Steemit Sandwich Contest Week#55 - Bacon & Banana French Toasties

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Another week gone by and as I told everyone in my #cookwithus post, it was not a good one; but we have to eat and sandwiches always are the very best standby in times of trouble.

Thanks to @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest #55, hubby was all smiles as he got one of his favourite sandwiches for breakfast - Bacon & Banana French Toasties, loaded with eggy bread, cheese melts, Banana fried in a thin layer of smoky Bacon fat, crispy streaky Bacon & fried Onion rings. Topped with a little heart-shaped French Toast & a couple of Cheese crisps on the side, hubby's heart just melted and he surrendered to all my demands :)

IMG_20180826_101031.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

  • Honey & Oats Bread - divine bread that I grab as they bake a limited number
  • Egg - seasoned & beaten
  • Streaky bacon - crisply fried
  • Banana - sliced and fried in a little Bacon fat
  • Onion rings - fried in the same pan
  • Cheddar Cheese - grated

Cut a heart shape out of 1 slice bread
Fry Bacon in a little Olive Oil till crisp - remove & keep warm
Dip bread in beaten egg & fry in Bacon fat, top with grated cheese after turning bread - remove & keep warm
IMG_20180826_095400.jpg
Fry Onion rings & Banana slices
IMG_20180826_095601.jpg

Now for the assembly line:

  • First layer of course was the cheese which has melted nicely by now
    IMG_20180826_095846.jpg
  • Second in line is fried Banana
    IMG_20180826_100051.jpg
  • Crispy fried Bacon goes on top of the sweet fried Bananas
    IMG_20180826_100258.jpg
  • Fried Onion rings make their appearance
    IMG_20180826_100452.jpg
  • Little heart-shaped French toast comes to rest on top of all this deliciousness
    IMG_20180826_100526.jpg
  • Garnished with crispy little Cheese toasties
    IMG_20180826_101023.jpg

My proof photo - please excuse the faint hand written sign
IMG_20180826_101012.jpg

The salty/ smoky/ sweetish flavours of fried Bananas & Bacon always is an excellent pairing - the addition of melted cheese & Onion rings just added extra zing to the mix.
IMG_20180826_100831.jpg

And a quick look at how to assemble this sandwich:
IMG_20180826_095400-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

I am going to make this one for my son and me for a late night snack! I don't dare share these sandwiches with the little Cling-ons. I'd be making sandwiches all day long! 🤣

Hope you enjoy it @cecicastor, I really admire what you do for the little Cling-ons ;)

Wow, I'm really into this one! Love a good french toast with bananas especially!

I really like that you fried them to bring out the sweetness a bit more.

Honey & Oats Bread sounds incredible to nice find and addition!

And of course I strongly approve of your bacon and onions :)

very creative take on a classic food. Excellent pres too!

Thank you so much @jaybird, it was really delicious :)

Congratulations @lizelle!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 241 (8/29/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I am a fan of all kind of sandwiches, especially when I try something new. And I can't wait to eat one of these too! :)

Thank you for your support, you'll have to travel to South Africa and I'll make one of these just for you @gabrielatravels :)

It looks great, but I don't know if I could do the bananas. I enjoy bananas plain, but I don't like bananas in things or banana flavored things. Every other part of it I would totally decimate though! Great post and awesome pictures!

Thank you for your support @bozz, the sweet & savoury actually is really great, but I will leave out the banana just for you ;)

Thanks I appreciate it! 😂

Morning breakfast cant be better than this..looks delicious..👍

Posted using Partiko Android

You need to give a treat of all delights 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Wish to get a call for some lizelle veggie delights😉...hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

@lizelle This looks amazing! And I love your heart-shaped cutting board! So cute! I bet your husband loved this delicious-looking sandwich!

Thank you @ilsaione, he did enjoy it! That's my favourite wooden board, nice to meet new contestants here, you're doing very well. @jaybird really is a great guy :)

Thanks for the warm welcome @lizelle! And yes, @jaybird seems like a really nice guy and very generous to be hosting this contest! It has been getting me wanting sandwiches once a week and thinking on what I can concoct for the next week.

I told @jaybird I've never been a sandwich lover but since entering his contest I'm constantly thinking of sandwiches :):)

I know! So many people getting into sandwiches thanks to @jaybird!

You can say you put your "heart" into this one, hehe. I've never had bacon and banana together plus cheese...it all looks so good. I love all the crispy cheesy bits on this creation.

Thank you @loveself, you must try that combo, it is very good :)

Wow - that's an interesting combination of flavours! Banana and bacon - have never tried that!

It's a real good combo, thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56704.57
ETH 3000.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.20