Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 6 entry no2 - '' Blackberry Apple Toasties ''steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello Everyone, this is my second entry for this weeks SteemitSandwichContest hosted by @jaybird. So many incredible creations have been submitted over the past few weeks, really pushing the boundaries of what can be defined as a Sandwich. Creativity is fully encouraged in this contest so I hope you enjoy my handheld twist on Blackberry and Apple crumble.
IMG_20170916_164947.jpg

Im not a master of Toasties like my mum is, so i was very happy with how these turned out. I finally learnt my lesson about not overfilling them. My only disaster was that my tin of custard turned out to be rice pudding! but i put some in anyway :)
IMG_20170916_164537.jpg

Frozen Blackberries that i picked the other day with my little helpers. They looked amazing all frosted with ice crystals! They also make good icecubes for cocktails.
IMG_20170916_153326.jpg

The key for good Toasties is to heavily butter the outside of the bread to stop it sticking. Also don't over-pack them as the filling will just bubble out the sides and make a mess. I cooked up the apple on a low heat with a splash of water, lemon juice, and a spoonfull of sugar. Then added the Blackberries and cooked for a few more minutes.
IMG_20170916_163116.jpg

I put a spoonfull of Rice Pudding on top of the fruit (would have been better with custard or creme fraiche) Then Pressed in the hot Toasted Sandwich Maker until Steaming and Golden. They were a great success but i would like to try out some different breads, maybe white honey and oat bread.
IMG_20170916_164859.jpg

Thanks for Stopping by, and I Hope you enjoyed my Original Creation! Cheers :)

Sort:  

This looks fantastic and I love berries. Must enjoy them when they are in season. Did your little helpers finish them all? Or you did, lol? Hope I'll have little helpers soon, so that I could send them to run little errands for me, LOL.

Yeah i had to make 2 batches they polished off the first lot as soon as they were cool enough to eat, those little fingers are great for picking berries :)

haha - adorable.

What do we have here lol...

Blackberry and Apple crumble... Daddy likey!

Great use of the grill cheese sandwich maker here. I used to have one, applying to this here sandwich (bc it closes them off at the ends) make it seem like a bunch of little apple pies!

This is a kinda like a breakfast or dessert sandwich !

Custard really would have taken it home i wasnt happy when i opened the tin and saw rice pudding, but i will definately make this one again with modifications :) cheers @jaybird

ya rice pudding must have been a real let down :(

Custard all the way baby!

Woah I've never seen 'toasties' before- but it reminds me of a pop tart. :) These are so cute and fruity!! Also it's cute that you compared yours to your moms :) Yumm!

These were a big part of my childhood, baked bean toasties, shepherd pie toasties, everything goes good in a toastie, ive got a cool old style toastie maker that you can use over the camp fire i might give it a dust off :)

This post has received a 100.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @owenwat. Steem on my friend!

Get Upvotes and Join Our Trail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36