Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 22 - Vegan Party Platter

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

My entry for @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 22 - Vegan Style Theme.
This was a real challenge as I am not vegan, and did not think one could make interesting sandwiches without meat or fish. Had great fun with this one!
9 VeganS.jpg

The ingredients I gathered initially was:
Chopped Spring Onions, chopped Mushrooms, chopped Spinach, 3/4 cup Dairy free 'Milk' (I used a dairy free coffee creamer) Soy Milk would also work.
Cornflour, Seasoning, Cherry Tomatoes, Roasted Garlic & Onion Marmalade, Rye & Rooibos Bread (you can use any bread).
2 VeganS.jpg

I fried the spring onions & mushrooms in a little oil.
3 VeganS.jpg

After adding the spinach, then the vegan milk & thickening it with the cornflour mixed to a paste with a little extra vegan milk, the mixture looked way too dull, so I added a handful of frozen corn & seasoned it to taste, tasted very yummy indeed!
5 VeganS.jpg

This base filling was left to cool while I toasted the bread, cut off crusts & cut them into fingers. Base filling spooned on top as soon as it had cooled down.
6 VeganS.jpg

This is where the fun part started - what about making little swiss rolls with white bread? Crusts removed, topped with our creamy yummy vegan filling & halved cherry tomatoes placed down the centre.
7 VeganS.jpg

After rolling the little sandwich swiss roll up, I placed it in refrigerator to set before slicing.
8 veganS.jpg

More colourful veggies were brought onto the scene -
Red & yellow peppers, sliced thinly and place in the centre to make little arches across the sandwich fingers.
Yummy Roasted Garlic & Onion Marmalade, Cherry Tomatoes as well as fresh garden baby peas all added to the symphony of colours!
1 VeganS.jpg
Babushka Dolls patiently waiting to be served :)

IMG_20180108_090100_1-1664x1248.jpg
Proof

Thank you @jaybird for SSC, I'm just sorry I was such a late starter, never thought sandwich making could be so much fun :)

Original Content by @lizelle
All images my own.
Please upvote, comment and resteem if you enjoyed my post.

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone
Sort:  

Hey, @lizelle I am a curator from the new Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 8th January. Your post will be awarded with a 25 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server.

Here's a link https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/the-ninth-whaleshares-curation-show-with-nikflossus-23-59-gmt-or-6-59est Hope to see you there!

Thank you so very much @lindahas, this is such an honour, I'm super excited! I live in South Africa, will be 2 am here, so sadly I will miss it, have to make an early start in the morning, run a little bnb and have to feed 2 students! But a heartfelt thank you to everyone at Whaleshares, so nice to see one's efforts being appreciated. Enjoy the discussion, exciting times :):)

Haha, no problem, I know it is a tricky time for half of the world! Get some good night sleep and have an amazing day tomorrow!

Thank you again for spotting my colourful sandwiches :)

No problem, they look amazing and yummy!

Thank you for supporting one of Steemit Sandwich Contest's participant @lizelle :)

No problem, she deserves it!

There were many great entries for Week 22, her's was definitely among the possible winners discussed.

Well, I am rooting for her! I am no vegan but those make me hungrey! :)

Thanks! Too bad these @lizelle 's sandwiches didn't grab the first place but there is always the next week!

She's taken the cake in the past on more than 1 occasion ;)

But totally. As you may have seen, it was pretty difficult to choose the top 3.

Not to mention, 2nd place is always selected by the previous week's 2nd place winner and this week we also had a 'Special Guest' judge helping with 1rst & 3rd prize choices.

Ah thank you @lindahas, really appreciate your support, thanks for spotting it, was such a nice surprise being able to grab the attention of Whaleshares, you guys do an awesome job saving us from drowning in this enormous steemit ocean!

Those look great! I'm not big on vegetarian dishes myself but I would so grab some before the Babushka dolls eat them :D

Thank you @therneau, I love vegan dishes but have never attempted vegan sandwiches; enjoyed putting these together :)

Oh my god! This looks Fantastic. You keep rockin the SSC Entries!

Great ingredients list, love the colours and what I can only speculate are an excellent combo of tastes.

Thank you for your amazing contest @jaybird, seeing such awesome entries! I honestly did not know sandwiches could be so much fun, you asked for colourful not so :)

Well, I was hoping that the contest in general would be more fun & silly than anything else. So far so good. Even though some ppl are seriously good at making food they seem to be joking around and just doing their thing which has been great.

Honestly I thought you made vegan sushi when I first saw your photo lol. Really nice pres with that wooden board.

I'm not a vegan, but some of the most tasteful foods I have consumed have been vegan. Vegan's have a remarkable skill of using spices to perfection.

That's for sure @bushkill, I just love spicy vegan foods. We have a large Indian community here in Durban so are blessed with excellent vegan restaurants and take aways. Thanks for stopping by :)

I have an Indian friend that I use to share an office with. If he didn't have a napkin in his hand to wipe the sweat off his forehead while he ate, the food was not spicy enough. 🔥

Only a bad cook doesn't eat well as a vegetarian, looking good. From a fellow South African.

Thanks for stopping by @chr7is, I love vegetarian food but don't have much experience cooking it. Worked with a vegan friend who always brought the most tasty and interesting food to work.

Such a creative platter and I absolutely love all of the colours :-)

Thank you @foodflaneur, but I just loved your entry, was amazing!

Ha, so loved the taste of this combination of flavours! Speaking as the guinea pig, that is!
What's next my love?

Thank you King Arthur ;)

Hello @lizelle really nice entry very creative and look very good. Well done.

Thank you @mihail.tsvetkov, appreciate your comments, it was super fun!

Looks good for a light lunch in vegan style @lizelle love the dalahaus from Sweden putting a giddy-up in the photo.

An international flair with babushka dolls from Russia, all living down in Durban South Africa.

The Dala horse was a gift from Swedish guests @joanstewart, he told all the Babushkas to get lost,he's the vegan not them! LOL
The Babushkas was a gift from my dearest late uncle who used to be a ballet dancer, travelled the world through his dancing. Will tell the story of his tragic end one day...but he left us with amazing memories...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62