125.jpg

IMG_20180219_152240.jpg

IMG_20180219_152248.jpg

IMG_20180219_152609.jpg

Here are the Ingredients:
Baba Ghanoush - eggplant, garlic, salt, lemon juice, tahini, cayenne, olive oil, yoghurt
Sandwich - baba ghanoush, pita bread, tomato, basil, boiled eggs, salt and pepper

Here are the steps:

  • Make the Dip: roast eggplants in oven, once cooked, remove the skin and mash, let it sits for 15 minutes and then add crushed garlic, salt, pepper, lemon juice, tahini, olive oil, yoghurt
  • Make other toppings: to make marinaded tomato - chop tomato, add oil, salt, pepper, garlic, chop boiled eggs and basil
  • Warm the pita bread in oven, open up the pita, spread the eggplant dip, layer with eggs, then sprinkle with marinaded tomato and basil

GIFMaker.org_cRsPnk.gif

I had the sandwich for lunch. But, I was hungry shortly after, so I snacked on the Baba Ghanoush with some basil oil infused pita crackers.

IMG_20180219_143752.jpg

Sort:  

wow, this looks amazing!

this is so funny and creative

Wow this looks gorgeous & delicious @steemit-foodie, I just love egg-plant!

Love Baba Ghanoush. Good choice adding the boiled egg!

Thought the mouse trap style pres was hilarious with the toothpicks

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 00:33:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 169.73/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51