Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 1 -- Coypu BBQ! -- A Wild Homestead Sandwich from the GardensteemCreated with Sketch.

There's more than one kind of garden harvest! The coypu, or nutria, has become an invasive species in Oregon's Willamette Valley. It was brought from South America to the US Pacific Northwest to be raised for its fur. Instead, they are all over the waterways and gardens. Thank goodness they are so delicious!

x Coypu BBQ 1 WEB.jpg


Name: Coypu BBQ Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • Kaiser Bun

The BBQ Coypu

  • Roasted Nutria, also called Coypu (Myocastor coypus), removed from the bones, like Pulled Pork, sauteed with
  • Olive Oil
  • Onions
  • Bell Peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Kinder's Mild BBQ Sauce

Coleslaw Topping

  • Grated Carrots
  • Sliced Cabbage
  • Balsamic Vinegar

Additional Info:

I like eating from my homestead. I don't raise animals to eat, but I do harvest some wild animals when opportunities arise. Nutria like to eat the roots of my Swiss Chard and Kale, leaves of potato plants, and cornstalks. They can wreak havoc overnight. They are a clean, low-fat meat. Roasted, they taste like the dark meat of a turkey. They make great BBQ sandwiches, just like Pulled Pork.

x coypu bbq WEB 4.jpg

The vegetables in the BBQ are from my garden. The side salad is simple -- homegrown Italian Leaf Parsley, Rose of Sharon flower petals, topped with Pickled inner part of Yucca flowers. I wrote an earlier post about Harvesting and Cooking Yucca Flowers. I pickled them with the same recipe I used in my YouTube video on how to make Pickled Hop Shoots. I just eat this salad like a finger food - it's really good!

For dessert, I have a mix of homegrown Curlfree Peaches and wild Himalayan Blackberries. With this Humboldt Brown Ale, from Humboldt Brewing in Ukiah, California, this was a great dinner this evening. I made a big batch of this Coypu BBQ for my parents and sisters when they came to visit last week. These sandwiches were a big hit! Coypu BBQ could be served at any BBQ place!


What Do You Think?

  • Do you have Nutria in your area?
  • Would you try my sandwich?
  • Would your try my salad?

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!


Foraging List

  • Coypu or Nutria -Myocastor coypus
  • Himalayan Blackberries Rubus armeniacus
  • Yucca -Yucca gloriosa

Thanks to @jaybird for this challenge. And to @papa-pepper and @bleedpoet for upping the prize pool. A good sandwich is hard to beat, especially when it's mostly from my own yard! :D

** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Delicious looking! I have to have bbq soon now, lol!😎

Thanks! BBQ makes a good sandwich, alright! Summer is perfect for BBQ! :D

I want to see you skinning, gralloching and what not. Hunting method as well.
Great looking sandwich!
Looks like a skinny tailed beaver! so cute and delicious!

Glad you enjoyed my sandwich! When they show up in my yard, I break out the Hav-a-hart trap and bait it with the core of a head of lettuce or cabbage. Then I use a pellet gun. It's the most humane thing I could figure out. It's fast and they aren't stressed because they don't have good eyesight.

It is important to remove specific glands on the inside of their legs! Other than that, it's pretty similar to any animal. I've gotten some that are over 20 pounds. They are so under-appreciated as a real source of meat in the Pacific Northwest. I would serve them to anyone who eats meat.

Racoons and deer have glands you need to remove too, I wonder if they make all the way up here to the Pacific Southwest?

The B.C. Ministry of Forests, Lands & Natural Resource Operations says they are in the Lower Mainland, Fraser Valley, Southern Vancouver Island and Gulf Islands. Your local water utility will know, because the nutria are a major problem for their infrastructure!

Nice!

I don't know whether to hope you find some -- or not. It's better if nutria have not showed up in your area. But they are real food.

I love the info, have you seen my Burdock series of posts?

Sorry for missing your burdock posts, @openparadigm, during their payout period. I've got my computer fixed now, so I'll be checking out the foraging posts pretty regularly now.

Wow great entry & amazing looking Sandwich my friend!

Really digging the interesting ingredients for both the sandwich and the entire meal.

It's also very cool that your harvested a majority of it. Including the animal, I think. Sounds like a delicious creature indeed, from your description.

Edible flowers are a fantastic addition to almost any salad as well. I'm a fan!

Thanks so much for entering!

Thanks! Your Sandwich contest is nice because it's pretty simple to meet all the requirements. And who doesn't like a sandwich? :D And yes, I did harvest the meat myself, start to finish.

Exactly lol!

I appreciate you taking the time to enter. I'm hoping to get this Steem Rollin'

And yes, The point was is to make a simple and fun contest, which incorporates an activity that most ppl already do or, that they can easily do. There's a lot that can be done to sandwiches wether it's a childhood creation or an artisan original recipe.

We had 11 different contestants for week 1 and 15 entries.

Sadly some were considered null bc they didn't follow the rules lol. Better luck next week i guess right?

That's a great response for a new contest! Folks will understand the rules better next time. I got disqualified from the SteemitCulinaryChallenge 6 times. I think that's still a record, lol! Sometimes rules are hard to comply with, especially when I want to eat, lol! :D

Good recipe, it looks so tasty

Thanks! It was a great sandwich! :D

Interesting post. Following and upvoted. :)

And even an experienced gal like me had no idea that you could eat rose of Sharon flowers. They don't actually grow well here in Texas, but I have family on the east coast where they grow beautifully. I'll be passing on this information. I've not had the pleasure of trying nutria yet. We do get them in some TX waterways, but they're much more of a problem in neighboring bayou states. I confess that their teeth put me off a little, lol! Thanks for another great post!

Sorry for being so late in getting back to your comment, @jenncapestany! I hope your family enjoys trying out their Rose of Sharon flowers. And maybe you will get to enjoy a nutria sometime. They have big teeth -- just like beavers!

Looks very tasty, and must be really good with the slaw on top. Love Pulled Pork, so pulled nutria sounds like it would be great as well. Thanks for posting for the sandwich contest.

BBQ with slaw is good business! :D

I filmed something like this a while back. I wasnt sure what it was but some viewers suggested nutria.

Nice video -- I bet that's a muskrat, @old-guy-photos. They are so common in southern Michigan. They used to be served at some Detroit area restaurants -- back in the day. Nutria can't handle the cold weather like the muskrats and beavers can. But the nutria are like a cross between the muskrats and beavers, lol.

Oh I remember it well. I grew up in the Downriver area (Allen Park) and muskrat was popular in Wyandotte in the 80's!

Congratulations @haphazard-hstead! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Poor little fella! But that's the circle of life and is so much better than the hormone and antibiotic laced meat you find in the shops. Since I'm mostly a plant-based muncher I would love to try your salad and kindly say no to the nutria hehe! have a great day ;)

I eat the meat .... unless I have to errr terminate the animal...then I am an affirmed vegetarian :) ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01